We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Mollymook Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This Hotel was amazing and the fantastic Faruk made our stay the highlight our our trip to Turkey. We have travelled a lot and never met a Hotel owner who was so friendly helpful and accomodating to any needs. His rooms were beautiful and breakfast on the terrace amazing. Faruk drove us all around the region which is wonderful took us out to dinner and even went to a hamam with my husband.
The Hotel is in a great location and everything about the town and hotel was what we wanted.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tulip room and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Rhonda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    43
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
178
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed in the Rose room 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the location, the room, the breakfast and conversation with Faruk.
I asked to see his carpets and came home with a beautiful one at a very reasonable price.
Highly recommended -be sure to take a balloon ride.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our stay at Kismet Cave House was a highlight of our visit to the area. Right from the start Faruk was very easy to deal with via email to make the bookings and transfer arrangements. Then once we arrived he gave us very helpful information and helped us organise our days to take advantage of the time we had. He went out of his way to organise all transfers and trips for us with the least amount of stress and the restaurants and walks he suggested were excellent.
Our room was very comfortable and clean and a delicious breakfast each morning ensured we started the days well. I recommend a stay with Faruk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Kismet Cave Hotel and found the owner Faruk so very welcoming and he made us feel at home right from when he picked us up in the centre of town. Faruk was very kind and helpful when I had mixed my dates up for staying and he proceeded to accomodate us by giving us a deluxe room upstairs near the beautiful outside area where we had breakfast. My daughter became ill during our stay and Faruk assisted us to the local hospital, translated for us and generally ensured our well being. I will always remember his kindness. Our stay was a highlight in our trip. The breakfast was so yummy and fresh every day. The hotel was charming and truly met our expectations. It was a delight to be invited to meet Faruk's family and share a meal. Thank you, Faruk, for making our holiday special. I would highly recommend to stay here and know you would be looked after well!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My friends and I chose to stay at Kismet Cave House since it had been rated well by other travellers in Tripadvisor, but were utterly disappointed by the service we'd had! Faruk snapped at us upon arrival, (possibly half-intoxicated), and for about half an hour he was berating us for some stuff that we had absolutely no clue about. Ok, so in the spirit of Turkish hospitality, he treated us to some tea and coffee to make up for his crazy ourbursts, but that did not make up for the expletives he hurled at us, which we did not appreciate at all. The whole thing was weird and uncalled for. Things went alright for the first day thereafter, but on the second day, when Faruk found out that we had booked a few tours with a "very bad" tour company (in Goreme, all competing tour companies are "very bad"), he literally told us to [--] off. How rude is that?!? We were on a holiday!!! It was not a great experience AT ALL. We had to search for another place to stay on short notice, which was really quite a bummer. It turned out though that there were many nice options for accommodation in the area - with the same amount of money, you could get a really nice room with a great view on top of a little hill, for instance! Our advice is to shop around a little. The smaller, lesser known establishments would be quite worthwhile. :) And much as Faruk was quite the dud, we have had many great experiences with other locals who have made our stay really worthwhile. Turkish people are, in general, very warm and hospitable! Cappadocia is an amazing place... just don't stay at Kismet Cave!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank summerdoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelesFaruk, Manager at Kismet Cave House, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
We are disappointed with this review and the previous one from their traveling companion. We do our best to serve our guests and treat them like family. Lonely Planet Guide to Turkey in the Cappadocia section warns travellers to beware of the Rocktown Travel Agency. All competing tour agencies in Goreme are not bad, but those who prey on unsuspecting tourists at the Nevsehir bus station are. I refuse to work with them. When these guests arrived having ignored the warnings, I knew it would end badly. I am sad that my explanations were misunderstood and described as "berating' and using curse words. Please read the many other reviews that give a truer picture of the experience one has at Kismet Cave House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wylam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just returned from 6 nights at Kismet Cave House having had a wonderful time. Well located, great breakfast, quiet, clean and very comfortable. Faruk takes great pride in his business and goes out of his way to be helpful adding a slice of good humour to the process. On two occasions Faruk arranged a vehicle and driver for the day. The days were full and we had great times. We can definitely recommend Ihlara Valley and Soganli. In Goreme we had a lovely walk in Rose Valley. Uchisar Castle is great for sunset views. Safran restaurant (run by a lovely family) in Goreme was very good, try the aubergine salad and the meat in a clay pot.

Room Tip: We had the Orchid Room on the ground floor which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roymward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Every morning I woke up to homemade yogurt from their cow, fresh fruits and vegetables from local farms, eggs cooked anyway and fresh pan fried lavash bread and local cheese. I loved it. By the way if you were not impressed, the served fresh honeycomb honey.

Faruk made my wife and I feel like family. I recommend signing up with a personal tour with him. He knows the lay of the land since his family has been in Goreme for generations.

On our day with him, we went to a hike to Hacli Church, a family farm, and fairy chimneys of Capadoccia. We also had lunch at this wonderful restaurant, Dayinin Yeri in Avanos which serves a great kabobs, pides and kunefe, a desert made of cheese, angel’s hair pasta and honey.

I hope to go back to Kismet Cave House soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 76 in Goreme
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 76 in Goreme
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 76 in Goreme
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osmanli Manor Hotel
Osmanli Manor Hotel
#6 of 76 in Goreme
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Property: Kismet Cave House
Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing