We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality! Great assistance!”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality! Great assistance!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The best thing in Hezen Cave is its managers Nil, Gokhan and Mehmet. all of them are very helpful. But we certainly must write some words about Nil in particular. Even before we get to Cappadocia from Brazil, she was extremelly helpful and kind in helping us to plan our activities in that amazing region when we talked through e-mail.
When we arrived in Hezen Cave, she offered us a beautiful "cave room"! And she also provided us complete information on how to explore Cappadocia, including detailed explanations about routes and must-seen places.
Breakfast was excellent too! We spent three unforgettable days in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humbertogalizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave.
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
P.S. Greatings from Nil, Mehmet and Gokhan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
225
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at the Hezen Cave Hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was incredibly gracious and helpful. Nil was so indispensable in arranging for a driver to take us around. With Nil providing the directions as to where to go, we were able to save money not needing a guide. We did obtain some guides at the site specifically when needed. She recommended a wonderful upstart restaurant Muti. A wonderful blend of Turkish and European cuisine. The owner of the Hotel, Mr. Murat (forgive if I misspell) owns a textile shop in Urgup which carries a wonderful selections of new and old carpets/kilims. He, in particular, specializes in suzanis. The prices were truly fair as he gives additional discounts to the hotel guests. He is also a famous singer and performed for us during our visit to the shop which was truly a rare treat. Our experience in Cappodiccia will forever stays with us and our stay at the Hezen made it so much more special. Thank you everyone at the Hezen. We miss you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to see that you had a memorable experience in Cappadocia! We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
All the best wishes from Hezen!
Hakan Guzelgoz (son of Murat :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! The staff we super friendly and made us feel very welcome....almost like part of the 'family'. Everyone was friendly and the slice we superb!! This is definitely where you should stay if visiting cappadochia!! A true gem in a small, quaint town!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite, #5, but nev used the sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boxwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments! We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and really hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The people at the Hezen Cave Hotel take the work out of planning what to see while in Cappadocia. Every day we sat with the manager and he made suggestions as to what to see - based on the length of our visit. We did not miss anything we wanted to see. They even make getting around easy; they offered a taxi for which they had a negotiated flat rate for the day including gas and the driver. I did not want to attempt to read road signs and drive in Turkey. Very little is in English and the language is not easy to decipher. Our driver (Bashir ?) was fabulous. He was our driver for each of the 3 1/2 days we were there. We were able to communicate with him and he knew every place to take us for photos and to see the sights. He was exactly what we needed and wanted. He also brought us to great places for lunch in Goreme. We had the best time in Cappadocia. I am not sure we could have done half as well without the assistance of the hotel and the driver.

The hotel is in a nice peaceful town while Urgup and Goreme are bustling. The hotel offers a nice view of the area including a tall castle-like rock formation typical of Cappadocia. Breakfast outside was pleasant when the weather permitted. They do not serve lunch or dinner but cabs are easy and they arrive quickly; a cab to Urgup in the evening was about $20TL plus tip, and the drivers give you a card for the restaurant to call them for the return.

The people at the hotel exemplify the infamous Turkish hospitality. They tell you to make ourselves at home. They are very helpful and interested in your visit. We sat with them every morning to discuss our plans for the daty and every afternoon when we returned to make plans for dinner.

As promised the rooms are caves; our room had two small windows. Staying in a cave is part of the experience of visiting Cappadocia as that is how the people in that area lived for centuries While there is no light the darkness was conducive to sleeping later, which we enjoyed. I should note the rooms are not conducive to reading or spending time there during the day and it can at times feel like you are in a basement. There are tables outside and in the dining area where we sat on our last day and wrote postcards.

Some visitors to Turkey consider buying rugs required activity. If that is on your agenda the owner of the hotel owns a rug shop in Urgup and his brother an antique store. We had a wonderful time with both men.

Another review noted the rooms had no televisions. Ours did. News was even available in English.

Room Tip: Ask about lamps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for this detailed review - your feedbacks are very valuable to us.
We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your journey in Cappadocia and we really hope to see you again at Hezen Cave.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wonderful experience. Very intimate and luxurious feel. The staff was very friendly and spoke fantastic English. The breakfast was unbelievable. I would recommend this place and would return myself if I am fortunate to come back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level have a better view of Ortahisar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Daniel,
Thank you for your great comments. We really hope you can come to Cappadocia in the near future.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights and left wishing we had stayed an additional night or two. The hotel is beautifully built on the side of a hill and is impeccably decorated. it's classy but cheerful and should suit everyone's taste while staying true to Turkish heritage. We heard it was designed by a famous interior decorator. The staff are very helpful and give an honest local's input on what's worth seeing, what's not, where you should go with a guide, which you should skip. They also provided great conversation during our stay there.

The best part of the hotel is its distance away from the Capadoccia crowds. It's nestled in a small town a short ride away from Goreme and at night it's completely serene and I woke up to birds chirping in the morning. If you are looking for something noisier and crowded, this wouldn't be the place for you but if you are traveling to Capadoccia from Istanbul, you will certainly need some peace and quiet, and this would absolutely be the place for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to see you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at this luxurious cave hotel in March 2012 and absolutely loved it! When we arrived late evening, the night manager told us we should feel like we were staying at home, showing us how to access even the kitchen if we wanted to! The decor is light, bright, airy, and very tastefully done. The beds were super comfortable and provided everything you would need. If there is anything missing, though, the staff is wonderful and ready to help with anything. There are free laundry facilities available for you to do your own laundry, which is a great PLUS since into our second week of travel, it was time to do some washing. Daily breakfast was provided, with various fresh pastry items handmade daily. Nil was excellent in assisting us in arranging day trip plans, restaurant reservations in town, and transportation. The only downside we found was that while WiFi is provided free of charge, it did not work most of the time we were there. However, I believe that was only a temporary problem that they were working on rectifying. Also, the hotel is not very near the core of town, so you do need transportation to/from the hotel to most anything. But this is a minor inconvenience since a taxi isn't that expensive and can be summoned quickly. Note that the rooms have no televisions (but that was fine with us). They seem to really enjoy helping you to have the greatest experience while in Cappadocia--true Turkish hospitality. We highly recommend this superb hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoboxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hezen Cave. We were very pleased to having you at the opening days of our 2012 season.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the WiFi that happened during your stay in March - the ADSL phone line was damaged due to heavy snow in early March but we have renewed the entire infrastructure and the WiFi is back on track and Fast as before!
Ortahisar village is at 3 miles from Goreme and 5 miles from Urgup town. Following your feedback, we have just started a new Free shuttle service to and from Goreme and Urgup to bring our guests to nearby restaurants. We care very much about your precious feedbacks and try to improve our guests stay in Cappadocia.
We look forward to seeing you again in Cappadocia!
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
3.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing