We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sultan Cave Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$55
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nature Park Cave Hotel(Goreme)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valleypark Hotel(Goreme)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
892
149
19
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
149
19
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelseten restaurantturkeythe hotel's restaurantbutterfly balloonsmain buildingjunior suitethe ownerthe hot air balloonsheritage travelballoon ridethe hotel staffcave suitesamazing viewsday tourstayed here for nightssitting area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent. Had a very nice experience. Check in process was very smooth. Rooms were clean and are good in sizes. Feeling of staying in a cave was there. Restaurant has a very good spread and many dishes for Vegetarians like me. Prices are very reasonable. Staff helped in planning and booking of tours.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 335. It was a cave room. Ensure that you stay in a cave room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We booked on. Tripadvisor recommendations and also a personal recommendation from a friend who had stayed at a nearby hotel. Very happy with everything including the restaurant and a big thankyou to Mustafa and Mehmet for a great stay. The rooms were great and the staff went out of their way to ensure a great experience. Would go back in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel, very professional English speaking staff, very helpful with transfers, booking tours and recommending things to do. The cave suites are really amazing BUT as they are excavations 400 years old there is a steady fine "snowfall" of grit from the stone which is really annoying in the bed! The non cave stone suites do not have this problem, keep this in mind when booking. Restaurant is good but expensive so worth trying others in town as well. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

After a few hideous stinky days at the Alp Guesthouse in Istanbul, our profound joy at our hotel room in Goreme might have been a bit overstated, but the Sultan Cave Suites were still an incredible value, and a great find. It has one of the better restaurants in the area on-site, with a surprisingly terrific wine list. The restaurant is ENORMOUS, with several little sitting areas near fireplaces and overlook points to chill, drink some wine, and have a chat with other visitors, or friends. There's also a gift shop and a small spa on site. The rooms are commodious and quite luxurious for their incredibly affordable price point. I really liked the bathroom, and its fixtures in particular. Rooms area bit dark, but it's a cave so... :) Some of the rooms facing the other direction probably had better light. Grounds are multi-level and a bit meandering, which makes for a nice little walk, and also great for finding multiple lookout points to take incredible photos of the vistas below. Just a quick walk down the hill to town, as well.

Mustafa, the manager, was more like a kindly host than a hotel manager, and really has the right customer service attitude to ensure you feel like everything is managed and handled. The rest of the staff is also warm and friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is delicious. Lots of delicious traditional options as well as more Americanized fare (Blissfully tasty and light French toast with nutella? YES PLEASE) Eating it out on their lovely patio, while gazing at balloons as they climbed into the sky over the valley, was just amazing.

And lastly: this hotel has, hands down, the best "house red" wine I've ever had. I never like the house red, anywhere, but this one was actually fabulous, and I wish I could've taken some home. The wine is available for purchase, but not if you only have a small backpack as carry on luggage! :(

Beds are comfy. Rooms are very clean. Well appointed. Extra linens available. Cute CUTE furnishings. Comfy lobby. Very helpful in terms of helping book additional tours and travel options, or making reservations. If I came back to Cappadocia (and I might...this time with a checked bag for wine!) I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the Sultan Cave Suites in early September 2012 and were bowled over by the hotel and staff. The twin room set in a cave, although small, was very comfortable and clean with modern bathroom fixtures. Best of all about the hotel were the views from the terrace (which is shared with other guests but never crowded) and the amazing breakfasts which could be enjoyed inside or outside.

In addition, the staff were incredibly hospitable and eager to help us sort out problems (delayed luggage), arrange hikes and tours, and recommend restaurants. Unlike some other places in Turkey, we never felt pressured to sign up for tours or visit expensive restaurants. We didn't try the pool or hammam which were a block away, but heard from others that they were good.

Of all the hotels we saw in Goreme, we were very glad to have chosen this one. We did get a workout every time we left the hotel, since it is at the top of a hill at the edge of the town, but this was more than compensated for by the excellent views and serenity of the place.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different, so don't hesitate to ask for advice on size, views, seclusion, etc.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews