We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can see the Wonderful viewing from here!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sato Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sato Cave Hotel
Ranked #58 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“you can see the Wonderful viewing from here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

i stayed here a couple of nights. Room was really clean and natural cave room.from the teras,there was a wonderful viewing!! staff was really helpful and friendly. i had a Nice time at here.THANKS!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkikoOnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    19
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
21
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nsw
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

had a great stay. clean and neat.Ali will help with anything you need.Friendliness plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sthcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at Sato for two nights. They were extremely accommodating, allowing us to check in early after the horrible 11 hour bus ride from Istanbul. I stayed in a large cave room, so it was very cool and damp, which took some getting used to. I think it was the sort of experience I'm happy to have done, but don't want to do again. The bathroom was alright, the shower drain was clogged though.
The staff was OK. The owner spoke English very well and was helpful, arranging activities for us and answering all of our questions, but the rest of the staff seemed to only speak Turkish which proved to be a bit of a problem at times. Every time we went to the reception area with questions and it was someone other than the owner working, they had to call him over, so it felt like we were interrupting him.
Breakfast was really good, you ordered off a menu where there was a choice of Turkish breakfast, omelette, eggs or French toast. I only tried the French toast both days, as it was delicious.
Overall it was a great value place to stay, in possibly the best location, however I was not a fan of the cave room, and they needed more multilingual staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebs1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

After traveling three weeks through Turkey arriving at Sato Cave was a zen experience. The view from the terrice speaks for itself but the kind cuple that run the cave hotel make it even more memerable. The rooms are sparce but clean, comforable and have Western toilets. A nice break from the Turkish breakfast is the option for omlets and French toast all served from a dining room with a killer view. When in Goreme stay at the Sato.
Robert Vinson and Family

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larobParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We spent 4 nights at Sato pension and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were always friendly and extremely helpful with our tour bookings and inter city bus enquiries. The breakfast was lovely, served on the terrace which has a grand view of the town. Most mornings we woke to the sound of balloons whooshing over head and would race up to the terrace to view them. Truly a magical sight and so close you could chat to the balloon riders ! The only fault we could find with the room (room 6) was that the bed was on a bit of a slope and the sheets didn't fit the mattress properly. Otherwise everything was really good and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good budget room for the night. Goreme is an excellent base for viewing the surrounding valleys and attractions.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have best lighting and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very friendly staf, good rooms (try for room5), nice balcony with views.

Quiet, close to the center, what else do you want!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonasdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our group of five adults stayed in the 5-bed cave room. It was the week after a big holiday week, so the town of Goreme was relatively quiet with far fewer tourists than had been there the week before. We were a little apprehensive about the cave room as we'd seen reviews about the cave rooms being musty, but there was no feeling of dampness and it was great with no mustiness or odor at all. Room was truly cave-like -- so we got the unique Cappadocia experience of staying in a cave room. We loved the location up on a hill with a beautiful view of the town of Goreme from the terrace and dining room. There was 24 hour very hot water and strong water flow in the shower. There is central heat, but only two rooms were occupied so the central heat was not on. They provided us with a large electric heater, though, which kept the room as warm as we wanted without even needing to be on the highest setting. Harun had taken my reservation by email, and the room was ready for us when we arrived with the price as quoted. Harun spoke English, which made it nice for getting tips and suggestions for activities in the area. Breakfast was included and was wonderful. Choices included a great tomato and cheese omlette and a Turkish breakfast complete with cucumbers, tomatoes, cheese, olives, bread, and an egg -- fried, poached, or boiled.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
6.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#18 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#11 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sato Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sato Cave Hotel

Property: Sato Cave Hotel
Address: Orta Mah. Konak Sok. No:7, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sato Cave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sato Cave Hotel is situated in an old Greek house, on one of the small winding streets that lead up out of the centre of Goreme town. Recent renovations have preserved the buildings authentic structure and character, and combined it with modern comfort. Sato has 5 cave rooms, 2 arched rooms and 2 rooms containing the original Greek stone architect of Cappadocia. All rooms have their own private bathrooms as well as central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sato Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sato Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing