We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Great hotel in general. Only 10 rooms, all unique. The architecture and decor are perfect for the setting. Great patios to sit or have a drink all around. All in all a great overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RALW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave. Best regards - Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
219
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Based on previous reviews, we selected the Hezen Cave Hotel for our three day visit to Cappadocia. Given how small it is (9-10 guest rooms), I figured it would be acceptable but could hardly imagine that it would meet the standards portrayed in the prior over-the-top reviews. I was wrong. It really is "the best" as one reviewer wrote. In contrast to some of the other cave hotels, Hezen Cave Hotel's rooms are bright and large. Our room (actually two rooms) had a flat screen TV, a charming design, and a safe so you don't have to carry your passport around with you. The hotel also had wireless internet access, although possibly because we were well below the reception area, the wireless in our room didn't work so we would sit outside on the veranda at the end of the day, surrounded by a breathtaking view, working wirelessly while watching the swallows fly and listening to the calls to prayer issued from the local minarets. The breakfasts each morning were great. Best of all was the staff who did whatever was necessary to attend to the needs of the guests. They were competent, welcoming, and looking to fulfill any wish you might have. Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank st4elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you very much for you detailed review and for recommending Hezen Cave. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia! Best wishes from all of us at Hezen Cave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urgup, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Hotel staffs are extremely kind and helpful. I am most satisfied with this hotel compared to any of the hotels that I have been to(I have been traveling for like 2 months now). Good breakfast, good location and great service:) Surely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback - we've all appreciated it! Please do not hesitate to contact us when you come back to Cappadocia. Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

For the absolute best Hotel experience in Cappadocia Hezen Cave Hotel is it. The decor is so stylish-contemporary Turkish with a vintage flavour. Nils is without doubt the Yoda of all your needs, both tourist and culinary- an absolute gem- and within moments of meeting her she is your new best friend. The breakfast is superb with freshly squeezed juice,fresh fruits, home baked cakes and pastries,every variety of egg delight and a large array of traditional local meats, cheeses and dried fruits. The rooms are spacious cool and stylish caves and the choice of alfresco relaxation areas varies from beautiful terraces to a moroccan style pavilion. The whole Hezen experience is joyous and will long be remembered!! Thankyou to Nils and all the Hezen Staff.

Room Tip: They are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trinasemmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you very much for this great review! We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave - and please come back again to Cappadocia in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel is located away from the bustle and tourist shops of Goreme, which is nice, but required a 40 TL round trip by taxi to the nearest restaurant. We were so tired after a day of running through the wonders of Cappadocia, that we ended up staying at the hotel and dining on cheese and bread from breakfast while sitting on the beautiful terrace of the hotel and enjoying a bottle of their nice wine. We loved the hotel, which is attractively decorated, and the beautiful terrace view of the town and the medieval castle down the hillside. The staff is very accomodating. We were told that the hotel just downhill from ours does serve dinner and that the Hezen plans to add dinner service in 2013.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dmstpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay and the local wine at Hezen Cave. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hezen Cave Hotel is a special place, not only because it's built into a cave (which is pretty amazing) or because it's beautifully decorated, or even because the view is astounding. Hezen is particularly special because the people who own and work at the hotel take a personal interest in their guests and go out of their way to ensure a memorable experience. Before we even arrived in Cappadocia, I was emailing with Nil, one of the front desk managers. She assisted me with everything from itinerary planning to a tour guide recommendation to a hot air balloon ride. When we arrived, she arranged for us to rent a car from a local businessman who was so kind that he rode an hour to the airport with us our final day so that we could get a full day's use of the vehicle and avoid paying for a shuttle to the airport! When you stay at Hezen - and you truly MUST if you'll be in the area - please be sure to visit the Museum of Carpets and Textiles in Urgup. Hezen's owner is the proprietor of the museum/shop, and textiles truly are his passion. He wants to educate - you will not feel pressured to purchase, though you're likely to fall in love with something while you're there. Be sure to ask him to play his suz for you - he is truly an accomplished musician, and it's an experience you'll never forget. He and his wife are such warm people - we only wish we'd visited on our first day. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Christy,
Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are very pleased to see that you had a memorable journey in Cappadocia. We look forward to see you back at Hezen Cave.
P.S. My dad (Murat) would be very happy to play his Saz instrument and enjoy musical moments with you J.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The best thing in Hezen Cave is its managers Nil, Gokhan and Mehmet. all of them are very helpful. But we certainly must write some words about Nil in particular. Even before we get to Cappadocia from Brazil, she was extremelly helpful and kind in helping us to plan our activities in that amazing region when we talked through e-mail.
When we arrived in Hezen Cave, she offered us a beautiful "cave room"! And she also provided us complete information on how to explore Cappadocia, including detailed explanations about routes and must-seen places.
Breakfast was excellent too! We spent three unforgettable days in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humbertogalizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave.
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
P.S. Greatings from Nil, Mehmet and Gokhan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#6 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.4 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing