We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Bit Of History”

Saruhan Exhibition and Culture Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.89*
and up
Full-Day Cappadocia Tour with Kaymakli Underground City and Traditional Villages
Ranked #7 of 38 things to do in Nevsehir
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal,Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Nice Bit Of History”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped at this caravanserai for about an hour one afternoon during our cycling tour of Cappadocia. I'm not sure if there was an entrance fee in the daytime as there were no whirling dervishes putting on a show. In fact the place was empty while we were there.
But it is certainly fascinating both from the cultural, historic and architectural aspects and gives one a good idea of how things operated on the silk road during the 12-14th centuries. It is truly a beautiful building and I would certainly recommend a visit for anyone touring this area.
My only regret is that I didn't get to see a few minutes of whirling dervishes. On the other hand we did get to see the place during daytime which I believe adds to the visual impact.
Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    5
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Whirling Derviches Ceremony at this place!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Whirling Derviches Ceremony is allowed to be seen at Saruhan Carevanserai (with admission fee). It's a beautiful and historical place with an outstanding ceremony (It's not a show!). Tickets were bought by Freelance Travel Agency (includ round trip transportation). Ask them by website.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique experience at Turkey. Do not miss it!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Some reviews noted that it was a boring presentation. If you do not challenge yourself to get introduced to a different cultural experience, certainly it will be just a boring one hour session of big men dancing in circles. But if you are open to new cultural traits, just be there and listen and watch carefully each detail. The music played live, unplugged. The dancers entering with majestic posture. The older man saluting their ancestors with prayers. No photos allowed during the ceremony. This is the unique experience to get introduced to an old Turkish tradition. Do not miss it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmersonPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An experience we're glad we didn't miss- dervish ceremony”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were told by our hotelier that this was the only near-authentic ceremony in the Cappadocia area if we wanted to see whirling dervishes whilst in the area. We were interested in Sufism and unlikely to see the ceremony in the town of origin so were keen top view this.We found a taxi would take us there and wait to return us to the hotel in Urgup, and we made a booking.We realised that the 'real thing' was far longer and performed annually by devotees, but despite tourists seated around them, it seemed this was a genuine act of worship from these Dervishes, and we felt it was a privilege to watch. If you're looking for an entertainment or 'show' this will not be for you - imagine taking seats for a Christian service, taking photos and expecting entertainment! They did allow a photo opportunity at the end in deference to tourist expectations, but tourists complaining about not being allowed to photograph throughout were simply disrespectful. There was a leaflet that explained the rituals, the lights were dimmed and I found the dance hypnotic and absorbing; my partner was similarly moved. This is not an 'attraction' like a museum or visiting the underground caves, and what you get out of it is tied up with your expectations. For us it was an experience we were glad not to have missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
304 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“13th century caravanserai - visit for the whirling dervish ceremony”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We almost didn't visit this attraction but are glad we did. This is a well-preserved caravanserai, built in 1249. It is a ten minute drive from Urgup in Cappadocia. The caravanserai is worth a visit, if you are interested in Silk Road history, but it is really, really worthwhile if you attend for the Whirling Dervish ceremony. It is smaller than the ceremony you'd see in Konya or Istanbul (but same length of time) but it is in a smaller, more intimate setting, and is very well done. With the darkened room and the haunting music and the dancers it is a moving experience. After the ceremony they allow photographs (they do a bit more dancing, etc.) then there is an audiovisual show in the open part of the caravanserai (some will find it interesting and some will find it a bit "cheezy." There is a small gift shop.

Tip: sit opposite the musicians...you'll have a good view of everything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saruhan Exhibition and Culture Center also viewed

Nevsehir, Nevsehir Province
Nevsehir, Nevsehir Province
 
Nevsehir, Nevsehir Province
Nevsehir, Nevsehir Province
 

Been to Saruhan Exhibition and Culture Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing