We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dorms I have seen”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I stayed at Star Cave while travelling through Turkey and had a great time here
The dorm is one of the best I have seen. Clean, very comfortable beds, always warm, great bathroom inside the dorm. Even if the dorm is full there is still plenty of room
The staff are always frıends and helpfull and can arrange all your tours for you and even pıck you up from the bus stop which is how I travelled to Goreme
The breakfast is also great and sometımes they have a BBQ- if igo back to Goreme I wıll stay agaın for sure

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemisst85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

The rooms are very nice for an inexpensive Pension and because you are sleeping in a cave the temperature is just right for sleeping. The location is good as it is only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Goreme. The staff are a little hit and miss. I would definitely not stay here if I was a single female unless with a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwikirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A great place to stay in Goreme which was our choice of towns for our Cappadocia adventure. We were picked up at the bus station after an overnight bus ride from Pamukkele by the hotel manager. We arrived one night early and they didn't have a room for us so found us another room for the one night after feeding us breakfast for 5 lire each then whisking us off to our new hotel. They picked us up the next day at that hotel (which was also nice but not a cave hotel) and served us breakfast, now free, for our first day of a 7 day stay. We got to know Ramazan, the owner, his father Ahmet and Ibo and Mamet the managers. We felt like family in a day or so, being taken up to the family gardens for a BBQ, to a wedding reception of friends, and playing backgammon with Ahmet. Great WiFi, breakfasts and the real deal cave room that we were looking for. The hospitality was a huge bonus and so appreciated. Thanks Ramazan and family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellinghamThane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were made to feel very welcome, particularly our 2 energetic boys who Ibrahim and Ramasan entertained by playing darts and footy. The Star Cave has a lovely atmosphere and was very relaxing after our busy days. We were given fabulous advice on where to eat, choosing to eat there every night. They even managed to track down our lost bag, much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Amazing place - spectacular and beautiful setting, hotel, rooms and staff - in a word, wow!! If you don't stay here you have missed out! I was very sad to leave

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldylocksNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Very good breakfast. Location close to the centre and bus stop.
The manager Ibo is very helpfull and even prepared special breakfast for me when breakfast time was over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Only spent a few days here, but if I could I would've spent a lot more. I found the hotel to be very clean(both rooms&bathroom), the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable and the location is great. What I will remember most is the staff who worked there as I felt they went out of ther way to help in any way they could.. Highly recommended!!! A+

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel & Art Gallery
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cave Hotel
Imperial Cave Hotel
#28 of 77 in Goreme
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 77 in Goreme
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#11 of 77 in Goreme
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#37 of 77 in Goreme
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#36 of 77 in Goreme
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £14 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Star Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing