We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Local Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Local Cave House
Ranked #11 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

It was fantastic stay in the hotel, especially the traditional decor. Mr.Mehmet did his best to organize the shuttle bus for us from airport, he can manage everything according to your budget and requirements. Always I ask his advice to optimize my time, especially visiting the open air museum and the underground city. Wonderful people, and nice stay.
Note: The hotel is in the first level of a series of hotels, so it is suitable for those who cannot claim mountains, it is within affordable level, no less level than it. The hotel in the city center, every thing available within walking distance.
Thank you again, I consider him as a brother.

Room Tip: Ask Mehmet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    83
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
96
132
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We based ourselves in this hotel for our 4 day stay in Goreme. We arrived around midday and following check in we were soon in our rooms and unpacked. Tea and coffee making facilities completed the adequately furnished rooms. Mehmet the manager pointed us in the right direction for an afternoon snack and recommended other restaurants for finer dining. A ballon flight had been arranged for early the following morning and though we would have a light snack before the flight Mehmet ensured that a breakfast would be ready on our return. Overall Mehmet and his staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Take good quality walking boots/shoes, hotel is up a fairly steep incline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafix65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the bus station. Which is really convenient when you travel by bus. If you would travel by plane, they can arrange shuttle service for you for 25 TL per person which we did as we flew out ouf Goreme. When we arrived around 6 am at the hotel, our rooms were obviously not ready as check in time was at noon, but we were served with a buffet breakfast. We got to have 2 free breakfast which was really a great deal for us. Also, you can pay in Euro, whatever rate you see when you book in booking.com that would be the rate you pay. Also, good restaurants are pretty nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodgettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I was here for 3 nights traveling solo and had a fantastic-relaxing time. The service is superb, Mehmet the manager gave me incredible tips of where to go , what to see, where to it. From the pick up and drop-off at the airport , they took care of every detail for me, so I didn't have to spent time researching or calling companies, I could just enjoy. 10 stars for Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hdiasabhyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place, thanks for an awesome stay!we stayed in the cave suite which was absolutely stunning, clean,plenty of hot water, great character and superbly appointed. Wireless was fantastic, breakfast was a traditional turkish breakfast buffet with plenty of food. Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Project2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We enjoyed a 4 night stay at this lovely little hotel.

After arriving on Goreme via the bus and having to lug our suitcases up the hill, we were met by a few members of staff running out to meet us to take the suitcases. They were taken up for us while we were escorted for a sit down and complimentary drink to welcome us. We were shown up to the Local Cave Suite, right at the top of the hotel. There are a few steps up, but it was worth it.

The suite was huge and decorated in a Turkish style. The large living room & terrace were great for relaxing in at the end of a busy day, the large bedroom comfy and the bathroom simply stunning! My only complaint was the bath was so big it took quite a while to fill!

We had slept in the first day and thought we had missed breakfast, only to find they had kept it all out & fresh until everyone had been down. The food was all local produce and fresh, the cheese was lovely.

On our second day we mentioned that we were heading over the bazaar in Avanos (which had been recommended by the manager). The gentleman who had been working the night shift (apologies, I don't know his name) was just finishing and said he was heading there himself so would drive us over. He dropped us off right at the bazaar after showing us where to get the bus back (and saying to call if we had trouble with the buses as they could come and pick us up), we offered to pay the cost of his petrol but he wouldn't accept anything and said it was a pleasure.

The manager had booked a 'green' tour for us on Saturday (at our request, they never tried to push anything on us, though the information was there is you asked for it) which we thoroughly enjoyed and I would highly recommend.

When we left (the hotel had organised our airport transfer for us), all the staff made a point of saying goodbye and the manager waited with us while we waited for the mini bus to make sure there were no last minute problems.

I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed, friendly hotel for their visit.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nesswotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had a wonderful time during our five night stay at Local Cave House in Cappadocia. The hotel is very charming and well located, the view is lovely, the rooms are clean, spacious, confortable, cosy and nicely decorated in Turkish style. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the hotel staff were incredibly hospitable, helpful and friendly. They organized our day tours, ballon flight, Turkish bath and transfers superbly. They gave us great tips and advices regarding places to go, where to eat and shop etc.. It was truly “home away from home,” something really special. ... We felt like staying with friends rather than being in a hotel....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leningenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,120 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Local Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Local Cave House

Property: Local Cave House
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Local Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Local Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Local Cave House Hotel Goreme
Local Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing