We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, genuine cave hotel experience”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I loved this hotel. Stayed here with my two children and extended family. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. The hotel reception and dining area is located in one area and the rooms are spread out in locations close by and a short walk up the street.

The rooms are very clean, simple but suited to the local environment. We had a great room with a large queen size bed in one section and two singles in another section. Great with two kids as at night I could be one section of the room whilst the kids slept in the other section of the room. The surrounding courtyard area was well appointed with tables and chairs to sit and chat during the day, or meet other family for chats in the evening whilst the kids slept close by.

There was pool access at their sister hotel - Kelebek, a short walk through the terraces. The water was cold, but the kids enjoyed it. It sits high above the town and has a great view.

The breakfast buffet was mainly Turkish breakfast with coffee and tea. Delicious. The daily menu had a good selection of food and great quality.

There is also a sweet little shop downstairs from the reception run by a lovely girl (sorry, I can't remember her name) but loved her story of starting her dream to run a peshtemal (Turkish towel) shop. She had recently moved to Goreme with her husband and works in the office of the hotel. She had a idea to start her own business and with the support of the owner of Sultan Cave Suites has successfully opened a really tasteful small shop there. You can buy towels, soap and other hammam products. I wish her all the best with her business.

I loved the quaint and local feeling of this hotel. It is out of the way of the main drag of Goreme which is nice and feels like a more traditional experience. You can easily walk to town, takes about 10 minutes and is an interesting walk through the streets and shopping area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galleygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was spectacular, overlooking the town of Goreme. The room was beautifully decorated though they had made a point of keeping as much of the original cave structure as possible. Mehmet and his staff, especially Mustafa, were extremely accommodating, they remained quietly in the background but were there whenever we needed them. We had booked three different day tours and a hot air balloon ride through Turkish Heritage Travel which works closely with the hotel. Pick-up times were always respected and we loved the tours.

Breakfast was elaborate and could be eaten in the dining room, outside under an umbrella or in one of the authentically decorated lounging areas all of which had fantastic views over-looking the valley. After a long day of sightseeing we always looked forward to relaxing with a glass of wine on the beautiful patio.

All in all our experience at the hotel was excellent in every way.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank FourKarin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My Family came to Turkey for a holiday and our first stop was Goreme where we stayed at Sultan Cave Suites! (It was a perfect stay of 5 nights)! Service or Staff were very good and kind, Mehmet a friendly manager, Mustafa a great person to talk to and Christina a very knowledgeable guide on what to do in Kapadokya, otherwise all the staff is nice. Room or Cave Suite was great with amazing view outside(in the hotel there is some chairs/sofa and tables where you can sit down and relax like a sitting area) or on the balcony in your room,well decorated Cave Suite and comfortable to stay in. Location is useful and near to the town where you can find Mehmet's Carpet store (Sultan Carpets) and his Butterfly Balloons Company ( I recommend the Ballon Flight). Also in town there are good restaurants to eat and different shops. The restaurant in the Hotel is also a great choice and eating breakfast or dinner is delicious. The Pool is a a bit small but still fun, the only thing is that its in the hotel beside, also the hotel has the Turkish Bath. Reception is some where you can stay if its to cold outside (very comfortable) and also has a computer for everyone to use and has Wi-Fi. But Overall my Family loved Turkey and we want to come back to the Wonderful Sultan Cave Suites and to Goreme (I highly recommended this Hotel)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Mehmet is the dream-come-true hotel owner and general manager. A Turk by birth, he made his fortune in the U.S. selling carpets, and he has returned to his dream home to build and run the most luxurious and personalized hotel we found in Turkey. Views from the terrace by morning (fabulous breakfast) or late-day (some Turkish tea) are exquisite, looking out at the fairy chimneys just beyond. By night, make sure to stay in a "cave" suite or "cave room." Don't go for the newer accommodations; nice though they are and sunnier, the reason to stay at this cave suite hotel is to indulge in and enjoy cave living -- outfitted with all the luxe, modern details. We were in Cappadocia at the Cave Suites for 4 nights, enough time not only to enjoy the top tourist attractions (Open Air Museum, hiking, etc. ) but also to get to the distant valleys for hiking and some wonderful additional tourist attractions. Mehmet either arranged it all or told us how to do it. Without your noticing it, you'll find Mehmet everywhere -- supervising dinner at the restaurant he created; fixing the rain flap over the dinner terrace if bad skies are moving in; arranging every detail of check-out; reviewing maps and options at check-in. While there, also check out other restaurants like the Top Deck up the road. I can't imagine staying anywhere else, though there are other cave suites hotels. But definitely stay in a cave hotel. I still would love to turn my own home into a cave! (The hotel shares a tiny but workable swim pool across the road; you don't come here to swim; a Turkish bath operation is also shared, but I'd do a Turkish bath in Istanbul where you'll get a less expensive and more authentic version).

Room Tip: Ask for a conventional cave suite. You don't need a sunny room for this particular part of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I booked 4 rooms for my family and everyone was happy with their room. The staff is friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant is very good and good value. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Staff is friendly, the location useful for walking into town. The views from the sitting area are stunning, especially early morning when the balloons take off. The restaurant is fantastic and offers a discount if you stay at the place. Very recommended, we would come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH_AW_IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Each corner and level (there are several floors at the hotel all looking out over the town) is unique and well thought out. We stayed in cave suite 302 which has a large and bright living area. Very comfortable built in couches with wifi. There is a mini fridge as well. Breakfast spread is huge and the best we have had. While we were in a cave room there was no damp smell and the temperature was never an issue. We had a seatting area outside our room with a beautiful view. Not only would I highly recommend this hotel, I would stay here again. They helped us plan our free time and had great suggestions and advice. They even drove us to the open air museum which was extremely nice. You cannot go wrong choosing the Sultan Cave Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickieW1694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 80 in Goreme
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,356 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 80 in Goreme
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £66 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing