We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give a 7-star review if I could!”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I don't know how I can give Sultan Cave Suites anything but a rave review! A huge thanks to hotel owner Mehmet and hotel manager Mustafa for making our stay so memorable.

We originally booked a 2-night stay, but ended up extending it for 2 more nights in this lovely hotel and were so happy that we did. On a whim we upgraded to a more spacious room for our last two nights since a suite became available, but even if we hadn't, the first room we were in would have been plenty spacious for the two of us.

The beds in both rooms were so comfy with a heavy comforter on top, much nicer than the other cave hotels I've stayed in before - although it made it hard to get out of bed for our 5am balloon ride wake-up! Each room even has a working fireplace (although in Sept they are not needed) and was decorated differently from each other with Turkish carpets and decor, all very well done. The bathrooms had nice toiletries, including loofah scrubs, and each day there were new bottles of water for us in the room.

One of my favorite things about the rooms is each of them has its own balcony where you can enjoy your breakfast or a glass of wine, taking in the stunning view of the Red Valley... or watch the stars from like we did. :) We even saw a couple shooting stars!

The hotel also has a very good restaurant called Seten that offers traditional Cappadocian cuisine. The stuffed zucchini flowers are a must. They also offer some really fantastic Turkish wines and many nights have live music. The traditional Turkish breakfast buffet has a little bit of everything you could want - tomatoes, cucumbers, different types of cheese and olives, jams, dried fruit, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, and omelets made on request.

The hospitality of the staff at the hotel and restaurant is top-notch. Mehmet and Mustafa are very knowledgeable on things to do/see in Cappadocia and pointed us in the right direction. We enjoyed a lot of laughs with them, too, and they made us really feel at home at Sultan Cave. Thank you again for such a lovely stay - hope to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candidly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Wow is all I can say about this wonderful hotel! My husband and I prefer boutique hotels of the 4 and 5 star variety and have stayed in them all over the world. This hotel is up there with some of my favorites and while the 90 euro price tag (80 for cash) is at the higher end of accommodation prices in Goreme, what a bargain it is for this kind of hotel!

We tried to book for the Kelebek next door, but it was full so we decided to stay at the sister hotel. I actually like the Sultan Suites more than the Kelebek (although the Kelebek was charming too). We stayed 3 nights and had originally planned to stay in a cave room for 70 euros a night. The room was beautiful, but we fell in love with a different room and stayed there instead. It was simply enormous with king size bed, chaise lounge, chairs and fireplace. The bathroom was excellent.
There is absolutely nothing generic about this place. It is stunningly carved into the mountain with fairy chimneys on top and beautiful courtyards and terraces for relaxing dotted around.

Breakfast was excellent and contrary to a previous review includes hard boiled eggs and omlettes to order. Perhaps this is new though.

Honestly I fell in love with the place the second we arrived and remained enamored to the end.

Oh and it does have its own reception and the staff seemed exceptionally pleasant to me.

The on,y downside I could say is that the pool (located at the Kelebek) was FREEZING as its well water so I guess it stays super cold. There were lots of people around it, but no one actually in it. That's the only negative I can come up with. I kind of want to move in permanently! : )

If it's within budget then simply cannot imagine why you would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobokenkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Was so pleased with this hotel. It was so beautiful and the food was unbelieveable in this wonderful setting. Mustafa, the manager, was very helpful, giving tips on tours and little tidbits about Goreme itself. The location is ideal with one of the best views of the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The rooms are huge, a very safe area, and the staff very eager to please. The hammam is gorgeous and very clean. Take a turkish bath here and not in Istanbul. The pool is refreshing. The staff suggested a day tour of the area with Turkish Heritage tours and although it is something we rarely do, we loved the tour! Very intimate and informative.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank bfs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Our cave hotel room was elegant, romantic and historically exciting. The room was cool, even without air conditioning, in the oppressive heat outside. The bathroom was modern and well appointed. The hotel restaurant, overlooking the town below and the amazing valley beyond, was just beautiful - romantic and also very elegant. Everything was clean and modern. Breakfast buffet was very nice. The numerous stairs to access the restaurant and other areas of the hotel were a challenge in the 114F heat (46C) heat. In the morning, watch the spectacle of dozens of hot air balloons all around. A short walk to town and some fun shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smlhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I must admit that my friend and I were charmed by the idea of staying in a cave hotel, and probably would have stayed anywhere where they promised us a cave. But Sultan Cave Suites provided much more than just staying in a cave. Our room had a private deck that overlooked incredible rock and cave formations. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the hotel immediately accommodated us when we arrived at dawn from an overnight bus. We highly recommend this hotel and believe it was a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTravelingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

If anyone goes to Cappadocia, they should stay in thiscave hotel. We have been showing pictures to our friends of our "cave." The rooms were great. The restaurant was great. The employees were great. The only problem is the volume of the call to prayer in the morning. It was horrendous. It sounded like it was right outside our room and it went on and on about 5am.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pp21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing