We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, staff and experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
MIchigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, staff and experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Star Cave Hotel for two nights. The staff arranged a shuttle pickup from the airport and dropped us off. When we got here, we felt comfortable immediately. The Ramazan and Okan are funny, comfortable and did a great job of showing us where to go around Cappadocia! They took us and most of the rest of the people staying there for a tour the valleys for free. They spent the entire day with us and showed us places that we would have missed if we did it ourselves. We climbed inside an old cave church and had amazing views. They made the hike interesting, spontaneous and very enjoyable - even on a very hot day. Lastly, the dining area at the hotel was great to meet people and have a good time. Would definitely stay here again and highly, highly recommend to anyone!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank I3igDmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    62
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
116
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

What can be said about SCH and Ramazan? Firstly the hotel is amazing and beautiful. It's on a quiet street perfectly situated in the heart of Goreme and the top floor cave rooms are truly unbelievable. The best night sleep in all of Turkey! Ramazan is a wonderful and gracious host who I'm very pleased to now call a friend (and almost a best man!). A great hotel and great people. Stay in room 112 for the most amazing room and view, sit back and let Ramazan make your holiday one you won't forget. Thanks my friend!

Room Tip: 112 is the best room! The room and views are truly incredible. Treat yourself - you will not forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiangyin, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I liked our stay at the Star Cave Hotel so much last year that we returned this year, and found it to be even better, with many upgrades to decor and such. This cute hotel is situated at the end of a street, up a little way from the town center (not really that far), but offers great views, and has easy accessibility. And, how cool is it to stay in a cave? The place is clean, the wifi good (especially on the main level), and they offer a good breakfast. The great part about staying here, however, is the hospitality--the owner, Ramazan, is a wonderful guy, and he and his family go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant experience. He will arrange transport for you, help to book tours at lower rates, and do everything he can to help you with anything you need. On the flip side, if you're not interested in tours or what-have-you, he'll respect that, too. It's a laid-back kind of place, very relaxing, and some of our best memories are of hanging out on the main patio with the other guests, especially at night, when Ramazan fires up the tea machine. Oh, also--do not miss the BBQ out at the Secret Garden! In short, our hosts made us feel a part of their family, and we really appreciated that. We WILL be going back sometime in the future to see our new friends...something about this place just feels like home.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want--if you're looking to save money, go for a cheaper dorm room. If you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After a late night pickup from the airport; star cave hotel was a welcome retreat! Ramazan was friendly and welcoming, despite our weary selves. He had organised a balloon trip for us the following morning (on our request); and this helpful theme continued throughout our short stay. He gave us ideas on what to do with our time; including several walks/hikes. He booked our onward travel, a tour to the underground cities and dropped us off at the bus station. We are also lucky enough to be invited to the secret garden for a BBQ with him and his family - the location was stunning and the food was out of this world! Incredible!

Back to the room, three of us shared a deluxe family room with ensuite. It was very luxurious especially when you consider the very reasonable price.

Breakfast was a feast each morning, freshly made spread with a wide variety including something novel each day.

Overall we loved it! We would not have had the wonderful experience we had in cappadocia if we hadn't stayed here. Thanks Star Cave :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeinateapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this place and had a wonderful experience especially because of Ramzan, the owner.
We came by bus to Gerome, and the bus had left our luggage at Nevsehir city. The bus company was not very helpful and Ramzan drove us in his car to the Nevsehir to get the luggage. On the way, he showed us the Panaromic view of Gerome, which was beautiful by the nght.
The next day, he had the breakfast laid for us even after the breakfast time.
The experience of staying in a cave hotel was amazing. The rooms were big and bathroom was huge. The tables outside the rooms on the balcony were well decorated with flowers and added a charm to the cave.
The bbq at secret garden is a relaxing way to spend the evening and meet other guests of the hotel. The tree-house in the garden is interesting.
The warmth showed by the host family made the stay even more pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms ground floor will be more noisy since its near the reception. Wifi doesn't work in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PannuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

First off, I would like to laugh at the reviews by 'older' people, it has nothing to do with age, more of attitude. If you take things so seriously all the time, you can't be happy anywhere. Ramazan the owner is quite infamous here in the reviews, yes he can be loud and in your face but it's just the typical 'naughty' behaviour you expect. For the price you pay, I wondered who can complain about breakfast - there's either eggs with tomatoes, 5-6 types of seasonal fruits, cheese, few types of bread, coffee, tea many more and people look fwd to their breakfast.

Yes, he does promote certain tours but he also show us the ones that we can do on our own. Some places are pretty far without transport. He picked me up from the bus station, sent me to a few places to hike on my own, always asking what my plans were so that he can give me suggestions on what to do, at the end even send me off to the station again. Considering all these, I didn't even buy any tour packages from him.

There was a day that we drove us around and found a stray donkey and he started getting us to ride on it. And then it was another hot day that he got us up and start hosing down water on us which was fun because it was so hot. Some people might think its rude but just take that stick out from your behind and enjoy the moment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Me and my two girl friends stayed here for three nights while we were touring Cappadocia. Not only was Ramazan absolutely fantastic as a host (made us breakfast even if we missed the breakfast time, helped us with our luggage, made sure we had directions and transportation to all the things that we wanted to do-- he even had his father drive us out to the underground city-- and all for much less than what the local tour offices were asking for). He was also a great resource for discounted prices on hot air balloon rides, suggestions on what to do day-by-day and he even took us on a hike out to the secret garden (no food for us though-- no time- sad face).

The rooms are simple and clean. (And cool, which is nice during the hot weather.) The balconies all have pretty great views, there's wifi in the public spaces and the property is beautiful with flowers and grape vines everywhere-- really peaceful. It's also conveniently located at the end of the road so its easy to get to (and remember where you live) and yet far enough away so you don't have to deal with tourists wandering around your hotel and cars driving by at all hours of the night.

Definitely request a shuttle from the airport though. I didn't have time and forgot to book it, and getting there without the shuttle (~20-25 lira/person) was expensive (~100-150 total for three people) and really inconvenient and tiring.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lai-Nin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#32 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#44 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elif Star Caves
Elif Star Caves
#24 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Property: Star Cave Hotel
Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#15 Family Hotel in Goreme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing