We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience, great option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ShoeString Cave House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We're a group of 5 in our late 20s. Shoestring took care of all our needs. Rooms were clean, tidy, and warm. They have their own bar open 24/7. We went on the green tour, hot air ballooning and had a Turkish bath. Excellent Turkish style breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tee-Ell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our stay at Shoe String was great. We arrived late, so there was initial confusion as the manager was not on duty when our bus came in at 11pm, but things were organized immediately. The room was very cute with a great tiled bathroom. It was so unique to stay in a cave like room and you could tell Shoe String was constructed right into the rock! The facility was very unique with an open courtyard in the middle, seperate buildings for different services, like a breakfast room on top on the 3rd floor of the complex with an amazing view. Breakfast was some of the best breakfast we have had in Turkey with lots of variety.

Management was very helpful in helping to arrange a hot air balloon flight for us and even helping with a wake up call so we didnt miss it! They also reccommended restaurants, helped with bus fares/organization and even let us store our bags and use the facilities after we checked out and were waiting for our bus. Truly a great time.

Great loacation being about 3 blocks from the main street. Easy to get lay of the land the first day.

Highly reccommend Fat Boys restaurant in Goreme! The name threw us off but it was the best lamb we had in Turkey our entire trip of 5 cities! Also, Sedef Cafe is a great lunch spot that is helpful with directions.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The amazing view from terrace, room was very good and decorated. The staffs was really helpful and friendly, they tell me all things I could do in Cappadocia and then did the reservations for me. I recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaGapski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Staff was so friendly and helpful!!! Extremely well located and perfect for walking to places. Staff will help with booking any tour or hot air balloon ride. Rooms were clean and very cool. Dormitory was perfect. One of the best places I have every stayed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spent two night in the Shoe String... everything super nice. Confortable, hot strong shower, quiet, big bed, nice friendly people, excelent advises, the breakfast big variety and the dinner very good also. We were super happy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here with my Turkish in-laws for 4 days in August 2013. The pictures you see on the website are exactly how the rooms and the hotel look (no touch ups that I could see). All the contact that I had with the hotel prior to arriving was fantastic, they answered emails promptly and had excellent knowledge of the area.

When we arrived the staff and owner of the hotel greeted us warmly. My Turkish in-laws loved the place as did we. I was concerned that it might be hot in the rooms as we were there in peak summer season. We were pleasantly surprised as the cave kept the room very cool. Obviously it was cooler on lower levels. We wanted accommodation with a pool but never used it as we were so busy checking out the sites everyday that we didn't have a chance to use it.

I have wanted to visit the area for many years and was extremely happy with our choice of accommodation. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean. Breakfast was included with our room and consisted of typical Turkish breakfast which we love. Tomatoes, olives, cheese, cucumber, salami. There was cereal, bread and spreads. They seemed to cater for most European tastes and there were extra choices which could be made to order at an extra cost.

A set 2 course meal was available for the evening if you wanted to stay at the hotel and eat. We did this one night and met a lovely group of people. The food was bbq standard same as you would cook at home with soup and salad.

Thank you to the friendly staff and owners of the this establishment. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite room are on the ground floor and are cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominicakiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Shoe String Cage house gives you rooms which are actually built into the bedrock of a hill. Its extremely cool and the hotel is a great experience. The staff is helpful and arranges for tours/ motorbkes and gives good guidance on nearby treks. Food is slightly overpriced but well cooked. The hotel arranges for pick up from the bus stand . Overall, excellent rooms and staff but slightly overpriced

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sn_2010_iimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 77 in Goreme
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoeString Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoeString Cave House

Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Goreme
Price Range: £19 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ShoeString Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your ShoeString Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
ShoeString Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing