We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Incredibly welcoming and accommodating from when we first arrived. Service was excellent, food was tasty and reasonably priced. Lots of complimentary goods. Cosy rooms true to cave style. The managers were incredibly helpful in arranging hot air ballooning and other activities in the local area. WiFi was slightly patchy around the hotel and I understand is currently being worked on. It is a small, family establishment which adds to character, but it is not a flash, expensive hotel so be aware of that when you're booking. The town of Ortahisar offers a few eating/drinking spots but is pretty quiet. Entertainment is nearby in other towns however. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
227
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and two friends stayed for just one night last week - I wish I could have stayed forever!
This hotel is simply amazing - beautifully decorated and incredibly situated opposite Ortahisar castle, it provides a true boutique hotel experience, from the very first communication in making a reservation, through to departure. There are a myriad of individually decorated little terraces scattered around the property from which to take in the spectacular views...I spent half my time terrace-hopping, just to take it all in! My room (a superior) was beautiful - when I woke in the morning and threw back the curtains I was awe-struck by the vista in front of me...two hot air balloons bobbing around between me and the Castle...all within 100 metres of my window.
But the best part? The service - possibly the best hospitality and personalised service I have received anywhere. The staff are simply wonderful.
Everyone at Hezen Cave Hotel must be congratulated on the accommodation they have created and the experience they provide - it is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at hezen for four nights. Every manager was super helpful with organizing all our adventures, but we especially enjoyed Nil. All staff were always available for Questiins and checking if we need anything, with no interest in tips. In addition to the delicious included breakfast, they offer free hot drinks and OJ all day. They drove me to town to change money when I needed. But the topper is the amazing cave facilities and sweeping views of the village and castle. The village is small and fun to explore but within 10 to 15 minutes of larger towns nearby. My daughter is 8 and thought the cave rooms, ballooning and underground city were magical.
As we toured around locals would ask where we were staying and when we replied Hezen they said "ah you are lucky that is the best hotel in cappadicia!!". We agree!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerrollert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Value -- price reflects the fact you're in a clean, inviting, and very well-staffed boutique location in the heart of Cappadocia. You *can* get a good rate here.

Location, location, location -- slightly off the beaten path; best to rent a car and even then, GPS is unreliable in the Ürgüp/Ortahisar area.

Rooms -- cavernous (if you’ll excuse the pun), but warm and well-lit.

Amenities -- they offer guests a fine homemade breakfast (full range of eggs, bread, grains, cereal, fruit, juice and yoghurt) and access to a well-stocked on-your-honor bar. The staff speaks excellent English and Nil (the reservation manager) is extremely helpful in calling ahead to local restaurants, booking balloon rides, and drawing maps of the historic sites/local geography.

Cleanliness -- very good job cleaning daily.

Beds -- not too springy but still good.

Guests -- a lot of couples, students, a few young families, Americans, Brits, and Europeans; what you'd expect.

BOTTOM LINE ASSESSMENT: it's a great place to stay and provided you have transport taken care of, you'll like it too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George_StayedHere_B4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our family spent three nights at the Hezen Cave Hotel. It was top notch in decor, service and cleanliness. We are often nervous to stay in small, privately owned hotels outside of the US as you're never certain what you'll end up with - and we were more than pleased at Hezen. Our rooms were gorgeous, the breakfasts were delicious, that staff was always on hand and no request went unfulfilled. We spent hours exploring Cappadocia and hours sitting in the breakfast room and on the patio at the hotel relaxing and enjoying the beauty.

p.s. If you make it there, I highly recommend walking across the little valley and hiking to the tip-top of the cave castle across the way. The views and beauty were a highlight of the trip for my 13 year old son and for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Wow! This is a neat place. Did you ever stay somewhere where the staff was just looking for nice things to do for you? Everyone was so pleasant, helpful and professional. Breakfasts were great. There were new tempting treats daily baked by the staff. Located away from the busiest tourist areas, but it was easy to get around by taxi. The local castle that you look at every day from the hotel is worth the 15 minute walk and the climb to the top. There is a great local restaurant within a few minuets walk and many others a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runecSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave. We look forward to seeing you again in Cappadocia.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We loved this hotel! The property is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The cave setting and rooms are lovely and most importantly the staff are wonderfully friendly and attentive. It is not in a major town/village so plan on taking a taxi or driving into town for dinner, which turned out to be very easy. Help yourself to the wine and let them know what you had. The "on-your-honour-system" adds to the friendly, quaint appeal of this place. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to go back and relax again. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb4ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for your these beautiful pictures and great feedback! We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
2.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing