We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blew me away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blew me away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were so excited about our cave room and this hotel still beat expectations! The room was beautiful and very spacious. There was no dresser, so be prepared to live out of your bag (although you can store stuff in the indentations in the walls!). It was cool and clean and the bathroom was nice too. The grounds were beautiful with relics decorating the property. So much detail was put into the resort. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They'll even give you a lift to local destinations (Thanks, Mustafa!). The breakfast was amazing with breads and homemade jams among other treats. You can even use the pool at Kilibrek (their sister hotel). They will arrange tours for you as well - and believe it or not, you may be able to get a discount through the hotel. I recommend doing a hot air balloon ride. It will cost about $200 US but is worth every penny. The hotel can arrange cheap transportation to and from the airport. This was the best part of our trip to Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoatsBootsBalloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    138
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
159
487
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I were in Turkey for 2 whole weeks and Capadoccia was my our favourite place. Sultan Cave made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. The suite that we had was just adorable and the location was perfect! Everything was clean and no AC was necessary because it gets cold at night - but there are the suit can provide heaters if needed. Turkish people in general are just so wonderful and kind and of course, Sultan Cave was no different. I would highly recommend this place!! We have decided to go back to Turkey and there is no doubt that we would stay at Sultan Cave again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Sultan cave staff are more than nice and professional, they are EXTRAORDINARY. Fabulous service, great knowledge and information shared. I would go back there every summer without hesitating. Do not miss out ! Stayed there from may 21st until the 26th and loved every second.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our room had separate sitting room, bedroom and en suite with original and attractive decoration, rugs on floor etc. Hotel restaurant excellent. Service excellent - staff very helpful. Little evidence that we saw of "caves" though possibly one wall of our bathroom was bare rock. Great views over Goreme, and complimentary car service to the Goreme Open Air Museum. My only complaint was that the curtains were flimsy and the lights were on outside all night, which disturbs my sleep

Room Tip: If you want a cave room you need to ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Cool cave hotel, very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and excellent view (though this means that you will need to walk up a short hill from Goreme center to reach the hotel). Very attentive staff -- helpful in booking tours and transportation, as well as giving directions for hiking and navigating the dolmus system.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aazz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

For the second part of our adventure in Goreme we stayed four nights at the enchanting Sultan Cave Suites. Clickety-clack as we pulled our suitcasesl over the cobblestones to our new home, just 2 doors up the hill from the Kelebek Hotel. Slightly more expensive, the Sultan has larger "perfect cave" rooms, (which would make any NYC studio apartment dweller jealous of their spaciousness), modern in-suite bath with plenty of hot water and Wi-Fi included! Our room was situated dramatically below two towering fairy chimneys that soared above our part of the hotel. Interesting architectural details and rustic antiques abound throughout the hotel. The multi-level terrace is a great place for their sumptuous breakfast, afternoon tea, and views of Goreme below. Some of best views of fairy chimneys are just across from the front entrance to the hotel.
Romantically dine by candlelight as the lights of Goreme sparkle below in the blue dusk of early evening. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant with four differently decorated dining areas to choose from (reservation suggested) featuring local specialties - try the squash leaves stuffed rice and walnuts, lamb or Cappadocia pasta. They also have a nice selection of great Turkish wines.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. As we checked out the night before our extremely early morning departure, they realized we would not be there for breakfast and offered to pack a small picnic brunch for us to take with us to the airport. Two bags with tasty sandwiches, fruit, olives and drinks were ready for us the next morning. Simple, but perfect and very much appreciated.
Ocak is a low key, rustic restaurant with a nice outdoor patio and fire pit, just a short walk around the bend in the road as you walk uphill from the hotel. If it is a slow night the husband and wife chefs will have their TV out under the tree in front, as they wait for guests. They are very gracious and will explain each dish, its ingredients and preparation in detail. Vegetables are from their garden plot, within sight of the restaurant. Turkish coffee is prepared on the coals of the fire pit. Somehow we did miscommunicate while placing our orders, and ended up ordering 4 mains dishes: blame it on the Raki!
Sultan Cave Suites, as does its sister hotel Kelebek, teams with Heritage Tours for side excursions. We went on 2 of these and found the guides to be very knowledgeable and friendly and the tours a good value. If you go ballooning with Butterfly Balloons, ask for Captain Mike Green, who is their chief pilot with many years of experience and a joy to fly with.

Room Tip: The hotel sprawls across a wide piece of property. Their website has excellent photos and descripti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room that we had was comfortable plus had a nice view of the rock formations surrounding the area. People there are really nice and make every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was very good made better by the amazing view from the terrace. The restaurant there is also one of the better ones in town. Its a ten minute walk from the centre of town as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing