We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and I totally forgot I'm away from home. Ramazan make us feel really comfortable, give us useful information about the surroundings of Cappadocia, advice us about the best options for the hot balloon trip and gave us very appropriate guides for our stayed. He even cooked some potatoes in the oven and prepared it with butter. He really takes care of the atmosphere and made our stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cristobalberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We love Star Cave! Ramazan is an amazing host, he speaks really good English and was always available and happy to give recommendations on hikes, motorbike rentals and anything else that caught our fancy. He truly went far above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and happy. He is so friendly and has an adorable puppy and 5 year old son we found very entertaining. The breakfasts are delicious and filling and change a bit every day. We stayed in the dorms, which were clean and cozy and extremely affordable - 20 tl including breakfast! The internet is fast and reliable, the water for the showers always hot, the area is incredible. My boyfriend and I initially only planned on staying there one night, but we enjoyed it so much we stayed three, and even came back and stayed there again a week later on our way back through the area! I highly recommend this place- it is truly the most happy and at home I've ever felt in a hotel :)

Room Tip: The dorm is by far the cheapest, didn't check out the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and it was great. The owner provided excellent information on what to do and where to eat. And the breakfast was one of the best I've had in five months of travelling Europe. Would highly recommend staying here if you come to Cappadocia!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katedono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for two nights. The staff are so friendly and helpful that I felt like being at home even though it's a cave room. The extra service snack staff provided in the evening was great. In addition, the scenery from the hotel is absolutely beautiful; both night view and sun rise. Especially the balloon view in the early morning was breath taking.I had a relaxing and fantastic time spent there. If I have a chance to go to Goreme next time, I definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasuko1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I lived in the dorm for 2 nights, which cost me 20 TL per night!!! And the host was so passionate. All the staff were so willing to help you and give you advice on nearby destinations. Wifi was also accessible all around the hotel. Not to mention how great their breakfast was! The host would bring some snacks and make tea or coffee for you at night and everyone enjoyed it and chatted together! The host didn't seem to see money as the most important thing, which was opposite to those businessmen here in Turkey. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 淋餞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We fell in love with this place most of all for two reasons:
First, the rooms will fulfill all your hopes and expectations of a "cave room". Built into stone and, as they are all equipped with central heating, even in October (when we visited) all warm and cosy. The furniture is simple and with love for the details. We also enjoyed sitting on the veranda after dinner, looking down on the town and playing backgammon.
The second point is: In the Star Cave Hotel you will meet incredibly friendly and helpful staff. I was unlucky enough to break my foot just a few days before we went to Turkey, so we were in some points kind of depending on our hosts. Especially Cihan made everything possible for us. Whatever our plans were, we could count on help with the organization, we received the best recommendations on where to eat and how to make the most out of your money in Goreme if you're a poor student. And on top of all that you will get a delicious breakfast every morning!
We really enjoyed our time there, it made us feel like we would be staying at a friends place and we hope to come back one day :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, the view was spectacular and location convenient, breakfast yummy. Jays humor was a real positive encouraging guests to interact and have fun. The cave room was comfortable, picturesque if a little musty i the bathroom. Definitely would recommend as an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Mevlana Cave Hotel
Mevlana Cave Hotel
#72 of 80 in Goreme
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#17 of 80 in Goreme
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#4 of 80 in Goreme
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel & Art Gallery
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#23 of 80 in Goreme
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#41 of 80 in Goreme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £19 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Star Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing