We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I just returned from a one-month trip to Turkey. We stayed in approximately 12 hotels, and this was our best experience.

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The highlights are the common areas, the service, and the general ambience.

The common areas, including multiple terraces, dining room and lobby create a peaceful, private environment. Because there are only 11 rooms, there is always a place to sit, a cushion to lean up against, a nook to find just to relax. This is a great hotel to relax at as well as a base for your exploration of Cappadocica. It is so peaceful, in fact, that you could spend a day just lounging at the hotel, catching up on email, reading, etc, and have a very nice vacation day.

The service is the finest I encountered during our month, and we are picky. Every single member of the staff is smart, well-groomed, polite and extremely willing to help. The service feels sincere and authentic -- they really want you to enjoy yourself. Sometimes the service at boutique hotels can be a bit off, either because the management is not well trained or the owners are smothering, but the service here was really natural and easygoing, while still being efficent.

The ambience is unique. Because of the handsome stone architecture of the hotel, and the ancient feeling backdrop of the village or Ortahizar, there is a bit of a spiritual, ancient feel to the place. Relaxing on one of the terraces at night, one is struck by the beauty of the shimmering lights from the village, and even the sounds and music of the village -- a prayer call, a wedding party -- give the whole place the feeling of being both vibrant and frozen in time. It had a magical quality for me. (And I can be quite a cynic!)

As far as practical advice: this is an authentic cave hotel. Your room will be an actual cave that was formerly a dwelling. For me, I really enjoyed this aspect -- it gave me an appreciation for the history and real life of cave dwellers in the region. However -- the room is dark, slightly damp and cool. I enjoyed the experience, but you should understand that this is not quite the same as staying in a modern hotel room with acir conditioning, big windows, black out shades, etc.

If I returned to Cappadocia, I would definitely stay in this hotel again, and I would feel comfortable reccomending it to anyone who travels to the region. I also found it worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Jamie,
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed the experience and your journey in Cappadocia. Hezen Cave is located in the beautiful village of Ortahisar (between Urgup and Uchisar - at 2 miles from Goreme). While centrally located to most sights, our guest may also experience staying in an authentic Cappadocian village.
We hope to see you again among us.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
227
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I loved the Hezen Cave Hotel! The hotel itself is beautiful and the views from the terrace are stunning. Our room was super clean and so cute! The staff there went out of their way to make our stay great...they gave us better directions than our car's GPS to get there, arranged dinner plans for us upon our arrival (the organic restaurant around the corner was so good we ate there both nights - get the little meatballs they are amazing), hooked us up with a great hot air balloon company, and took the time to give us a full range of ideas of what to do in Cappadocia along with whatever directions we needed. The staff are very warm and helpful...I felt like I was at someone's house! And the breakfast was soooo good! I highly recommend Hezen Cave Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much for this great review. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your journey in Cappadocia as well as you stay at Hezen Cave Hotel.
We look forward to see you again at Hezen!
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Hotel is what youre looking for if you want to have the experience of staying in a cave

Also the people at the desk, especially Nil, are great to advice on what to do while you're there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay in our Cave hotel. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at The Hezen Cave last week and we were totally astounded by the simple beauty of the hotel and the surroundings. That coupled with the courteous and helpful staff who went out of their way to arrange sightseeing, transport etc for us. I have to mention the chefs Olive foccacio bread which left our mouths watrering. Never had such delicious bread anywhere.
If you stay at the Hezen pl make sure you have their Olive bread.
Mahrru

Room Tip: Choose a room with the small balconies attached. You will love to sit there enjoying the sunset with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahrru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed Hezen Cave Hotel and the homemade Olive Foccacio bread J..
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in Hezen Cave Hotel for 2 nights while visiting Cappadocia. It was the perfect hotel. Friendly staff that are willing to help you with anything, clean and spacious rooms, great view and a fantastic view from the terrace. We will definitely return and we also recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much for your great feedback and recommending Hezen to your friends. We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay and really hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It's location is ideal for a visit to Capadoccia. I arrived with a group of five. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. The rooms are beautifully decorated but there are not views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Brenda,
Thank you very much for you feedback. We hope to see you again at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hezen Cave Hotel immensely. It is a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff and we did not feel like leaving. The rooms were amazing and very comfortable, the sitting areas outside, the dining area and the reception are done up extremely well and allow you to enjoy the beauty of Cappadocia. In fact, we did not feel like leaving the hotel to go sightseeing at all. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent as were the boxes packed for us the day we were to leave as we had an early morning flight.

The personal touches by Nil, Mehmet and the rest of the staff is what stands out and makes ones stay at Hezen Caves so enjoyable. We had some lovely conversations with Mehmet and Nil helped us in planning our itinerary for 2 days and suggested the best sites, where to take a guide and some excellent places to eat. A special thanks to Nil for recommending the Istanbul Philharmonic concert at the Zelve Open Air Museum which was absolutely spell binding.

We will definitely be planning another trip to Turkey and to Cappadocia and would not consider staying anywhere else but at Hezen Caves.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saachi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave. On behalf of all staff, we wish you all the best.
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.5 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,025 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
345 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing