We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canyon View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon View Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more!”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Whenever travelling to a country while you do not speak the language, the hospitality of the staff in the hotel would make the world of difference. Luckily for my husband and me, Canyon View Hotel offered the warm hospitality and support for us, along with the awesome hotel itself
We booked Canyon View Hotel via Email. It was painless. Moreover, we booked our airport transportation, balloon trip, and even our plane ticket through the owner of the hotel. Everyone in the hotel was down to earth, honest, and eager to help. (I cannot say the same thing about some of the other places we visited in Turkey)
We arrived late at night via the shuttle arranged by the hotel owner. The hotel looked amazing at night with great view of the valley and the perfect amount of lighting without losing the authentic touch. The room itself is simple, yet full of culture. We had a room (#3) with the patio, and its view was fantastic both at night and during the day. The Jacuzzi was a pleasant surprise as well. Their breakfast buffet had quite a selection, but the highlight is the omelet made to order. Let me tell you, I would pay for one night of stay just for the omelet. It was made in a traditional Turkey cooking pan with local spice that offers tons of flavors, and of course, butter butter butter.

We were able to book our balloon tour with the owner’s brother, who gave us a price. And as far as I can see, the tour is exactly the same, if not better.

Unfortunately, I felt sick due to all the travelling on our last day. Luckily, the hotel staff was more than helpful. The owner took us to the local pharmacy to purchase medicine, and wife of the owner prepare special food for us as well. We had to change our travel plan, and the hotel staff helped us with all the booking. Honestly, our life could have been a lot worse if it wasn’t for them.
All in all, it was a great experience. You can book a fancy 10 star hotel, and at the end of the day, it’s the people that make the difference. In my opinion, Canyon View offers both!

Room Tip: room #3 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    61
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
149
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in December and the weather was so cold but the hotel was so warm and not only the hotel but also the owners..they are two brothers one of them is balloon pilot and he made a reasonable price for us..they have a really nice breakfast and even in the caves we were able to use wifi with no problem..we went valley for hiking and my wife injured her leg and we called mustafa (one of the owner) he came and take us to hotel..we are so pleased of everything about them..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sefa0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

IT WAS PERFECT ! It was not a business, but a great family welcoming everyone with a big smile. It was great, our trip in cappadocia became unforgettable in part thanks to the two brothers from Canyon view.
THANK YOU !!!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a bubble bath, really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It was an excellent stay in Canyon View hotel:) the owner are very helpful and friendly . Definitely will go back again and stay there:)

The location is very good. Walking distance to Main Street for restaurants n bar:)wifi is working so well and the breakfast is amazing :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It's really a good choice to stay here.Nice view of the terrace. Room is spacious and comfortable.If you wanna book hot air balloon,you can book here,maybe you will get a discount.Breakfast is great,and there's free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yang X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had wanted to stay in the highly rated Kelebek Hotel (which is just a few feet away from the Canyon View) but they were full so I opted for the Canyon View, which turned out to be a very pleasant surprise and better value than the Kelebek.

This is a very family-style place: the main space is entrance hall, breakfast area, reception, and children's play area all in one. The hosts (two brothers and their families) are wonderfully helpful, polite and knowledgeable. The breakfast is abundant and adequate, though it can have more or less variety depending on the day.

My room was great--it had that real cave feel, and all the nifty nooks and crannies typical of such places. The bathroom was simple but spacious and clean. Unfortunately it was not heated, so in March it was quite cold in there (in contrast to the warm, carpeted room). The only issue with the room was lighting--just like a cave, it has only two really tiny windows. In March it was cold and snowy outside, so being holed up inside was fine, but I can imagine on sunny summer days one can feel like a real troglodyte in there...

Room Tip: I stayed in room #5. This is actually a family room that sleeps 4, so it's spacious and has a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for several days at Canyon View Cave Hotel and were very pleased we did. We came here because the trip advisor reviews were so strong and they didn't lie. This is a family run establishment that makes you feel comfortable, relaxed, and well looked after from the start. The man who runs the business is cheerful and has a great sense of humour.
Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a suite with a balcony with an amazing view and a jacuzzi. It was such a nice treat! We arrived quite early and they not on upgraded us but let us eat breakfast free of charge.
The breakfast has something for everyone: fresh fruit and vegetables, breads, jams, yogourts, juices, and made to order omelettes. Definitely do the omelette...so delicious.
We asked about the "whirling dervishes" and they arranged this without a problem. They even drove us to the event (20 mins drive), waited for us, and drove us back. They only charged us for the actual tickets. The ride was complimentary! It really was like staying with family.
The owner's brother works for Ugrup Balloons (maybe the 3rd ranked balloon company on trip advisor). We weren't sure what to do, but they offered us a great deal and we decided to go with it. We were very pleased because the company was so safe. Although we didn't fly until the 3rd day, we were happy because we felt they put their customer's safety first over profits. Definitely reassuring.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The only thing I could provide a warning on is in order to get the great view you have to walk uphill for 5 minutes to get to the hotel (small price to pay, but that may be a consideration for some). It felt really good to give business to such a nice family. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aislinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#4 of 69 in Goreme
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Suites
Goreme Suites
#16 of 69 in Goreme
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#31 of 69 in Goreme
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon View Hotel

Property: Canyon View Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. No 18, Goreme 50500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#14 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon View Hotel finished construction in 2003. It was formed out of the remains of traditional housing dating from Byzantine times. The hotel boasts one of the best vantage points in all of Goreme. You get the entire view of the Cappadocian region which was used by the early Christians as a settlement in the 9th century.Our cave hotel has 9 rooms, a kitchen and a restaurant which serves traditional Turkish foods to tempt your tastebuds. All the rooms are equipped with private shower and toilet facilities and some have a jakuzi. The rock formations and churches are within a ten minute walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Canyon View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Canyon View
Canyon View Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing