We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with amazing views and great service”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I must admit that my friend and I were charmed by the idea of staying in a cave hotel, and probably would have stayed anywhere where they promised us a cave. But Sultan Cave Suites provided much more than just staying in a cave. Our room had a private deck that overlooked incredible rock and cave formations. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the hotel immediately accommodated us when we arrived at dawn from an overnight bus. We highly recommend this hotel and believe it was a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTravelingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

If anyone goes to Cappadocia, they should stay in thiscave hotel. We have been showing pictures to our friends of our "cave." The rooms were great. The restaurant was great. The employees were great. The only problem is the volume of the call to prayer in the morning. It was horrendous. It sounded like it was right outside our room and it went on and on about 5am.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pp21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Having been told that the Kelebek Hotel was full on the dates we were travelling, we were recommended the Sultan Cave Suites as the Kelebek's sister hotel. On arrival, the manager, Mehmet and his staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a gorgeous terrace setting overlooking Goreme, and although it was a 30m walk down the road from our room, the walk was thoroughly enjoyable every morning in such a landscape as Cappodocia. On our second day we took a balloon flight with Butterly Balloons (also owned by the hotel owners) and it was such a fabulous experience with a very professional team. Our room was very clean, nicely furnished and of a great size. The lack of wireless and a telephone in the rooms which others have mentioned was not an issue at all - after all, the rooms are carved into the natural rock and have been done so in such an ingenious way! Internet and phone access is available at the reception and this was perfectly satisfactory. Our only quibble about the room would be the fact that bottles of water were only provided on the day we arrived - but with bottles costing just pence in Goreme, again this wasn't an issue for us. We tried the hotel's restaurant for one lunch and were impressed by both the food and the setting. There are several seating areas, both inside and out, in the hotel area and food and drinks are served wherever you would like.

All in all, a great place to stay with lovely management and fabulous rooms in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieG115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Sultan Cave Suites was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at in Turkey. If you can, reserve room 311. The room has its own small private balcony and its HUGE! The room and bathroom were impeccably clean and the service was stellar. Every afternoon we would return from our adventures with a bottle of local wine. The staff would quickly produce an ice bucket for us to chill it while we relaxed and enjoyed the amazing views. Mehmet the proprietor gave us good advice on hikes and helped us arrange side trips as well. The service to and from airports and the tour we booked with Heritage travels were all top notch. The next time we are in Capadoccia we will definitely be staying at Sultan Cave Suites. And their new restaurant was outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjq1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed in one of Sultan Cave Suites' cave rooms for almost 10 days. Cave rooms are some of the best in Göreme, as they were as fresh as other cave rooms in the area in the very hot days that I had during my stay, yet they are pretty large compared to the typical cave room and they also have windows, which provide enough light and air but do not let any of the heat in. So perfect room and perfect temperature in the midst of summer!
The hotel is decorated with extremely good taste and all its indoor and outdoor spaces provide a very sophisticated albeit extremely relaxed environment (most rooms have outdoor sitting rooms with comfy sitting, tables, amazing kilims and pottery and other antiques which seem to be just lying there but are the result of careful and detailed planning). Even the patio flowers are low key yet perfect in size, beautifully color coordinated and matching!
The hotel is full of terraces and hidden corners to relax and have a glass of wine in, with what to me is the best view of the valley you will get in Göreme. The difference in level of the terrain has been capitalised by hotel designers to provide probably more laid back sitting spaces and meeting points than rooms at the hotel! So I would definitely recommend this hotel not only for a relaxed stay but also if you are mixing business with pleasure.
The final note is provided by the hotel's restaurant and cultural center. It is also a great place to meet with friends as well as to hold business meetings in. There are many private rooms, a wine cellar where wine tastings can be held, and again, meeting spaces for every occasion and time of day! There is a charming brick oven corner located at the heart of the Seten restaurant, from which I have tasted some of the best meat and vegetable skewers seasoned with the taste of burning wood I have ever tasted (and I am from Argentina, so I should know!!). The wine list is short but interesting, and from what I hear growing.
There is also a beautiful terrace to have lunch close to the pool, and the spa has wonderful hamam where you can also get relaxing and reasonably priced massage treatments.
The staff is extremely friendly and the hotel owners also operate a travel agency out of the hotel, as well as a balloon company, which really helps as they can change tickets, provide transportation, tours, etc a truly friendly one stop shopping facility for the experienced tourist. They took very good care of me and this is an item I especially value when traveling on my own.
I definitely recommend this hotel if you have a sophisticated and cultured eye, yet like to let your hair down and put your feet up with a glass of amazingly improved Cappadocian wine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zelmira_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We were pleasantly surprised with Sultan Cave Suites. The room had a TON of aesthetic details, modern plumbing, and comfortable bed/seating. We spent a lot of time just sitting outside on the patio, reading, drinking wine and enjoying the view of the town, Goreme, below. Recommendation: eat at the restaurant downstairs in the hotel! Amazing! There wasn't any posted information about it and I don't know how anyone would know it was there, but the owner told us about it when we checked in and were talking with him. He said the food is all fresh and local and represents a local style of cooking. It's a bit of a splurge compared with picking up a kofte sandwich in town -- but worth it! Only downside of our stay - no AC or fan.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfjtjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Staying at a cave hotel was a kid's dream come true...comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and reasonable price, a mom's dream come true. What better way to experience Cappadocia than among the fairy chimneys and caves. The location was beautiful as we had a bird's eye view of the valley below from the public area terrace. We were redirected to Sultan Cave Suites since Kelebek Cave Hotel was full. Sultan Cave Suites does not have a swimming pool, but we were allowed to use the one at Kelebek, only a quick walk around the corner. Breakfast was Turkish-style and nothing different from most other small hotels in the area. The biggest drawback one might want to be prepared for would be the steep hill leading up/down between the town of Goreme and the hotel. It was a bit of a climb and would be difficult for someone with health/physical issues.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJones70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 77 in Goreme
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £67 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing