We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shirt off his back”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The shirt off his back”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

That's what the owner Mehmet did--he loaned me his fleece for a hike on a slightly chilly day after my luggage got lost by the airline. Not only that--he called Turkish several times to find out the whereabouts of our bags. That was emblematic of the hospitality he and his assistant Christina showed. Rustic rooms on multiple levels, many with balconies looking out toward the conical shapes goreme is famous for. Ours was a particularly
large room. Maybe the lighting in the bathroom could have been brighter. Oh, and the breakfasts had plenty of oprions for all palates, but the Turkish fruits and cheeses were best.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    141
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
163
505
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had such a wonderful time here, that I wish I was back. Our room was all stone wall and arched ceiling, rustic with natural wood floors and stone floors. Just a short walk to the main town where you can shop and pick from numerous delicious restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel, is none better!!!! Beautifull views of the city excellent food and service. The owner is quiet the character and even he is involved serving tea, coffee and making sure everything is okay. A hands on owner. A bath house is just next door. In the morning my friends were able to lie in bed while watching the hot air balloons fly over. Rooms 309, 310, 311, 312 all have nice terraces and amazing view. People are so friendly and welcoming. I will definitely recommend to others. There is enough to keep you busy for several days, hiking, horse back riding, hot air balloon, open air museum amazing and the underground cities. Would like to have stayed longer. Owner is quick to arrange anything you want. Nickname BOSSY, inside joke to owner

Room Tip: Rooms 311 first I would ask for, but also 309, 310, 306 312 wonderful views. These are very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul but formerly CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Sultan Cave Suites. The management there makes you feel like family. The view, the relaxed atmosphere, the ambiance, the uniqueness, to name a few, make this hotel one of the best I have ever visited. They can easily accommodate my family of 5 or cater to a girls weekend. Thank you Sultan Suites for being such a great destination!!

Room Tip: Go on their website and request the room you wish to stay in. The 2 bedroom suites are fabulous for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

we had absolutely wonderful stay at sultan cave suites, people were great, food was awesome, they have one of the best restaurants in cappadocia, i would say. over all very good experience at this place.. highly recommended if you are not looking at a very expensive or any glamorous place

Room Tip: get with views, and close to reception area or in their other block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Where to start? Everything was superlative! The room first of all (311) had the most beautiful view, was clean, modern, comfortable beds, television, tea maker, in fact all mod cons of a 5 star hotel...even a terrace AND a beautiful balcony with a view to die for.
The hotel was fabulous. Apart from being pretty, clean, tastefully decorated, beautifully laid out, the service was also equivalent of a 5 star hotel. You wanted a massage? They arranged it (and WHAT a massage..best we have ever had!); balloon ride? Organised in 5 minutes. Dinner out? Booked for us immediately. Our luggage was lost in Istanbul, they offered to pick it up for us...and it goes on. The restaurant was fabulous, elegant but also with really typical well cooked turkish food, the breakfast buffet was outstanding, wines excellent. In fact, perfection. And value for money? Unbeatable! I think this has been our most outstanding hotel ever and we would thoroughly recommend it. We will definitely be back to one of the most beautiful and peaceful areas we have ever visited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsobellaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We ended up at Sultan Cave Suites by complete accident after originally booking another cave hotel in the area that looked fantastic online, but turned out to be pretty terrifying-looking in person. A lovely woman found us looking slightly upset after having just stumbled out of our dingy original hotel and said we absolutely had to change over to Sultan just down the road.

Mehmet saved our trip to Cappadocia by offering us up a fantastic junior suite and breakfast on his beautiful terrace while we waited for our room to be available. As if that weren't enough, he also booked our balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons (a fantastic operator and our guide Kaan was wonderful) and another day tour that we had wanted.

Once all the other guests were settled that first morning, Mehmet also dropped us off at the start of a great hike through Red and Rose Valleys with very clear directions how to get back to the hotel (with the option to call him if we got lost). Above and beyond the call of duty!

The breakfast buffet is wonderful and the hotel restaurant also has really great food and wine. I can't say enough about how welcoming and impressive the staff is at Sultan and I send loads of thanks over to Mehmet and Mustafa for completely making our trip to Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The cave suites are so beautiful and the service received from staff very good. The breakfasts were delicious and offered everything one could wish for. Thank you Sultan Cave Suites for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing