We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad choice in Göreme”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice in Göreme”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is a real cave hotel which is one of the reasons we booked it. We were curious what it was like to stay in a cave. Personally, I think it's all a bit of a gimmick though and being caves, naturally there is little ventilation and light which results in stinky rooms a lot of the time. Anyway, we were given a cave room in the ground level just near the reception. It was spacious but after spending the night we requested to move to a different room as the lights and noise were too much. We also noticed that the bedding hadn't been cleaned properly and there were shoe prints on one of the pillowcases. After we talked to the manager, he was very accommodating and offered us a different room higher up and further away from the noise. Sheets were clean this time.

Breakfast wasn't the best, so we went elsewhere. Improving the breakfast, along with improving the cleanliness of the rooms would go a long way in improving the rating of this hotel. Overall the experience was ok and the owner friendly, but we expected a bit more for the price (120TL per night after a 10% discount from booking.com).

Having said all of that, the owner was helpful in giving as advice about activities and secured us a good discount off a balloon ride which we booked. He also offered us a lift to the otogar when we checked out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Romara0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    62
    19
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
116
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Unlike some other places that call themselves Cave hotel, this one really has rooms carved in a rock! Every morning we got a very decent breakfast served by the parents of the owner. The approach by the whole family is very friendly and personal, which made our stay very pleasant. You could have tea any moment. We have no complaints about the amenities. The shower was good,etc. A small bedlamp would be an extra bonus.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I got to know about the place via Trip Advisor. I was a little reluctant about what room(the cave room or the "room" room) so I called the hotel.
Ramazan, the manager answered the call and patiently explained me what room would be better and why. What room I should take and things like that.
Finally we arrived, we had such a great welcome. He picked us up from the Bus Stop, Took us in and made us so comfortable I almost forgot I was 7000 km way from home. He upgraded us to a even better room than what we had booked. Planed our itinerary, booked our tour, basically helped us in every way possible.
And then there was the food. Such good taste and presentation.
This really is like Ramazon keeps on saying "home away from home"...
Looking forward to stay here again..

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Atanu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'll never forget how much I enjoyed the atmosphere of the star cave hotel. The facilities and breakfast are great. The local knowledge we received from the Star Cave staff was very helpful when deciding what to see and do in the area. They recommended a great hot air baloon ride company as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the Cappadocia area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Star Cave Hotel was one of the best places I have ever stayed! It had a great location in Goreme and the accomodation were inexpensive, but very nice. However, the best part about staying at the hotel was the host Ramazan. He was so welcoming and made sure we had the best Cappodocia experience possible. All of his recommendations were excellent and I highly suggest that anyone who is traveling to the area be sure to stay at the Star Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and I totally forgot I'm away from home. Ramazan make us feel really comfortable, give us useful information about the surroundings of Cappadocia, advice us about the best options for the hot balloon trip and gave us very appropriate guides for our stayed. He even cooked some potatoes in the oven and prepared it with butter. He really takes care of the atmosphere and made our stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristobalberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We love Star Cave! Ramazan is an amazing host, he speaks really good English and was always available and happy to give recommendations on hikes, motorbike rentals and anything else that caught our fancy. He truly went far above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and happy. He is so friendly and has an adorable puppy and 5 year old son we found very entertaining. The breakfasts are delicious and filling and change a bit every day. We stayed in the dorms, which were clean and cozy and extremely affordable - 20 tl including breakfast! The internet is fast and reliable, the water for the showers always hot, the area is incredible. My boyfriend and I initially only planned on staying there one night, but we enjoyed it so much we stayed three, and even came back and stayed there again a week later on our way back through the area! I highly recommend this place- it is truly the most happy and at home I've ever felt in a hotel :)

Room Tip: The dorm is by far the cheapest, didn't check out the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#33 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#46 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elif Star Caves
Elif Star Caves
#23 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Property: Star Cave Hotel
Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#15 Family Hotel in Goreme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing