We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but service could be better”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel but service could be better”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We arrived at the hotel just before sunrise after a long bus ride from Pamukkale. It took a while before we were attended to and the hotel staff was not really friendly, a little cold actually. That sort of put us off a little bit. As our room was not ready, we went for our day tour first. Our luggage were already in the room by the time we came back. The room was cozy and pleasant, however it was a little dusty. Great view from the hotel room. We could see the hot air balloons rise up in the backdrop of the sunrise every morning. Breakfast was nice, with a wide spread provided. Location was not too far from the town centre - about 5 minutes walk. Overall, a pleasant stay apart from the not-so-warm staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deftcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    142
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
165
512
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Good view from the reception area where you can enjoy the rich breakfast to start a wonderful day in Goreme. Actually you can find anything you like for the breakfast. The room is the most special and nice one during my trip in Turkey. The high arched roof, the pretty bedclothes, the fine package of the bath products, everything makes the room very charming. The owner is very helpful for everything, arranging pickup, tours, etc. Especially he helped us to find back the ipad which was lost on the long distance bus. Besides, the hotel restaurant is very romantic. Book ahead for the hotel room and the restaurant, you'd definitely love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Sultan Cave Suites situates on one of the hill side surrounding Goreme valley, From its reception area and breakfast area, you have a full, amazing view of Goreme. That was a treat during breakfast time. However, the hotel spreads out quite bit. They not only have rooms around reception/breakfast area, they also have rooms about 100 meters from those main area, and those rooms are facing the opposite side of Goreme, and our room was there. First I hated its location, however, after staying 3 nights, we really enjoyed it, we really appreciated the peace and quiet it offers since it is facing back and less traffic. The room decor is modern with regional charm. Good room size, good shower, wifi at room is good even it is 100 meters from reception. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices. You can even order fried eggs! The only complain we had for breakfast was breakfast area did not have good heating. We were there middle of October. It was so cold, with 3 layers of clothes, we were still cold.
We booked everything(e.g. hot-air balloon, 2 day tours) through the hotel before we got there. We never felt being pushed as there were nothing else to push us to buy. However, all staffs including owner never smiled while we were there. We found it rather odd. But they did do everything we asked them to. So, it was all good at the end. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel based on its location. And you don't need to reserve all the tours(e.g. hot-air balloon, etc...) before your arrival as there are plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: You don't need to make tour reservation before your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The owner and staff were extremely welcoming and hospitable. As soon as I arrived, I was suggested an itinerary for the day and the next day which was extremely helpful for me in order to explore the area as much as I could in short amount of time. Goreme main market (downtown) is a very small market and is 5/10 minutes downhill walk from the hotel. Open Air Museum is about half an hour walk. Nevisher airport is about 45 minutes drive. Goreme is a very small area with extremely limited public transport options so I would recommend arranging pick and drop with the hotel. Its best to book a tour or arrange a car in order to explore rest of the area as all the tourist places are pretty scattered around.

The hotel booked one day tour and balloon rides (with company called Butterfly Balloons) for me. Both the companies (the tour company, and the balloon rides company) were extremely nice. The balloon ride pilot, Mustafa, took us above the clouds and we were the only ones who went above the clouds so it was definitely worth it. I got 10% discount on balloons rides as they have some sort of arrangments with the hotel. The tour guide, named Jeehad, was also a v friendly, knowlwdgable and funny guy.

The hotel offers discount on cash payments but I ran out of cash at the end so I paid the rest using credit card and still got the discount for cash payment which was a very nice gesture from the owner.

For other Muslims brothers, there is a mosque in 5 minutes walking distance to offer prayers.

There were slight negatives: 1) Though, it was not problem for me, the stairs to the room(s) were a bit hard to carry huge luggage and/or for people with mobility issues. 2) The uphill walk from Goreme downtown is a bit tough. 3)Breakfast menu could have been improved.

I will definitely recommend this hotel if someone wants to stay in this area

Room Tip: I stayed in suite 304. The suite was very nice, clean and cosy. It had amazing views of the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have mixed feelings about the Sultan Cave Suites.. We can appreciate why it deserves its high ranking, but also see there's room for improvements.

Pros:
- Gorgeous setting high on a hill with amazing views of Goreme. However it is a bit of a hike from middle of town (10 mins).
- Generous sized rooms
- Good hot shower & bathroom amenities
- Free wifi
- Excellent variety and quality breakfast

Cons:
- the 2 owners (Mustafa and ???) are quite pushy in selling extra excursions such as the various day trips (eg Green tour), hot air balloon rides, Dervish shows and car rentals.. It would appear that they receive a generous commission from other companies, esp the hot air balloon rides. Please note that all their recommended excursions are above and beyond in price compared to other companies in town. Recommendation is one thing, but we felt when we decided to book with other companies, their attitudes quickly changed to one of comtempt which we felt unjustified.
- We declined their hot air balloon booking also because of a very late departure; sunrise is at 6am but the balloon company doesnt pick you up from the hotel until 6.30am. We ended up booking a company that collected us at 5:15am (with breakfast served 5:30-5:50am) which ensured that we actually got to view the sunrise while in flight..
- Setan restaurant: Please note that although the restaurant is within hotel premises, it is actually opened to the public and therefore, the majority of dinner guests would be non-hotel guests. As a result of gaining endorsement on Lonely Planet, the hotel offers reasonable but very expensive central Anatolian cuisine. We actually didnt really enjoy the food very much and found other restaurants in town offering superior quality. Expect to pay 3x more for the same dishes when dining in this formal restaurant.

Overall, we would recommend the Sultan Cave Suites just because of the quality of their rooms and amazing setting which offers unbeatable views of Goreme.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was great, really pretty, in spite of low temperatures central heating worked perfectly. Very comfortable. Te location was fantastic, with gorgeous view especially from the breakfast terrace. Breakfast couldn't possibly be better, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again, loved it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A very plush and upmarket suite - much more than we expected - in an ideal setting with glorious views over the city. Breakfast on the balcony was a highlight after a morning spent hot air ballooning. Quiet and sophisticated with a subtle ambience added to the charm of this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
361 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing