We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Special Place”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I would return to Goreme just for a chance to stay at the Kismet Cave House again! Faruk Keles, the hands-on owner, is a warm, charming and interesting person who quite clearly delights in making sure his guests enjoy the hotel and the wonders of Cappadocia. He served as a tour guide for my son and me on our first day, and, as a result, we enjoyed some particularly nice experiences that we would not otherwise have had. The guide he arranged for us for the second day was outstanding, and I will always remember the lovely valley with its tiny ancient churches he showed us and a wonderful lunch under a flowering pear tree. The hotel is absolutely delightful. I highly recommend the "Rose Room" , with its lovely decor and modern amenities, and breakfast on the balcony with a view of the countryside is excellent. The staff is so friendly that it was almost like we were visiting family!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 19avanos00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Thank you Faruk and Mahmut for making my time in Gorome so wonderful! The Kistmet Cave House is a special place. Amazing hospitality, comfortable, great location, and a beautiful bed and breakfast. Sad to leave and can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shoesonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed in February--just to check it out after more than one friend recommended. Cannot write enough good things. Had to keep changing my dates due to work and Faruk was so flexible and is a most gracious and helpful owner. From his recommendations and assistance, to the great breakfasts, my husband and I had really such a wonderful weekend that he hopes to just go up and relax during the summer by himself. We are treating family members for their birthdays in September--so there will be 6 of us and I just can't wait. Great location, rooms generous with lovely decor, nice big baths--showers with good water pressure . Fun. Especially loved the Goreme Open Air Museum, do not miss--Faruk arranged a super hot air balloon ride, the Folk night of dance was much better than we imagined, with wonderful food and the dervishes was a mystical experience. We really didn't want to leave. Can so highly recommend, especially to our Incirlik friends since it is so easy to get to! We look forward to going back again and again as we hope to be in Turkey for a while more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BerninJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you are visiting Cappadochia for the first time, you will want to stay in Goreme, as it's the largest city in the region. If you are staying in Goreme, you will want to stay at Kismet Cave House because of the owner, Faruk. He was born in Goreme and therefore knows everyone. He can provide you with any service you need thereby turning his bed & breakfast into the best hotel with concierge services: balloon rides, guided tours, airport transfers, etc. The Turkish are known for their hospitality, but Faruk takes this to a whole new level. His breakfasts are sumptuous, filled with homemade delights like fresh honey still inside the comb from his neighbor, and he's also a chef, so he can cook you anything you like. Before I even saw my room (we took the room in the first picture on the home page of the website with a king-sized bed and jacuzzi and elevated circular ceiling on the second floor), Faruk had made me Turkish coffee in his office, which is covered with ivy because his only desire is to be of service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rubin_brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is our second visit to Kismet Cave and we love every aspect of this hotel.Faruk is the most hospitable man, he is polite,helpful, lots of fun and has a beautiful hotel.
We visited in 2011 and are back with friends in 2012.
Faruk introduced us to his family and we even did some cooking with his wife after going to pick apricots and pumpkin flowers.
Some of ours friends have visited on our recommendation and were thrilled with their experience.
If you want a true experience of amazing Turkish hospitality I can't imagine a better hotel than Kismet Cave House.
Thank you Faruk we will return again and hope our family will visit as well.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank 58Rhonda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Cappadocia is a must do in Turkey. The caves that became homes are unique to this location. Image getting to see this amazing natural view every morning while eating breakfast being served to you with fried eggs and honey off the comb in pure peace. All the other hotels are close the tourist area of Goreme. Kismet is a simple five minute walk from this main area but in complete peace and quiet.

Pros:
Bathroom - Tulip room, jacuzzi bath and separate shower. Huge.
Room - Nice soft bed and pretty sheets
Location - Close to the bus station and all the main restaurants and shops but far enough to be in pure peace
Faruk! - saved us a ton of money on our balloon ride (we were going to go through a discount tour agency but Faruk got us an even lower price!) and personally took us around to various sites as well.
Free ride from the airport (the far one) with a three night stay

Cons:
Faruk - when we called he said there was only one queen bed room left so we booked the 100 euro room. When we got there, we ended up being the only guests staying at the hotel. He claimed that there were cancels - so maybe. But he well made up for it with his services, breakfast and good company. Also, in my mind that room was well worth 100 euros a night. It was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My childhood friend booked us into Kismet Cave House after meeting the owner (Faruk) and his family when she wandered through a valley and spotted them farming a little patch of land. The warmth and hospitality they immediately showed her as they invited her over for tea was evident throughout our stay. She reiterated several times that at no point did he try to sell her anything - she didn't even realise he was a hotel owner. We weren't sure what to expect, but wouldn't have asked to stay anywhere else. Faruk's hospitality and friendship made our Cappadocian experience a very special one.

From the moment I met Faruk, I was greeted and treated like a friend. He drove us to the markets on day one, and we accompanied him as he ran his daily errands. It was great to gain some insight into everyday Cappadocian life. He was clearly very popular with the locals as he stopped to chat, have a laugh and introduce us everywhere we went.

Faruk also organised a hot air balloon ride for us with a reputable company, which was amazing. It was spectacular seeing so many balloons simultaneously rise into the sky. It was my third hot air balloon experience, and by far the best. The sights were unique and breathtaking as we were not only sailing the skies over valleys, but at some points descended into them also to get a closer look. The pilot was experienced, informative and entertaining. He managed to land the basket literally right on the 4WD trailer.

Kismet Cave House is conveniently located, with shops and restaurants just down the road. I loved the breakfast as it was all local produce (from the markets we visited) and I believe the yoghurt is from their own family cow which we also met (!) when we visited his family. I loved the block of honeycombe, yoghurt, fresh watermelon, cheeses, olives etc laid out on their upstairs breakfast table everyday. The simple things in life are wonderful and charming, and when you have a host like Faruk taking care of you, it just makes your stay. We enjoyed numerous cup of tea, Turkish coffee and chats with Faruk - at Kismet Cave House, at his home and over dinner as friends.

I'd love to visit Cappadocia again, and won't need to look into any other accommodation options when that happens. Couldn't have asked for anything more. The only bad part was leaving. Many thanks to Faruk and his friendly staff for a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#33 of 77 in Goreme
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cave Hotel
Imperial Cave Hotel
#28 of 77 in Goreme
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
#9 of 77 in Goreme
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#32 of 77 in Goreme
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £29 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing