We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay here”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay here”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Sultan Caves provided an interesting base from which to tour the surrounding sights in Goreme for the two days we stayed. The view from the common area of the hotel is amazing. Our room gave the aura of cave-ness, and was comfortable and clean and decorated appropriately for the area. WiFi connection was dodgy at times, but that wasn't a big issue for the two days we were there.

Previous reviews mentioned lack of eggs for breakfast. During our stay, there was a sign posted in the breakfast area offering omelets on request. We thought the breakfasts were very good. Fresh Turkish fruits and veggies...delicious! And the hotel packed a breakfast sandwich for us on our morning of our early departure.

We ate dinner here twice and enjoyed the meal.

One note: if you are considering staying here, be prepared to do elevation: stairs, hilly streets, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_liz_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    141
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
163
504
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Very beautiful traditional cave-rooms, perfect in every small detail, very clean and extremely big! Amazing view from balcony! Location is great, and walking distance from city center.I fully recommend it! Me and my husband loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and reasonably well appointed (not the Ritz, but we were not looking for the Ritz nor expecting it). Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Small LCD TV with good auxillary inputs (for looking at the photo's you took during the day - only English channels were CNN and Bloomberg) Great view of the town and the surrounding countryside from the breakfast area and the rooms on the 'front' of the hotel. Excellent variety and quality in the included breakfast (mostly cold, but some egg choices too). Very clean. Reasonably priced laundry service (20 TL per bag - around $11). If you are a light sleeper, request a room AWAY from the front which faces the town minaret and has a call to prayer at around 5:45 am each morning. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter (from AM call to prayer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent 5 nights here and could have stayed longer. Previous reviews sum it well; lovely rooms, great views, short walk to town and super staff. Plus the best restaurant that we tried in Goreme.

They are linked to Heritage Travel and Butterfly Balloons, both of whom also were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Sultan Cave Suites in late September. The hotel is beautifully situated on a hill and has amazing views of the town and landscape. The staff was both friendly and helpful. They not only helped to arrange a local tour and a balloon ride (which was fantastic), but they also called several bus companies to arrange our transportation to Konya. They also sent soup to our room when my husband was feeling ill. Breakfast had a wide variety of food options, and we enjoyed a couple good meals at the Seten restaurant at the hotel.

We stayed one night in a larger suite and three nights in a smaller room. We found both rooms to be quite comfortable and had no complaints about the amenities. The only downside was that the second room we stayed in was quite close to reception. Due to this proximity, we could hear other guests, who were waiting to get picked up to go on a balloon ride, talking quite loudly early in the morning. However, this was a minor annoyance, and the beauty of the hotel and the helpfulness of the staff more than made up for it. Thank you Sultan Cave Suites for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Late September we journeyed 1 hour's flight from Istanbul to the Sultan Caves Hotel, Goreme in Cappadocia. It was dark when we arrived and so the highlights of the spectacular landscape largely awaited the next day. Check in was swift and efficient with Mehmet providing most information on an informative map of the town, plus a leaflet with three local tours, taking in some of the region's highlights. Our room was, no surprise really, a cave with what looked like a very tasteful add on. Large lounge, two bedroom and a large bathroom completed the suite. This was fortunate as our friend was not quite so lucky and had to be rescued from a fate worse than death in a nearby hotel the next morning. She moved into our second bedroom. No problem with the hotel management. Awoken by the blaring of the loudspeakers close to the hotel at 5.45am, there are two mosques nearby- you have been warned!!! We could not name the sound of something like an aeroplance engine, until we looked out of the window to see no less than 60 hot air ballons taking to the air at the same, or almost the same time!!
The restaurant of the hotel serves local cuisine, lamb, chicken wrapped with walnots and spinach was v nice as are the local meatballs. Much is cooked in a brick oven at the side of the eating area. The local wines are fine, we bought a couple of bottles to bring back to Istanbul,.
Lots of backpackers, many from the orient, plus Brits and Americans and others. Breakfast is in a separate area and is the traditional Turkish buffet manner. Staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful, nothing seemingly too much trouble. The hotel is on the edge of the town, and you can see people gathering on a ridge on the far side of the town to watch the sun go down. It looks a long way but is only about a 15 minute stroll, though uphill at the end. All this can be watched from the covered areas with ample provision for sitting out. Watch carefully and you may still see the tiny moth like humming bird that visits the flowers there!
Ask for details of local sites, and do visit the local open air museum!!!
We all thought the place was amazing in all respects, and we will be going back.
It has a wonderful rustic charm typical of the area, as when the cleaning maid was wondering what to do with our used coffee filter cups! Wonderful, globalisation not here- yet!!
Not much can be done re the religious services clearly, the call to prayer can still be heard even from the depths of the cave but it all adds to the uniqueness.

Room Tip: Worth asking if you don't like being woken early for a room away from the minaret if that is pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in the Presidential Suite for 6 nights in May and had the best time. The room was huge with great views of Goreme and the hills above it. The hotel is very comfortable with a great breakfast which is include with the room. It is very pleasant to sit outside in the morning sunshine and have a sumptuous breakfast with excellent service. The restaurant is undoubtedly the best in Goreme in a delightful setting with excellent food and service.
However, what really sets the hotel apart is the owner, Mehmet. He is always available to suggest events for the day, to drive you to anyplace around Goreme, and to simply chat. He was born and raised in Goreme so his knowledge of the area is outstanding. His right hand man, Mustafa, is also there all the time to help out with anything that you need. In sum, there is simply no reason to stay anywhere else in Goreme than the Sultan Cave Suites!

Room Tip: Get a suite unless you want a cave room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjroeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing