We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, big service and views”
Review of Canyon View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon View Hotel
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small hotel, big service and views”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I thought that the reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere were too good to be true, but actually they were reinforced by our three night stay. Although it was a bit tough getting our luggage up the steep stairs from the street, and then (for one couple in our party) to the terrace room higher up, the views made up for it. We had a large cave room on the same level as the dining terrace and reception, with only tiny windows next to the door. A seating area has been created from the former wine press area, nicely decorated with Turkish rugs and cushions, a cosy place for a drink or reading a book, and just big enough for four.

Our friends' terrace room had views both sides, and access to a rooftop terrace from which the views were even more wide-ranging (great for when 60-80 hot air balloons fly over low at 6.30am!).

Breakfasts were very good, lots of cold choices including fruit and yoghurt, and freshly cooked omelettes or scrambled eggs, hot tea and coffee and juices. There are kettles and tea/coffee in the rooms, and the owners invited us to take glasses or cups from the kitchen behind reception for drinks we had brought in (the hotel does not have a bar or sell alcohol, but they kindly allowed us to keep our bottle of white wine in the fridge).

The rooms are comfortable, although it took a long long time for hot water to run through to the semi-circular whirlpool baths/shower over - but when it did, it was lovely and hot. Toiletries and towels are provided, and the beds are comfortable. There is little hanging storage though, but plenty of space (unless you occupy all three-four beds) to keep clothes.

The hotel only has 5-6 rooms, and is a family home. The two brothers who run the hotel, and their families, are very helpful. Mustafa arranged car hire for us locally the morning we asked for it, and drew up an itinerary for each of the two days we travelled around, which we really enjoyed. He could have arranged for him to give us a private tour, and his brother is a hot air balloon pilot, so we could have booked a balloon ride too - though decided not to; we preferred to watch them sail over each morning.

Cappadocia is an amazing area, Goreme is at its heart and this hotel is a relaxing and comfortable place from which to make the most of it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    61
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
149
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I +2 friends stayed in this family friendly hotel Nov 2013.
What an hotel. It's the best little hotel that we have stayed in in Turkey, we have stayed in numerous hotels overt he 25+ years of visiting Turkey and this rates the best for small hotels. The Breakfast was a buffet with oodles of choice from different preserves, meat, eggs, cheese and omelettes, cereal, to name but a few + lashing of coffee/tea./fruit juice
Mustapha and his wife made us feel so welcome. His wife cooked a pre booked evening meal for us (upon request). It was delicious and there was so much we could not eat it all.
On our arrival we were greeted with a friendly smile and welcome, We booked a Hot air balloon ride through Mustapha, as his price was cheaper than any others that we had looked at. The balloon flight was excellent.
The rooms were warm and very clean and the beds most comfortable. With ample clean towels, and other toiletries.
We plan another visit to Goreme and our first choice of hotel will most definately be 'The Canyon View Hotel'.
Many thanks to Mustapha and his wife for making our stay so so pleasant. We were sad to leave such a welcomming hotel.
We will be back. Insallah?

Room Tip: Pick a suite with a balcony overlooking the canyon. Be aware there are outside steps/stairs to all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABONJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I love this hotle, Mustafa and his family are helpful and very nice. They are kindly and help us very much. He came and picked us up from bus staion and gave the best due to take the hot air ballon.
I love their service, room and breakfast. Moreover, view over our balcony is great. (I forgot the room number but you can ask them)

Finally, the hotel's within walking form everywhere and we can check in early in the morning. on the 3rd day, we have to leave in the early morning ,before breakfast time, but they willing to prepare meal for us, so, that why we love this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umarigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a lovely stay in this little hotel. Mustafa and his family are helpful and friendly, the hotel has great views over Goreme and countryside from the breakfast area and the roof patio. Our room was tastefully furnished so that it had character and warmth. It's within walking distance of everything but just far enough away so that you're not among the crowds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I always feel sceptical when reading reviews on hotels as they often raise expectations unfairly. But after spending 3 days with Mustafa and Seyit, I can honestly say the reviews don't do them justice. All the cliches "Home away from home", "Exceptional service", "friendly and generous hosts" apply. I fell inlove with Canyon View and their entire family. Especially Mustafa's little girl! The place has unbelievable atmosphere and they included so many special touches and extras at no charge that I was blown away. Many people say Goreme is a tourist trap, but these two brothers truly represent generosity and Turkish hospitality at its finest. Thank you to the Unsals for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Terrace room is private and has a jacuzzi bath. Soooo indulgent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shafeeqahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have been to Cappadocia 3 times now and have always stayed at Canyon View. The brothers who run the hotel are wonderful. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and take care of you. I hope to go back many times and don't plan to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

beautiful Cave Hotel, well located with a beautiful panoramic roof also for breakfast. The owner and his family were very kind and in case of need they satisfied any kind of requests. 3 min walking to the Goreme center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuelaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#16 of 76 in Goreme
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#11 of 76 in Goreme
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#41 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
#23 of 76 in Goreme
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 76 in Goreme
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon View Hotel

Property: Canyon View Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. No 18, Goreme 50500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#14 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon View Hotel finished construction in 2003. It was formed out of the remains of traditional housing dating from Byzantine times. The hotel boasts one of the best vantage points in all of Goreme. You get the entire view of the Cappadocian region which was used by the early Christians as a settlement in the 9th century.Our cave hotel has 9 rooms, a kitchen and a restaurant which serves traditional Turkish foods to tempt your tastebuds. All the rooms are equipped with private shower and toilet facilities and some have a jakuzi. The rock formations and churches are within a ten minute walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Canyon View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Canyon View
Canyon View Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing