We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where I would send my best friend”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is where I would send my best friend”
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights the first of March, 2010. In lots of traveling, this may be the nicest treatment we have received from a hotel/B&B, etc. Yes, we stayed in one of the cave rooms, little chilly till the heat got going but after that, was a nice experience. Great location, walked to most everything in Goreme, Faruk was helpful with transport, suggestions, arrangements, pretty much everything was handled that we needed from Balloon Ride to rental car. Suggestions were spot on and when we asked about a certain lunch, Faruk rode with us to make sure what was being served that day. We visited over local Snadap (spelling is wrong) but that was a highlight in the chance to sit and talk at the end of the day. A lot like being in a friends home and relaxing. When we bragged on the Grape Molasses, Frauk fixed a small bottle for us to take home.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    43
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
178
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I am an American residing in Turkey and my trip scheduled in Feb will be my 8th trip to Cappadocia. In Oct of 2008, I was lucky enough to book rooms at the Kismet Cave House and I have stayed there every time we've gone to Cappadocia since then (which will total 4 with our trip in Feb). The hotel is charming, clean; the location is not in city center of Goreme, which provides a quiet, peaceful experience. Faruk is extremely helpful, always knowledgeable and always willing to help us with anything we may need or may want to do. Last trip, we had the pleasure of his company at the Turkish Night Show in Avanos and we all enjoyed having him with us - it would not have been the same without Faruk! When making arrangments for our upcoming trip, Faruk and I communicated via email and he replied very quickly, answering all my questions and making sure that everything is being taken care of.

Every time we go, we bring friends along and our little group continues to get bigger and bigger every time we go. If I hear of anyone taking a trip to Cappadocia, I recommend Faruk without hesitation and would also recommend this hotel to anyone reading these reviews. I plan many more trips to Cappadocia and I will ALWAYS stay with Faruk at Kismet Cave House. WE LOVE HIM!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamiandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kismet Hotel in November, 2009. We only had one day to explore the area (which is awesome) and so Faruk (the owner) took us on his own personal tour. As he grew up in the area, we were fortunate to get an "insider's" view on the history, food, and culture. He even took us to a local cave restaurant complete with belly dancing...terrific! If you go during busier seasons, it may not be possible for him to do this but if it's possible, I highly recommend it. Our room was clean and delightful...truly felt like Kismet. Breakfast was authentic Turkish and just fabulous..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathalieC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istabul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

First the good things. Faruk, the owner, is very friendly, helpful, and attentive. He mentioned some of the pre-arranged attractions to us, but I wouldn't say that he badgered us with them as some of the other posters have suggested. The breakfast is also quite good, with delicious homemade jams and acılı (pepper paste). The building structure is also very Kapadokya-esque, with a pleasant courtyard and deck on which breakfast is served.

Second the so-so things: The view is not wonderful. From the deck one can see a little bit of the fairy chimney formations, but mostly it's the construction site across the street. Wifi is also spotty -- you have to sit in the courtyard to get a reliable signal. The hotel warns you about this in their materials, but that doesn't make it any less convenient.

Finally the bad things: We were underwhelmed by our room, which was an Arch Double Room. The room was pretty small, with very little room in which to maneuver. Our room was also uncomfortably hot, even after turning off all of the heaters in the bedroom and bathroom. Finally, we were consistently woken up by noise from the street and the inner courtyard early in the morning.

Overall, this hotel is fine but not amazing, and I'm a little confused by its #1 rating. A friend of ours stayed at the Kelebek Hotel and Pension earlier in the year, and it sounds like she had a much better experience there than we did at the Kismet Cave House.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We treasure our memories and photo of the hot air balloons over the Kismet Cave Hotel. Mr Faruk Keles called us personally in the US, arranged reliable transportation from the Kayseri airport, found us a great balloon ride, and was just generally a delightful person to talk to. We had the Tulip room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goosewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Location: right in the middle of Goreme, excellent.

Rooms: we stayed in a deluxe room, it had a jacuzzi which we used and was excellent. the bed was very comfortable. the room was clean.

Service: Faruk the owner is absolutely brilliant and genuinely super friendly. he treats his guests very very well. we were trying to find a car rental and spent 30min searching online and making skype calls. after we figured out what was the best price we could get on our own, Faruk spent 15min calling his contacts to see if he could beat the price. Faruk was also very helpful in giving us info on what we could do in cappadocia and helping us organise those activities. we went ballooning and on a full day excursion, which Faruk organised. very helpful and no pressure whatsoever.

Food: breakfast is included, it was very good. we could have as much as we want, and it included home made jams, pastes and chillis which were delicious.

We would note that although Kismet does deserve its high rating, there are certainly other cheaper options. 50 euro per night at low season seemed a little high to us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PM_SIN_JKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We really enjoyed our visit in Goreme at the Kismet Hotel-Faruk is the owner and made our stay completely enjoyable-It was so much fun to stay in his cave hotel. We have travelled extensively and had one of our best travel experiences staying at the Kismet Cave-its was great!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TACapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#48 of 77 in Goreme
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canyon View Hotel
Canyon View Hotel
#33 of 77 in Goreme
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 77 in Goreme
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#55 of 77 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gerdis Evi
Gerdis Evi
#51 of 77 in Goreme
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 77 in Goreme
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Property: Kismet Cave House
Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing