We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay Goreme”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay Goreme”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A family with 2 kids stayed at this establishment for 3 nights. The service was exceptional. The room was awesome. My husband who is really fussy said it was the best accomodation we have stayed in during a month tour of Turkey. On departure we had to leave early the owner asked if we wanted some earlier breakfast. We where overcome with kindness as this feast was delivered to the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    62
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
116
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This place is wonderful. The host Ramazin is the most kindest helpful person.
We arrived at 6am after an overnight bus, there was availablity and he was at the bus station within minutes to pick us up.
We wanted the most basic cave room possible as we were on a very tight budget. After some fun conversation we were then upgraded to a nicer room for the same price!

I could go on for pages about this hotel. But to cut a long story short. Stay here!
My aunty and uncle were staying 12km from our hotel. Ramazin organised us to do the same tour the day we arrived. He managed to get their driver's phone number from their hotel. Then phoned him and arrange for them to be dropped off for us to met them. He picked my family with me in the van and raced us to the first stop in the tour, found our tour guide, introduced us and booked us a hot air balloon for the following morning. It was all very rushed and paniced as we only had a few days in Cappadocia.But Ramazin made it all so easy. He never faulted.

Once the tour was finished we walked back to our hotel. Ramazin wasn't there but his staff offered us wine while we waited for Ramazin to drop my aunty and uncle back at their hotel.
We never asked him to do this, he was overly helpful. But not too pushy either, it was all very comfortable.

As for our room! I was so excited to stay in a cave and it was more than I could wish for, hot showers, super clean, warm and only 5mins walk from the centre.

Oh, loved this place!

I hope you take my advice and give Star Cave Hotel a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalova, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The dorms room was great, although there's only one bathroom, shower, and sink which are all in the same room, for a 10 bed dorm. This was ok for me because the dorm was almost completely empty, but it would have been a hassel if it had been full.

Ramazan was extremely helpful and nice. The rest of the staff was average I guess.

Great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently had our second visit with Ramazan at his Star Cave Hotel in Goreme. His knowledge of the area, helpfulness and friendliness made us seek him out two years in a row. We loved the relaxed atmostphere and views from the hotel. Ramazan is also happy to assist with onwards travel arrangements. Definitely consider staying at the Star Cave Hotel if you are looking for authentic and friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harkleynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here as a group of about 30 people. Five of us got the large room, which was very comfortable, even though there were only four beds and the fifth person had to sleep on the mattress on the floor. The room was beautifully decorated and we had quite a nice balcony. The bathroom was large, but there was no shower curtain, so only one person could use it at a time. There was hot water in the sink and the toilet, but no hot water in the shower, which was strange, but we survived. The other rooms I visited weren't that big though. They offer free breakfast, which is quite good (bread, jam, butter, even chocolate spread, coffee, tea...). The hotel is affordable and the rooms are beautiful, so it feels just like you're staying in an expensive hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja_slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is very well located in Goreme. I was travelling with my mother and stayed here for only one night checking out the next day. Had booked a Red Tour the next day and had to catch a bus for Antalya leaving that night. Ramazan helped us buy the bus tickets and very graciously drove us to a beautiful restaurant and again returned to after a couple of hours to drop us to the bus station from the restaurant !!! I was really amazed by this and was thankful to him.
The outdoor area has some very beautiful rose vines and the room that i stayed in was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Indi_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Firstly, smell of bathroom is bad. The shower was leaking water, water is not hot enough.

Secondly, sometime no electricity and water in the afternoon.

Thirdly, we booked the walking tour, the boss or the manager said stared at 4pm. We were back to the hotel in punctual. However, the boss or manager totally forgot. We asked the staff confirm with he, he finally back to the hotel at 5 with no explanation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce_yanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#37 of 72 in Goreme
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#33 of 72 in Goreme
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elif Star Caves
Elif Star Caves
#26 of 72 in Goreme
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yusuf Bey House
Yusuf Bey House
#44 of 72 in Goreme
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#15 of 72 in Goreme
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Property: Star Cave Hotel
Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#15 Family Hotel in Goreme
#18 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing