We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to the magical world of Turkey”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed 17 November 2013

On October 25th, my husband and I along with two other friends from Canada began a three week visit to Turkey and Greece. Our first stay was with Faruk Keles at Kismet Cave House Hotel in Goreme. We couldn't have been made more welcome. The hotel was charming and met our needs in every way. Faruk we attentive and informative. We felt as if we were staying friends from a long time ago. The charms of Cappadocia were evident from the moment we entered Goreme and the Kismet Cave House.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank killenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

From the moment I began reading Goreme Tripadvisor reviews I knew we were staying with Faruk. Every e-mail, every question was answered promptly before we arrived. After I booked it turned out that friends in Istanbul had stayed here many times and couldn't say enough about Faruk's service. My son and I stayed in late October and we couldn't have been happier. The breakfast was always delicious and cooked by Faruk and his friend Matt from New Zealand who was staying and helping. Faruk made all the arrangements for our balloon ride - he gave us recommendations and we selected the one we wanted. We went touring around his work schedule [which I paid him for] and had a marvelous time seeing things we never would have seen. We loved our room. The hotel was so centrally located that you could walk around the town center easily. Thank you, Faruk. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelersK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The room! The food! The exceptional organisation skills and welcoming personality of owner, Faruk!

Everything about Kismet Cave House was of the highest possible standard. We booked the spotless Jasmine Deluxe cave room (yes, a CAVE!) for two nights and it was deliciously toasty warm with a comfy king-sized bed and beautiful fabrics and rugs strewn everywhere. We were completely gobsmacked. I don't think the photos on the site do the room justice; it has to be seen to be believed.

Then there's the courtyard and the upstairs breakfast area - all some wonderfully authentic without any of hint of faux-Ottoman nonsense anywhere.

We arrived without having pre-booked any activities, but it didn't matter as Faruk did all the organising for us (no hard sell at all, just friendly suggestions which we were happy to run with) with a couple of phone calls. Nothing was a hassle for our man on the ground!

We went ballooning and horse trekking - so awesome! Faruk is THE man - if you're in two minds where to stay, don't be, Kismet Cave House is the biz.

PS - if you're worried that a cave room will be too cold in winter or too hot in summer, let me assure you that isn't how it works. The ambient temperature in a cave is pretty stable, although in winter there is both central heating AND an open fire place should you desire them. Take a punt and sleep in a cave - you'll kick yourself if you don't. Quite a few other guests peeped into our room and expressed dismay that they hadn't booked a cave room!

Room Tip: Definitely book a cave room. When else are you EVER going to have the opportunity. It's totall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It was my most unforgettable stay at Kismet Cave House and really such a wonderful experience in Goreme. The owner one and only Mr. Farook pasha and his lovely family made us feel like home. Really wonderful friendly person brother Farook, guided us in getting around Cappadocia by giving the best rates thru his contacts.
The service, cleanliness and the location of Kismet cave is excellent.
Thanks a lot Brother Farook pasha for making my trip most memorable!!
Will definitely visit you again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fariszahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you would like an authentic Cappodocia experience staying in a Cave House this is the place for you.  Kismet Cave is located centrally to all restaurants and attractions.  Faruk the owner is the most welcoming and hospitable owner we have come across in our 8 months on the road.  Each room is unique.  The breakfast also is very special, all grown locally and prepared by Faruk himself. We felt thoroughly spoilt at Kismet Cave House.  Be sure to communicate with Faruk beforehand he has many options available to you and can provide access to the various Cappadocia tours that are of offer including hot air balloons etc.  We would suggest booking your accommodation direct with Faruk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

me and my friends we fly allover the world this time was a special vacation we stayed at Kismat cave .
Farouk the owner and his family are very helpful .we spent the best vacation ever .the home made breakfast is the best ,the location , cleanness ,friendliness ,facilities all what you looking for in the blessed beautiful village Gorme in Cappadocia .
do not miss the sunrise view from the terrace with the beautiful Balloons.

Room Tip: you can walk to the open air museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

There are places you stay for beautiful lodging or the excellent service or its strategic location or reasonable pricing. Kismet hotel had all of these things: During September 2013 we stayed five nights in three different rooms (our choice - Faruk upgraded our rooms twice at no charge), each with different handpainted floral murals, and comfy beds. The free breakfasts were amazing - local honey, fresh peaches still warm from the sun, brown eggs, and yougurt from Faruk's cow, "Blonde Lady" (Sarışın kız). The location was great - we were walking distance from the Goreme open air museum, and Pigeon Valley. The price was reasonable too. But the best thing was our host Faruk. Faruk Bey was a carpet seller for 20 years, and he had that easy conversational style with a sharp eye that didn't miss a beat. He raspy voice would break out into laughter, making you feel right at home. When I was looking for a carpet, he spent 45 minutes giving me a great carpet tutorial without any hard sell. Faruk's kids were adorable - his two older sons helped out at the hotel, and his adorable younger two trailed behind his wife as she cleaned rooms. It felt like a master host had opened his personal doors for you.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, try to get into the Tulip Deluxe King Room. This is the honeymoon sweet with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#63 of 80 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 80 in Goreme
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 80 in Goreme
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#42 of 80 in Goreme
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#46 of 80 in Goreme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £29 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing