We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, extremely personal”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming, extremely personal”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Farooq is a wonderful host. He welcomed us to his 'cave house', and we loved the entire experience. Hot air balloon rides are a must, and he will arrange everything. The driver, Mustafa, is sincere and knows his way around, including to some really nice kebab houses. One night, Farooq's wife cooked us dinner - slow cooked beef in a clay pot, egg plants, lentil soup - we ate on the terrace.

Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    43
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
177
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Cappadocia was the highlight of our Turkey trip and not just because of the place but also because of Faruk and the charming Kismet Cave House that he runs.

Kismet has great location, the rooms are nice and tastefully decorated with local artifacts. All our transfers and tours were superbly arranged. The Turkish breakfast is to die for.

Faruk, his family and staff are really warm and friendly which made our trip special. Special mention to their puppy Alex who is bundle of naughtiness and super fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room at the top of the hotel. The view from the sitting area right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heavennearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Kismet Cave House is located just off Goreme's main street - easy to walk to, but in a quiet side street. The rooms are a good size and all the decorations, bed-spreads etc are locally made, so every detail is authentic. Faruk arranged our transfer from Kayseri airport and he and his staff gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. We immediately felt at home, and Faruk arranged to make various tour reservations for us. We had booked a hot air balloon ride in advance in Istanbul, but he took care of arranging a personal driver to take us around Soganli valley, booked our tickets to a beautiful whirling dervish show in a caravanserai (a truly memorable evening), arranged for us to join a full-day tour of the Ihlara valley and underground city AND booked our bus tickets to Antalya. He couldn't have been more accommodating. The breakfast (included in the nightly rate) was delicious, and the atmosphere in the hotel was very pleasant and relaxed. I recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a cosy place to stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWills10026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Owner Faruk very helpful, attentive and also non-intrusive. Location is good, walking distance from town center. Tastefully done up hotel. Old world charm and atmosphere. Great place for relaxing. Farul helps out with arranging cars for travel and shuttle drops.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is an authentic structure reflecting the surrounding architecture which is out of the comic smurfs which is just soo different from anything I have seen. The rooms, fire place, hot apple tea,and ever helpful presence of Faruk the owner makes the place seem surreal.

The place is well kept, serves a good breakfast, helpful staff and provides wifi(for those that want to stay connected to the outside world).

Good recommendations on the places to see and the places worth visiting. The little book reading section adds its own personal touch.

I went in June 2011 and am writing this pretty late but since the earliest date I have is Oct 2011 I click that.

Room Tip: The cave room on the right before ascending the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I highly recommend this hotel if you are in this part of Turkey. The peacefulnes,wonderful hospitality and a traditional experience in this fairy chimney cave hotel with it's tasteful interior designs and antiques is an experience you will never forget. It has amazing views from the terrace overlooking the fairy chimney scenery . A perfect start to the day whilst having a delicious breakfast including natural and home grown food eg own yogurt,fruit marmalades and farm honey. The rooms are clean and traditionally decorated with colourful rugs and new en suites.
This family owned hotel offers a peaceful retreat whilst still being in walking distance to Goreme village . The owner Faruk speaks very good English and is extremely helpful arranging your trips throughout the Cappadocia area. He is very welcoming to his hotel which is just like home from home. If I come this way again I would definitely stay here and recommend this superb hotel to my travelling friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amaiagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

staff has good comand of english, decoration of house is authentic, food is exceptionaly good, everything is at walking dist (famous stones of Goreme at 3h walking dist or 20 minutes drive but you also can take local buses to Urgup). No eng tv programs, otherwise is exceptional place with good management.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcsati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 72 in Goreme
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#59 of 72 in Goreme
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.0 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 72 in Goreme
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Property: Kismet Cave House
Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing