We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting small friendly hotel”
Review of Local Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Local Cave House
Ranked #10 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Booking process was slightly worrying as we couldn't communicate directly with hotel and had to go through 3rd party agency. This did work fine and they were expecting us and price as expected.

Our stay was great. Hotel owner really put himself out when it rained (it never rains in June!) and he took us round in his car when our booked trip was cancelled due to the rain. He arranged balloon flight, tours and transfers for us. Our room was a huge cave suite with 3 rooms terrace and great views. Bit of a walk up hill from the town (10mins stroll) but worth it to get the views and to stay in a cave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_and_Nick580418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived in Goreme after a long bus ride from Istanbul. The friendly staff made us feel so welcome, and we were able to catch up on needed sleep in our cool cave room right away. Our two young children found relief from hot days in the sun swimming in the pool. The staff were very helpful and answered all of our questions about activities in the area as well as helping us decide where to go next. The view from our room was great, we looked out over the 'fairy chimneys' of Goreme and the valleys around the town. I was really happy to have some variety from the normal breakfast fare - they had a great buffet breakfast with some local cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cake, and of course the regular tomato/cheese/cucumber/ olives. We left our video camera at the hotel by mistake and they kindly forwarded it to us in Bursa. I would highly recommend The Local Cave House to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Cappadocia is a must visit place - and Goreme valley is the spot to stay in. Local Cave House managed by Haroon and his lovely wife offers a homely atmosphere and very unique experience you will never forget.

The warmth and personalised service made our stay memorable and kids loved every minute of it.

Breakfast specially prepared by Haroon's brother were a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DICKMODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We were glad that we stayed here. I was traveling with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. Location is perfect. Just 5 min from Goreme market. Great views of Goreme village and valley. This one has rooms partially carved out of Volcanic rock. Rooms are large. We stayed in the family room on the 1st floor. We had 2 rooms inside with one toilet. We had a private deck with a breathtaking view. I actually jumped with joy when I reached there. Rooms are spacious but basic. Do not have a wardrobe, Safe. Toilet doesn't have a window. The best thing about it is its owners Harun, His wife and brother. Very warm, helping and hard working. We wish them success and good luck in the future, Breakfast room next to the pool is nice. (though the pool didn't have water in April) Breakfast is nice n filling with Egg Omlette, Salad, Tea, coffee, Fruits. This hotel gives you worth of every Lira spent here. Value for money.
The most amazing thing to do is book "Turkish night" thro' the owner who offers drop and pick up at night. The show is an extravaganza with the best ever belly dance, folk dances and Whirling dervishes. It has unlimited food, local wines, Raaki etc. Best experience in Turkey.
Avoid Hot air Baloon ride while in cappadocia, as it does not offer great value. It does"t take you to any place that you can not reach on foot or by car. It is more fun and gets better photos from the ground level with fascinating silhouettes.
You will be very comfortable if you book a car with Harun. It is very handy in Cappadocia.
Goreme is the centre. One should stay only in Goreme. We could see the whole area in one day by car. Best itinerary is 1. walk to Sunrise point in Goreme for excellent views. 2. Take the car to Kaymakali underground city( 28 km- 30 min) 3. Pigeon valley at Utchisar 3. Utchisar castle 4. Cauvesin valley just behind the church on the main road 5. Pasabagi is the most interesting place with most dramatic volcanic cones and can be reached by car. there are tea stalls and souvenir shops there. Easy stroll around 6. Dervent valley near Ektepe village 7> back to Goreme 8> Turkish night at 8 pm to 11.30pm- 9. Go to Goreme valley next morning for a walk. Avoid Goreme open air museum if you are not on a pilgrimage. The valley has better caves and churches.
One must visit Cappadocia at leat once in their lifetime.
I would stay again at Local cave house. Harun is so warm, like a younger brother. Go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paragkash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Stayed in Local Cave Hotel for 4 days and it was one of the most memorable stays I had in Turkey. The staff were extremely hospitable and helped in arranging activities and bus tickets etc. I had a severe ankle injury and Mr. Harun, the owner took me down to Neveshir for medical treatment and helped with translation and logistics. Spent quite a bit of time in the hotel and found it to be very restful and pleasant. Terraces have great views over the landscape and the rooms are spacious and airy. Comfortable beds were a plus, and bathrooms, while not luxurious, were clean. Did not smell anything like some of the other reviewers mentioned. All in all, I found it to be great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lihaiwubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We really liked Goreme and we had a really pleasant stay in Local Cave Hotel. Friendly staff, spacious and nice rooms. Perfect for families.

We expected Goreme to be too touristy for us, but it turned out to be a very friendly village with lots of nice restaurants and places to relax between card playing old men in a warming spring sun.

Local cave and its blossoming cherries added even more charm to our pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

A nice cave experience in Cappadocia - spacious family suite. Goreme town is easily the gem in the region, quiet, has character, yet modern. Harun was wealth of information and arranged good terms for balloon and horse. Warm stove with wifi and tea in the evenings, parking out front (for our dinky little car), affiliated Local restaurant (testi kebab & fireplace)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 78 in Goreme
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 78 in Goreme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Local Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Local Cave House

Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £21 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Local Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Local Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Local Cave House Hotel Goreme
Local Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing