We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Nomad Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nomad Cave Hotel
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed there with tree friends an really enjoyed the place, it is walking distance from the restaurants and stores and also to the open air museum you can rent a bike ti go ti the other valleys.
Apo and the rest of the staff are great!!
Breakfast is really good and the apple tea, the best!! Hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavi_garpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    25
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
26
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

The best part about this hostel is its location. Pretty much close to the centre which has restaurants, mini bus stand, ATV rental etc. we had a four bed dorm with en suite bathroom. The bathroom was reasonably clean but the hot water was never hot. It barely managed to qualify as lukewarm. One of my fellow travellers didn't take a shower for two days because she found the water too cold.

Staff, however, is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was decent.

I think the lighting in the room could be improved. My room was pretty big but had only one incandescent bulb. So it was a strain to do any reading in the room.

Wi-fi did not work at all in the room. We had to step out on the landing to get connected.

I think it's a little expensive for what you get but I guess the premium is for the location and the fact that it's a cave hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Hotel is in a Really good location, had very comfortable beds & nice big common room. The breakfast is a bit dull though and the staff aren't overly friendly & not very helpful with information. It was nice, clean & felt like we were in a cave though, suiting the theme of the area. I would probably stay there again if I was there again because of the convenience and price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We decided to cheat and prior to arriving in Turkey, my travel buddy and I arranged (with Nomad Cave) a free shuttle bus pick-up service from the airport, to the hostel. We arrived on time and found no Turkish man awaiting our arrival, so rather then freaking out, we waited for 30 mins, before deciding it would probably be a good idea to call the hostel and find out why we were stranded at the airport. We rang, they answered and they told us there was a 'delay' and 'problems on the motorway' but miraculously, not long after our phone call, shuttle bus number seven rolled in front of us, and out clambered a mustached man with my travel buddies' name scrawled in pencil on a separate piece of paper and sellotaped to the machine printed list of other names...

We hopped on and away we went. We arrived at Nomad mid-morning. There weren't many other people around, so I believe that is why we were lucky enough to have all attention on us. Someone (who disappeared shortly after and wasn't to be seen again) greeted us and took us upstairs to check-in, we were handed keys, (we were lucky there) a towel each (again lucky) a small piece of soap (very lucky) and were left to it...Now the reason why I say we were lucky is because we later discovered that not everybody in our 8-people shared dorm, had the privilege of being given a key to the room, nor had they been given soap or towels. It did mean that usually we would come back to the hostel in the evening to find the hostel owner waiting for us, to tell us that 'so-and-so' desperately needed to get into the room, So-and-so would be angry because she'd been locked out the room when she needed to get something, and all in all it was very annoying for us, especially as Gerome is a very hike-friendly, tour-friendly, lots-to-see friendly place to be in. Because of the lack-of-key situation, it also meant that more often then not, our room was in fact never locked with the door wide open. Just about anybody could waltz on in and with no lockers available, walk on out with your backpack in tow.

Although I believe there were bedrooms upstairs, our 8 people and other mixed dorms where on the bottom floor. Open the door of the bedroom and you were greeted with an open courtyard and the main road. The courtyard was gateless and thus never ever locked, our room was rarely locked, and had Gerome not been a safe place to be in, it would have been a case of bye bye luggage. Furthermore, we had not realized that the two toilets, shower rooms and sinks where also in this courtyard, facing the main open road. Now i've slept in beds with cockroaches in them before, but it was equally unpleasant washing my face and picking spots out in the open, after some hairy Argentinian stranger had rid his body hair at the same sink (and left the hair littered around the sides) and having to dash practically naked from the shower rooms to our bedroom under the watchful eye of just about everyone.

There was also a fundamental lack of soap availability at the sinks. The toilet paper often ran out and we had to resort to emergency packed rolls, and the shower room water ran cold the later in the day it got. We soon found out it was better to shower earlier on in the day.

Breakfast although available from 7am, was often still being cooked at 8am, but that wasn't a major issue for us. What was however, was the lack of helpfulness from our good friend-and hotel owner - Lord Grumpypants.

Grumpypants was happy to help you out when you asked him questions. I say happy meaning, he would get the job partly done. If you said 'I need a bus to Keyseri' he would look at you like you'd asked him to arm wrestle a bear naked, before calling a company and giving you a price. If you said you needed to go on such a such tour, he would look at you as if you'd asked him to arm wrestle a bear naked, before making all the arrangements. However, being clever and having explored the possibilities already available, we already had an idea of how and what we needed to be doing to be getting where we wanted. It was out of laziness and convenience we would asked Lord Grumpyton for his help. So it surprised us when we asked him for a bus to Keyseri and we were given a time and a price that didn't sound right to us. Grumpington insisted that his was the only bus to Keyseri and there was no other way, or time, or price to get there other wise...a quick 10 minute walk to the bus station at the end of the road however, provided a near endless option of times and prices that was more similar to what we had been expecting.

Not only this rather frequent incident (where his grumpyship would only willingly help you out providing you would be using his contacts and no-one elses) but the hotel owner simply would not help you, and in fact almost scolded you if you got into a spot of bother. During our stay we met a backpacker who really unfortunately for her - got into a real sticky situation with a Turkish male who, because of not understanding what was going on, and because of the awkwardness of saying no to someone and because of not knowing how to run away or knowing anyone else in town to help, got tricked into having dinner with a stranger and paying the bill which came to 130TL (our dinner, although not massive but filling) usually just us around 8TL) She returned that evening to Nomad upset and broke, and thought it would be a good idea to tell the owner so that we could warn other lone female backpackers and prevent it happening again. Grumpypants instead of listening or offering any kind of support, freaked out that she had gone to someone else to book a balloon ride ticket (not part of conversation) and told her that it was all her fault, and then tried to sell her a turkish night out (''The same experience as you've just had, but for 70TL I could have saved you money, do you want a Turkish night?'')

All in all, for a place like Gerome, where there are caves hotels falling out of your ears, and many other happy backpackers, Nomad Cave Hotel has some thinking to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hostel has very good reviews on hostelworld, which is why we chose it. It was a disappointment.

Pros - the rooms were mostly clean and the beds comfortable. Being located in a cave they are also reasonably cool. In the height of the summer, it still gets hot inside, especially in the mornings once the sun has risen.

Breakfast is included and the cost is reasonable. Free tea.

Cons - the showers and toilets are outside. There are two toilets and three showers - I'm not sure if there are some en-suite rooms, but even for the two dorm rooms located downstairs (6 bed and 8/10 bed) this isn't really a lot. The sinks are also outside in a sort of-courtyard which is mostly open to the street. So when you're brushing your teeth and squeezing some spots, there is zero privacy.

We were there three nights, and there was only soap by the sinks on one occasion. I'm absolutely not a clean freak, but that's not really acceptable and also quite inconvenient.
Showers and toilets were relatively clean, but that depended on the time of day and when they'd last been cleaned. Hot water wasn't totally reliable, especially in the late evening.
A minor point but the rooms (well ours at least) don't have mirrors - considering the only mirrors are above the three shared sinks in the courtyard, this is also quite inconvenient.

There seemed to only be a limited number of keys for the room; on a number of occasions the owner asked us, on our return to the hostel, to please open the room because x or y needed to get in. As much as we tried to keep it locked, the room was open a lot of the time. Considering it faces the courtyard which is very open to the street, this isn't really safe at all. There are no lockers either.

Lastly, we did NOT find the owner to be helpful or friendly. It seemed his helpfulness stopped when it did not involve booking a bus, for example, with a company he had connections with. We enquired about a bus to Kayseri - at first he told us these existed and go hourly (not really correct) and later said that no direct buses existed and we'd have to change somewhere (absolutely untrue). He just wasn't helpful at all regarding our query and I kept having to press him. In the end we gave up and sorted it all out ourselves - which is absolutely fine, but from the reviews I had read we'd been expecting more.

Similarly, a friend had booked a tour with a different company unconnected to the hostel, and that went down badly with the owner. She later had a bad experience with a man (involving being taken for a very expensive meal she was expected to pay for) and told the owner about it just to let him know this had happened - his reaction was scolding her for not booking a tour with him (entirely irrelevant) and not at all sympathetic or understanding.

In short - there are many other hostels in Goreme - I'm sure for the same price you can find something better than Nomad Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sar8smb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was little confused as to what to expect. But my stay here and the hospitality of the owners completely changed my opinion towards hostels. I would highly recommend this place. Very clean and quite cozy. Great breakfast and free wifi at such reasonable prices.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nazia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nomad Cave Hotel is great place in perfect localization. Rooms are comfortable, clean, warm and quiet. There is a taras with nice view and you can eat tasty breakfast here. Also owners are very friendly, kind and helpful.
I can recommend this place to everyone! :))

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#21 of 77 in Goreme
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yusuf Bey House
Yusuf Bey House
#46 of 77 in Goreme
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#23 of 77 in Goreme
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 77 in Goreme
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomad Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomad Cave Hotel

Property: Nomad Cave Hotel
Address: Goreme Kasabasi Iceridere Sokak No:24, Goreme 50100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Nomad Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomad Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing