We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food that we fully endorse!”
Review of Gourmet Restaurant

Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 724 helpful votes
“Great food that we fully endorse!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Don't ask me how we ate here???? We were walking around Goreme looking to scout a dinner restaurant and it was lunch time. We struck up a conversation with a young gentleman from Jersey (?) who related he was the nephew of the owner and the restaurant had just opened. He invited us in for a free cup of Turkish coffee or tea, which we took him on. He was not a hawker, just friendly.

We were IMPRESSED! Just like the restaurants back home, our table was served with a complementary basket of fresh Turkey bread and good quality olive oil, along with some local spice dip for the bread. I ordered the skewered chicken, which was tender and oh-so-delicious. It was perfectly grilled with a good char flavor.

Linen tablecloths cover the tables and there is an upper balcony with a nice view. Lastly, the food presentation - how it looked - was like a NYC 5-star restaurant. This we didn't expect in this small town/village. The service was above par. A good find if you are looking for great food coupled with nice atmosphere and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Turkey”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fine dining in Cappadocia at affordable price. Food was really good ~ we had lamb shank and the baked mushroom. The dried fruit compote for dessert were delicious. Service was attentive, helpful and friendly. Complimentary tea was offered as a nearby hotel recommended us. Highly recommended for a special quiet dinner with your loved one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMyint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We sat on the roof with great views. The food was top notch, beautifully presented. I had the clay pot meal. Table cloth, etc. The service was great. We ate here because the manager's nephew was very personable and invited us in. He wanted to make sure the guests were happy, which we were and he even bought us a comp tea. Again, the food presentation was like a US five-star restaurant. Big Wow factor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This is great restaurant that we came upon by chance. Wonderful hospitality and delicious food. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank PaulaG1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Got a recommendation from our tour guide to come here and happy we did. We were told their chef was very popular around the area and I believe it. The presentation and taste of the food was great. I got the spinach chicken :) I forget what another ordered but the food was cooked in a closed pot and opened up in front of us! Overall, very satisfied with out experience. There were little things that could have been better but the restaurant recently opened and they asked us for verbal feedback on how they could better their service, which was nice to see they cared:)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Majkaa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing