We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a hostel”
Review of Rock Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Valley Hostel
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Ohio
Level Contributor
596 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“This is a hostel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I struggled with giving this place a 3 or a 4. It's a hostel, no bones about it. Had I known that going in, I would have most likely given it a 4. While it wasn't amazing, I'm not sure there is truly a better cheap rate option in town.

First: and this was not there fault, but people should know this. The bus shuttle from the airport is a joke. We were taken to a van and then we sat for 70 minutes waiting for other people, before we finally got pissed and got a taxi. They tried to claim it was b/c someone lost their luggage, however even after those people made it to the van the driver still left us for 10 more minutes. Complete nightmare.

Anyway, the hotel. The best part was the breakfast. They had choices, which is not that common in travel. The french toast was a welcome break from traditional turkish breakfasts. The staff was all very friendly, and they gave great advice for hiking.

We thought they did not give us towels or soap, but really it was just in drawers in the rooms/bathroom, which was odd. Also, the lighting was not that great - so we kept the door open a lot. Lastly, they only cleaned the room when we asked, not everyday. Also,great outdoor seating area for the evenings. A cheap option, just know it's a hostel.

Also: A word to the wise. I know I've been flamed by companies for this comment before, but please, especially in Cappadocia pay attention to the number of reviews people have. If you look at a lot of the hotels and restaurants most people have one or two reviews. It's clearly a very common practice to write their own reviews to bolster their ranking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    52
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
37
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me, my husband, and our 7 year old daughter stayed here June 2013. This was one of the greatest places we stayed while visiting Turkey. The rooms are simple and clean. If I were to stay there again I would probably splurge for a room with a bathroom as there is one bathroom and one shower upstairs. The pool is nice. The people staying there were really lovely.

However, like so many others have stated, the reason to stay here is the staff. Every single person who works here, works hard at making this the best place to stay. Breakfasts are great! The staff works hard to provide information and the best deals on everything. I felt like I was staying at the home of long lost friends that were eager for me to love Goreme as much as they do.

Thank you so much staff of Rock Valley Pension for making our vacation magical!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchenk550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to chill out when you are exploring the awesome area of Kapadokya. Great value for money and a nice and helpful staff. Bonus: they have one of the few swimmingpools in the area and it is kept clean! Close to the starting point of the hikingtrail through Pigeon Valley, Long Valley and the sunset point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNJViborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a private twin room, which we were stoked with the room. It was colourful, clean and so cheap!! Breakfast (included in room price) was delicious and there were so many things to choose from!! Everything was clean and inviting :) The pool was awsum!!!
But the best thing about the hostel are the staff!!
Ahmet is an absolute legend and helped us with all our bookings and got us excellent discount!! This has definitely been the best hostel I have stayed at so far :) Thanks so much everything and I will definitely stay again, next time I visit Goreme!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessieee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a dream! My friends and I were very impressed because the hostel was very tastefully decorated and even had a swimming pool and great views. Our room was clean, and furnished with hangers and hooks for you to hang your clothes, towels etc. Each bed even had different colorful bed sheet covers- a nice personal touch. The shared toilet on our floor was very spacious and clean. No complaints at all!

Ahmad, the man in charge of the hostel, was very helpful and a pleasure to talk to. If you do not have plans beforehand, do ask him as he has good advice for tours at value for money prices. At his office, there's a spare computer for use, which was very helpful. There's also a cafe in his hostel, and we had delicious breakfast in the morning there.

Great location- many restaurants, eateries and mini marts nearby, barely a 5 min walk away. I definitely would recommend this hostel to anyone who visits Cappadocia!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Goreme, location is perfect, staff are super and the atmosphere great! The view from the pool is amazing... If you are on a budget this is the place!! Spent 3 super days and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TchiLuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very close to the bus stations. The room was perfect. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was fantastic. Worth every lira. A special thanks to Ahmet for being such a doll and helping out with everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punvati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#32 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#45 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#33 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#47 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#49 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Valley Hostel

Property: Rock Valley Hostel
Address: Icere Deri Sokak No. 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of a picturesque valley, with views of the famous land formations and fairy chimneys. We after a variety of accommodation, ranging from dormitories, camping through to luxury rooms and suites. Our garden, including swimming pool and sun deck, is a great place to relax and we are only a 2 minute walk from the centre of Goreme. Our staff are all locals with experience in tourism and all speak English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rock Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Valley Hotel
Rock Valley Hostel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing