We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hezen Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosil Cave Hotel(Ortahisar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elika Cave Suites(Ortahisar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tafoni Houses(Ortahisar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
496
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeysuperior suitebeautiful hotelour honeymoonamazing servicehelped us plannight managerortahisar castlestandard roomhotel staffsmall hotelturkish bathtaxiterraceurgupcavelaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hezen Cave Hotel is a special place, not only because it's built into a cave (which is pretty amazing) or because it's beautifully decorated, or even because the view is astounding. Hezen is particularly special because the people who own and work at the hotel take a personal interest in their guests and go out of their way to ensure a memorable experience. Before we even arrived in Cappadocia, I was emailing with Nil, one of the front desk managers. She assisted me with everything from itinerary planning to a tour guide recommendation to a hot air balloon ride. When we arrived, she arranged for us to rent a car from a local businessman who was so kind that he rode an hour to the airport with us our final day so that we could get a full day's use of the vehicle and avoid paying for a shuttle to the airport! When you stay at Hezen - and you truly MUST if you'll be in the area - please be sure to visit the Museum of Carpets and Textiles in Urgup. Hezen's owner is the proprietor of the museum/shop, and textiles truly are his passion. He wants to educate - you will not feel pressured to purchase, though you're likely to fall in love with something while you're there. Be sure to ask him to play his suz for you - he is truly an accomplished musician, and it's an experience you'll never forget. He and his wife are such warm people - we only wish we'd visited on our first day. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Christy,
Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are very pleased to see that you had a memorable journey in Cappadocia. We look forward to see you back at Hezen Cave.
P.S. My dad (Murat) would be very happy to play his Saz instrument and enjoy musical moments with you J.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The best thing in Hezen Cave is its managers Nil, Gokhan and Mehmet. all of them are very helpful. But we certainly must write some words about Nil in particular. Even before we get to Cappadocia from Brazil, she was extremelly helpful and kind in helping us to plan our activities in that amazing region when we talked through e-mail.
When we arrived in Hezen Cave, she offered us a beautiful "cave room"! And she also provided us complete information on how to explore Cappadocia, including detailed explanations about routes and must-seen places.
Breakfast was excellent too! We spent three unforgettable days in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humbertogalizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave.
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
P.S. Greatings from Nil, Mehmet and Gokhan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at the Hezen Cave Hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was incredibly gracious and helpful. Nil was so indispensable in arranging for a driver to take us around. With Nil providing the directions as to where to go, we were able to save money not needing a guide. We did obtain some guides at the site specifically when needed. She recommended a wonderful upstart restaurant Muti. A wonderful blend of Turkish and European cuisine. The owner of the Hotel, Mr. Murat (forgive if I misspell) owns a textile shop in Urgup which carries a wonderful selections of new and old carpets/kilims. He, in particular, specializes in suzanis. The prices were truly fair as he gives additional discounts to the hotel guests. He is also a famous singer and performed for us during our visit to the shop which was truly a rare treat. Our experience in Cappodiccia will forever stays with us and our stay at the Hezen made it so much more special. Thank you everyone at the Hezen. We miss you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to see that you had a memorable experience in Cappadocia! We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
All the best wishes from Hezen!
Hakan Guzelgoz (son of Murat :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! The staff we super friendly and made us feel very welcome....almost like part of the 'family'. Everyone was friendly and the slice we superb!! This is definitely where you should stay if visiting cappadochia!! A true gem in a small, quaint town!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite, #5, but nev used the sitting room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boxwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you very much for your great comments! We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and really hope to see you again in Cappadocia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The people at the Hezen Cave Hotel take the work out of planning what to see while in Cappadocia. Every day we sat with the manager and he made suggestions as to what to see - based on the length of our visit. We did not miss anything we wanted to see. They even make getting around easy; they offered a taxi for which they had a negotiated flat rate for the day including gas and the driver. I did not want to attempt to read road signs and drive in Turkey. Very little is in English and the language is not easy to decipher. Our driver (Bashir ?) was fabulous. He was our driver for each of the 3 1/2 days we were there. We were able to communicate with him and he knew every place to take us for photos and to see the sights. He was exactly what we needed and wanted. He also brought us to great places for lunch in Goreme. We had the best time in Cappadocia. I am not sure we could have done half as well without the assistance of the hotel and the driver.

The hotel is in a nice peaceful town while Urgup and Goreme are bustling. The hotel offers a nice view of the area including a tall castle-like rock formation typical of Cappadocia. Breakfast outside was pleasant when the weather permitted. They do not serve lunch or dinner but cabs are easy and they arrive quickly; a cab to Urgup in the evening was about $20TL plus tip, and the drivers give you a card for the restaurant to call them for the return.

The people at the hotel exemplify the infamous Turkish hospitality. They tell you to make ourselves at home. They are very helpful and interested in your visit. We sat with them every morning to discuss our plans for the daty and every afternoon when we returned to make plans for dinner.

As promised the rooms are caves; our room had two small windows. Staying in a cave is part of the experience of visiting Cappadocia as that is how the people in that area lived for centuries While there is no light the darkness was conducive to sleeping later, which we enjoyed. I should note the rooms are not conducive to reading or spending time there during the day and it can at times feel like you are in a basement. There are tables outside and in the dining area where we sat on our last day and wrote postcards.

Some visitors to Turkey consider buying rugs required activity. If that is on your agenda the owner of the hotel owns a rug shop in Urgup and his brother an antique store. We had a wonderful time with both men.

Another review noted the rooms had no televisions. Ours did. News was even available in English.

Room Tip: Ask about lamps.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrianNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you very much for this detailed review - your feedbacks are very valuable to us.
We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your journey in Cappadocia and we really hope to see you again at Hezen Cave.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews