We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views, comfy rooms, extremely friendly & helpful owners”
Review of Local Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Local Cave House
Ranked #19 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful views, comfy rooms, extremely friendly & helpful owners”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

When we walked into this place we grinned from ear to ear! The location is fabulous and the small inn is laid out perfectly so that you can appreciate the gorgeous landscape from all the rooms (which are carved into the rocky landscape) and lovely expansive terraces. And, the swimming pool is totally awesome! It was hot when we were there and the pool was clean and cool and so inviting after returning from our daily excursions -- very pleasurable indeed! But, don't let me forget the owners and staff... Everybody was really friendly and extraordinarily helpful, but not at all intrusive. If you let the owner know what you are interested in doing or seeing, he is full of really helpful advice and more than happy to arrange anything your heart desires at a very reasonable price. We definitely recommend this place!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xtracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    82
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
128
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights. Enjoyed the pool and company of others. Owners were most helpful providing suggestions for outings and organising day trips. Make sure you get up early in the morning to enjoy the view of balloons floating overhead, or if brave enough, do a flight. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Local Cave House is run by a local family who are fun and helpful. We stayed here for a week and enjoyed our stay here alot. It was great to come back after a hot day for a swim in the big clean pool. To awake each morning to the sound and sights of the hot air balloons over the hotel was incredible and then an early morning swim before breakfast .The breakfast was local and delicious especially if you waited for Harun to arrive each morning with the Hot Bread. One tip don.t use Harun as an Alarm Clock !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The small hotel has some very nice rooms; partly the rooms are inside the fairy chimneys. The hotel, the rooms and the pool were very clean.
The owner and his wife are very friendly and helpful and relaxed.
The information given by the owner, e.g. for restaurants or tours were very good.

We felt very comfortable in this hotel and we could absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Four nights in the amazing lands of Capadoccia. We stayed in a family room with 2 kids aged 9 and 11 and found it very suitable for our needs. It is comfortable rather that luxurious .Two substantial rooms plus bathroom, an outdoor sitting area and a common sitting area overlooking the pool. We spent any down time in the outdoor areas as the weather was perfect for our stay. the included Turkish breakfast is modest but good enough to get the days started. Local Cave House has a great location just above the Goreme main street. it is quite apart from the Mosque calls at start just after 5 am and ring out over the whole town. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and gave us good recommendations on ballooning, horse riding, 4 wheel biking and car rentals. The hotel is a nice size that promotes some interaction with other guests but allows your own space too. Coffee lovers should find Ali, the Melbourne trained barista at Sofrat in the main street. Best food we found was at Somine Restaurant inn Urgup.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Booking process was slightly worrying as we couldn't communicate directly with hotel and had to go through 3rd party agency. This did work fine and they were expecting us and price as expected.

Our stay was great. Hotel owner really put himself out when it rained (it never rains in June!) and he took us round in his car when our booked trip was cancelled due to the rain. He arranged balloon flight, tours and transfers for us. Our room was a huge cave suite with 3 rooms terrace and great views. Bit of a walk up hill from the town (10mins stroll) but worth it to get the views and to stay in a cave.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_and_Nick580418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived in Goreme after a long bus ride from Istanbul. The friendly staff made us feel so welcome, and we were able to catch up on needed sleep in our cool cave room right away. Our two young children found relief from hot days in the sun swimming in the pool. The staff were very helpful and answered all of our questions about activities in the area as well as helping us decide where to go next. The view from our room was great, we looked out over the 'fairy chimneys' of Goreme and the valleys around the town. I was really happy to have some variety from the normal breakfast fare - they had a great buffet breakfast with some local cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cake, and of course the regular tomato/cheese/cucumber/ olives. We left our video camera at the hotel by mistake and they kindly forwarded it to us in Bursa. I would highly recommend The Local Cave House to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#23 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Local Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Local Cave House

Property: Local Cave House
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 11, Goreme 50180 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Local Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Local Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Local Cave House Hotel Goreme
Local Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing