We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caves for Sleep, Views by Day”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Mehmet is the dream-come-true hotel owner and general manager. A Turk by birth, he made his fortune in the U.S. selling carpets, and he has returned to his dream home to build and run the most luxurious and personalized hotel we found in Turkey. Views from the terrace by morning (fabulous breakfast) or late-day (some Turkish tea) are exquisite, looking out at the fairy chimneys just beyond. By night, make sure to stay in a "cave" suite or "cave room." Don't go for the newer accommodations; nice though they are and sunnier, the reason to stay at this cave suite hotel is to indulge in and enjoy cave living -- outfitted with all the luxe, modern details. We were in Cappadocia at the Cave Suites for 4 nights, enough time not only to enjoy the top tourist attractions (Open Air Museum, hiking, etc. ) but also to get to the distant valleys for hiking and some wonderful additional tourist attractions. Mehmet either arranged it all or told us how to do it. Without your noticing it, you'll find Mehmet everywhere -- supervising dinner at the restaurant he created; fixing the rain flap over the dinner terrace if bad skies are moving in; arranging every detail of check-out; reviewing maps and options at check-in. While there, also check out other restaurants like the Top Deck up the road. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, though there are other cave suites hotels. But definitely stay in a cave hotel. I still would love to turn my own home into a cave! (The hotel shares a tiny but workable swim pool across the road; you don't come here to swim; a Turkish bath operation is also shared, but I'd do a Turkish bath in Istanbul where you'll get a less expensive and more authentic version).

Room Tip: Ask for a conventional cave suite. You don't need a sunny room for this particular part of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

I booked 4 rooms for my family and everyone was happy with their room. The staff is friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant is very good and good value. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Staff is friendly, the location useful for walking into town. The views from the sitting area are stunning, especially early morning when the balloons take off. The restaurant is fantastic and offers a discount if you stay at the place. Very recommended, we would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH_AW_IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Each corner and level (there are several floors at the hotel all looking out over the town) is unique and well thought out. We stayed in cave suite 302 which has a large and bright living area. Very comfortable built in couches with wifi. There is a mini fridge as well. Breakfast spread is huge and the best we have had. While we were in a cave room there was no damp smell and the temperature was never an issue. We had a seatting area outside our room with a beautiful view. Not only would I highly recommend this hotel, I would stay here again. They helped us plan our free time and had great suggestions and advice. They even drove us to the open air museum which was extremely nice. You cannot go wrong choosing the Sultan Cave Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickieW1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is our second trip to Turkey, but first time to Cappadocia. The hotel was beautifully decorated and cozy. We travel alot, but this is a unique experience. The view from the hotel terrace is beautiful and tranquil. The breakfast was exceptional with many local selections. There is also a wonderful restaurant on site that gives 20% discount to hotel guests. The service is excellent and staff most helpful. The hotel also booked Butterfly hot air balloon and day tour for us. The Butterfly hot air balloon is a experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: We needed 2 rooms and were assigned 2 rooms a few meters away from the main hotel area. I would pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We loved our stay at the Sultan Caves Suites. It is pure luxury in a cave! It feels nothing like a cave and yet has a look and feel about it like no other hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are lage and comfortable with big bathrooms (which is a luxury in Turkey).
The service was very good and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is surrounded by fairy chimneys and majestic mountains. The view and the skies are gorgeous to look at during the course of the day especially in the morning when the sky is dotted with hot air ballons (a must do activity). The hotel is on a hill and it takes about 10 mins to walk to the centre of town.
A very classy hotel and I would highly recommend for the sheer unique experience.

Room Tip: Get the rooms away from the reception as there is a lot of noise from people chatting and smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Connected to the best restaurant in Cappadocia, the staff is awesome and the rooms are clean. Plus, Goreme is the location you want.

Room Tip: Do the balloon trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosreves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing