We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware!”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be aware!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Last month we stayed at the Sultan Cave Suites in 2 rooms for 3 nights. One Junior Suite and one Suite.

Just to inform you:

There were no safes in the rooms.
In one room we had no AC
There were no mini-bars in the rooms
No bathrobes are provided
The terraces of our rooms are open to all visitors. The visitors have to use them to go to their own rooms. So lack of privacy and security.
The hotel is partly under construction. Be aware of the noise from 7 am.
Members of staff are not wearing unifoms and are using the public terraces for themself. So you can't see the difference between staff and visitors.
The breakfast: Very poor. NOTHING is served! All self-service. Knife, napkins, coffee... Everything you have to take yourself. No trays are provided. So visitors are running around all the time. Tablecloths were filthy. Staff was eating from the buffet and taking coffee! We had to wait in line because of them. It takes 2 staff members to change 1 light bulb during breakfast time! Why? It was amazing to see so many staff in the breakfast room during breakfast doing nothing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain196004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    141
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
161
500
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a prime hotel in Goreme and lived up to expectations right from the start. We had booked room 325 for a 3-day holiday in the first week of June and were delighted with the welcome afforded to us and the top-notch service thereafter. The airconditioning was a blessing in the heat and the balcony perfect for a drink whilst watching the sun set over the caves in Cappadocia. Mustafa, the manager, and this team do his hotel proud with their attentive, but unfussy service - just what you want when you are on holiday. He recommended the tour (No. 3 which took us to Mustafapasa village, the keslik monastery and the hike in the Soganli valley amongst other rock castles and formations) which was well worth it, including the inclusive lunch at a local restaurant in the Soganli valley. The highlight of the stay was the balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons. Once we'd got over the horrendously early start (5 am pick-up from the hotel!) and were up and away soaring over the landscape - and sometimes low and skimming the rocks - we revelled in the experience. If you get the chance, don't miss it. On our first night we ate at the Seten restaurant which adjoins the hotel as we did not want to trek too far and were really glad we chose it. The Anatolian cuisine was a revelation and good value for money . Go there and ask for Yasar and his team and you won't be disappointed. We liked the food and ambience at Seten so much (a gently, back-lit Goreme was the perfect backdrop), we ate there each evening thereafter.

Room Tip: Book online, website has a photo of every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights after a last minute change in our bookings. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. We had a nice room in an elevated position which looked into a lovely valley with fairy chimneys and hot air balloons in the mornings. The underground rooms were also nicely decorated and most were quite spacious. The service was very good. We had two excellent dinners in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My friend and I spent 3 fantastic nights here on the advice of Turkish Heritage Travel. The room was the only twin room they had - it was small but totally lovely. The staff here were all incredibly friendly and helpful (even the one that will remain unnamed that woke me at 4.30am by accident) congratulations to Mehmet and his staff for making kus welcome and for the raki. The restaurant in this hotel is the BEST we ate at for our whole trip, including Istanbul. Oh and the hamman in the cave in the hotel next door was amazing. Stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Had such a lovely stay at this gorgeous hotel. The staff was so welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and beautiful. The food was amazing at the restaurant. The hotel is at the highest point in the town so you get such an awesome view. Breathtaking! If you go to Goreme, you must stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klm2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Its located at the best spot in goreme. Very reasonable prices.
They arrange everything like ballon tours, city tours.
Has a very good restaurant called SETEN.
Unique terraces where you can watch the sunset.
Friendliest staff that you can ever find.
Comfortable and cosy rooms.
I definately suggest to everyone, you definately wont regret...
Enjoy your stay like I did and PLEASE go for a Ballon Tour! Its amazing! words are not enough to describe the feeling. Everyone should do it! at least once in a lifetime!
And go for a Turkish bath and buy the full massage, and then you will feel like a sultan at the land of the sultans...

Room Tip: You can have a room with a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTurcaBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I took 3 rooms and I stayed with my big family. I made the reservation by phone by talking with the owner. He made some discounts and we agreed on the price.
The hotel was ok. Nothing special. Nothing for extra comfort.
But while checking out(btw check-out time is 10:00) the owner told me that he cant make the discount if I pay with credit card. He insisted on the cach because he knew that I did not have cache with me. The difference was a very little amount but he insisted and he was very rude about that.
Of course I didn't discuss with him but I told that the price we agreed was different. He didn't listen to me and insisted on taking that little amount. Of course I gave him the money he wanted. Because I was with my family and the amount was very little.
The ones who are willing to go there must be prepared about surprising prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank AnkaraTolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasan-Kabalci, Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
In response to your complaint about payment for your accommodation at our hotel,not only were you told face to face about our discount policy (available to everyone),but it is clearly stated on the first page of our Sutan Cave Suites Website that we offer a 10% discount for cash payment. We DO NOT however bargain with our customers.
You expected us to give you a discount based on the fact that you come from Turkey.It is not our policy to give different prices for different nationalities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing