We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at this beautiful cave hotel”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay at this beautiful cave hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The room was beautiful, with a view of the beautiful town and valley. We were there in November so it was quiet, and chilly but even the rain and mist added mystique. We enjoyed the breakfast and found it to be incredibly varied and with great selection. The room had a small fireplace and a large bathroom. The room was beautifully decorated and the wi-fi worked well. We would definitely stay there again if we return to Cappadocia/Goreme.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    143
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
165
512
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a great experience. We had a cave room which gave a pretty unique touch. We had our own balcony and the view was awesome. Especially in the morning during sunrise, the sky was filled with balloons and it was beautiful view.

Breakfast are okay and the dinner at the restaurant was delicious. Don't forget to get yourself a reservation first hand. They also offer Turkish bath or hammam. That will certainly give another level of experience for you. And also they offer discount if you pay in cash.

You can walk to downtown, but better if you rent a car or scooter.

Really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

From the rustic decoration in the rooms to the Setan restaurant, the overall ambience absolutely wonderful. Stayed in a king suite. Extremely homely staff. Food at the restaurant was amazing. They booked a car for us with driver. Both the car and the driver were very good and came at an incedibly cheap price. Must stay if you are visiting cappadocia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumalya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We loved absolutely everything about Sultan Caves Suites. The room was fantastic, with a great view. We had a suite, so there was a seperate area with couches to sit and enjoy the view, or watch tv or just have a wee nap. The windows opened wide for lots of fresh air. The washroom was really nice with a wall rad that made the room cozy and warm, and made drying your sink washed clothes an ease.
The wifi worked very well in our room even though we were almost the furthest room from reception. There is a computer in reception which you are welcome to use as well.
We booked the balloon tour from the hotel, which was great, (with Butterfly). Also booked the whirling Dervish, - that was a real treat. Not theatrics, but the real deal! and also horse back riding, That was a trip, as you went on really thin paths through the forboading landscapes, (not for the faint of heart).
The breakfast was fantastic with lots of variety and eggs made to order if you wished. There were alot of choices on where to sit, outside or inside. The onsite restaurant served delicious meals in very quaint rooms on different levels. You always felt very intimate in any of the dining rooms, (4 to choose from), that you sat in. I believe there were only 4 or 5 tables in each area. There was a fireplace with easy chairs to sit in and lounge after your meal, sip on a coffee or have desert.
The location was very close to the centre of the small village of Goreme, which had nice shopping, cafes, restaurants. You could also go for a Turkish bath at the sister hotel next door. That was lovely as well.
Beware of loud speaker prayer callings at 4:45 am - they may wake you. We got used to them by our 4th night.
The staff were ALL amazing. So helpful. There to answer all of your questions and even to give you a lift into town or beyond. I read a review saying that the room was dusty - duh - you are staying in a cave!! We found dust particles everywhere all the time, but consider where you are staying. The drinks in the fridge were all complimentary - such a nice touch that I have not encountered before in travelling.

I just can not say enough nice things about this establishment. The views I can not say enough about either. Everywhere you went, walked, strolled, there was a picture to be taken. The area is not of this planet - so awesome. We stayed 4 nights, and I would have loved to stay another 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if that is important to you. The suites cost a bit more, but I think worth the few ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virignia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Sultan Cave Suites was our first stop in Turkey; it was our favourite hotel after our two weeks vacation in Turkey.
Our rooms were 324 and 335, both are in the section away from the main hotel where reception and breakfast is, and both are in basement without view. But the rooms were spacious, beds are comfortable, rooms with views were not available by the time we booked, we looked for good Cave Rooms in other hotels but nothing available in the same price range. We spent so much time outdoor and saw so many cave houses, so not having a view from the rooms was not a big minus for us. By the way, bring ear plug if you are light sleeper.
The breakfast spread was the best we had in Turkey.
The owner (Mehmet) was very helpful and humorous, he gave suggestions when asked but never try to push his own tours or facilities, he even dropped us off at Cavusin so we can hike the Red and Rose Valley.
We originally wanted to book Kelebek which was not available; we did pay a visit to Kelebek where a fellow traveler we met stayed at; Kelebek looked nicer as a whole but the rooms in Sultan Cave Suites seemed larger.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We arrived at the hotel just before sunrise after a long bus ride from Pamukkale. It took a while before we were attended to and the hotel staff was not really friendly, a little cold actually. That sort of put us off a little bit. As our room was not ready, we went for our day tour first. Our luggage were already in the room by the time we came back. The room was cozy and pleasant, however it was a little dusty. Great view from the hotel room. We could see the hot air balloons rise up in the backdrop of the sunrise every morning. Breakfast was nice, with a wide spread provided. Location was not too far from the town centre - about 5 minutes walk. Overall, a pleasant stay apart from the not-so-warm staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deftcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Good view from the reception area where you can enjoy the rich breakfast to start a wonderful day in Goreme. Actually you can find anything you like for the breakfast. The room is the most special and nice one during my trip in Turkey. The high arched roof, the pretty bedclothes, the fine package of the bath products, everything makes the room very charming. The owner is very helpful for everything, arranging pickup, tours, etc. Especially he helped us to find back the ipad which was lost on the long distance bus. Besides, the hotel restaurant is very romantic. Book ahead for the hotel room and the restaurant, you'd definitely love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
362 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing