We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for two nights. The staff are so friendly and helpful that I felt like being at home even though it's a cave room. The extra service snack staff provided in the evening was great. In addition, the scenery from the hotel is absolutely beautiful; both night view and sun rise. Especially the balloon view in the early morning was breath taking.I had a relaxing and fantastic time spent there. If I have a chance to go to Goreme next time, I definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasuko1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

I lived in the dorm for 2 nights, which cost me 20 TL per night!!! And the host was so passionate. All the staff were so willing to help you and give you advice on nearby destinations. Wifi was also accessible all around the hotel. Not to mention how great their breakfast was! The host would bring some snacks and make tea or coffee for you at night and everyone enjoyed it and chatted together! The host didn't seem to see money as the most important thing, which was opposite to those businessmen here in Turkey. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 淋餞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We fell in love with this place most of all for two reasons:
First, the rooms will fulfill all your hopes and expectations of a "cave room". Built into stone and, as they are all equipped with central heating, even in October (when we visited) all warm and cosy. The furniture is simple and with love for the details. We also enjoyed sitting on the veranda after dinner, looking down on the town and playing backgammon.
The second point is: In the Star Cave Hotel you will meet incredibly friendly and helpful staff. I was unlucky enough to break my foot just a few days before we went to Turkey, so we were in some points kind of depending on our hosts. Especially Cihan made everything possible for us. Whatever our plans were, we could count on help with the organization, we received the best recommendations on where to eat and how to make the most out of your money in Goreme if you're a poor student. And on top of all that you will get a delicious breakfast every morning!
We really enjoyed our time there, it made us feel like we would be staying at a friends place and we hope to come back one day :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, the view was spectacular and location convenient, breakfast yummy. Jays humor was a real positive encouraging guests to interact and have fun. The cave room was comfortable, picturesque if a little musty i the bathroom. Definitely would recommend as an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were very fortunate to book our holiday at the Star Cave Hotel and were also fortunate to be looked after by Jay. We were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking this crazy moonscape. Jay and the owner Ramazan were so helpful and went out of their way to make this a magical experience. Six of us stayed for two nights but we should have made it three as there is so much to see. Ramazan recommended we go the a "Turkish Nights" restaurant and it also was a very wonderful experience and excellent value for money. The balloon flight with Atmosphere Balloons was surreal and ramazan also organised this. Excellent value for money and great communication.

Room Tip: It happened to be my wife's birthday the next day and I mentioned it. We ALL got upgrades. Fortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrisHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our stay at Star Cave Hotel was an experience we will never forget. The staff were very helpful and offered advice wherever they could. They even recommended and organised us to go to an amazing hidden away restaurant to experience a local meal - sensational!

We also booked out hot air ballooning through the manager here. Unfortunately our ballooning experience wasn't great but when we told the manager our feedback he was more unhappy than we were ... He called the balloon company, gave them a good talking to and within in 5 minutes had organised us to go ballooning again the next morning. This time, they got it right and will never ever forget out ballooning experience or the effort the manager went to make us happy!

The accommodation itself was amazingly unique! It is so hot outside and yet naturally cool inside the cave. The begs were comfy & big and the amenities more than what we needed!

Overall, we had a great stay & experience and recommend it to all who are lucky enough to pass through the area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I was with my family there all of us were very disappointed..every thing was disappointing. ..room . service. Breakfast. And the most important thing is when your travel agency book for you, then they will give you the worst room they have..While good rooms they keep it for showing, and they give them to people who booking in person..Although we paying more money for it than others do because we r dealing with travel agency.
Cheating. .I don't recommend it for anyone..if you think it's cheap,you don't forget it's the worst too..you can find another with same price but better stay..
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Mevlana Cave Hotel
Mevlana Cave Hotel
#72 of 80 in Goreme
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#17 of 80 in Goreme
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#4 of 80 in Goreme
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel & Art Gallery
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#23 of 80 in Goreme
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#41 of 80 in Goreme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £19 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Star Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing