We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Went on honeymoon to the beautiful town. Was skeptic about the high price they were charging, but it was totally worth it. A small hotel with 14 rooms/suites, but with super cooperative staffs. Nil and the entire team made our trip special. The cave suite was just perfect for a young couple like us, and the boys were always available at our service. The managers were so helpful in telling us about the place that we managed to rent a car to see the town on our own. We were driving in a different country for the first time. They used to provide us cars to travel short distances, made bookings of adventures for us and even packed us a lunch box without us asking for it during check out. Could not complain about the high room tariffs while paying up.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KediaPnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We really are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
219
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our visit to Cappadocia. How many people can say they slept in a cave hotel?? It was one of the most memorial parts of our trip to Turkey.

The rooms are simple but quiet, clean, and comfortable. The temperature is in the high 60s year-round in the caves, which makes for good sleep. The staff was welcoming and helpful- they stored our luggage for the day and recommended a nearby restaurant and provided walking directions.
The hotel is decorated very cute and looks just like the photos.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved it. The end.

Actually, no, not the end. These folks deserve a detailed and glowing review.

The hotel is in a small town, Ortahisar, very close to Goreme Village and Urgup town, the main tourist drags. Ortahisar also has some hotels, but way less so if you prefer a quieter, less touristy location, this is where you should be. It is close enough to everything else that it's not a problem. The hotel will arrange a taxi any time you need one, and usually the taxi driver will give you his card and come pick you up when you're ready to return.

First and foremost, the service. Informal and impeccable. The hotel only has 10 rooms, but 3 managers. One manager is always on duty. Mehmet, Nil and Gyokan were always incredibly helpful and every time we walked into the beautiful reception area we would be offered a drink and assistance with anything we needed. All the folks who work at the hotel, in addition to the managers, are lovely and helpful people. The hotel works on an honor system, so you can grab a beer or wine, and then tell them at the end of your trip what you had.

This is also the case if you want to have dinner at the restaurant down the street or need to take a taxi somewhere - if you don't have the money on you, you can take care of it later at the hotel.

The rooms are, indeed, carved out of the stone of the hill. They are spacious, clean, and very tastefully decorated, with a nice eye to detail. Comfortable bed, and the only thing you'll hear during the early morning is the muezzin's call to prayer.

The view from the hotel is stunning. The terrace faces the village and a rock peak all carved out with former dwellings. My dad and I had breakfast on the terrace every morning, enjoying the view and the cool morning weather. The breakfast buffer includes just about every kind of food. Yogurt, olives, cheeses, cereal, dried and fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and of course, an omelet menu. In fact, on our last morning we chose to hang out on the terrace and read while waiting for our airport shuttle. It was peaceful and relaxing.

Both my dad and I loved this place. We take a trip together every year because we live in different continents, and it is important to enjoy every aspect of the trip. This, this was worth every minute. The area is really interesting, the people are lovely, and this hotel is spectacular.

Go here. Stay 3 full days to explore the area (I recommend the tours, they are informative and you will get to walk a lot so you're not stuck on a bus the whole time), maybe even stay an extra morning to enjoy the hotel and chill.

Please note that there are a lot of stairs here, as in many other such hotels in the area. If you have mobility issues, I recommend contacting the hotel ahead of time regarding handicapped access, which does not seem to really be a priority in Turkey in general. However, the hotel is very accommodating so it is quite likely they have arrangements for disabled access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, co
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here last week for 2 nights. Had a deluxe room with a King and a separate room with 2 beds for our kids. Simply spectacular. Great service, really helpful staff. The breakfast was sumptuous and the deck/view was stunning. Yes, it's really built into a cave. Check it out--you won't be sorry! Don't forget to take the balloon ride!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyEagle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

After receiving a complimentary upgrade, my girlfriend and I settled into our comfortable chairs on a gorgeous back patio with a picturesque view where Nil patiently helped us organize our trip through breathless Cappodocia. With her insight and help, we had an absolutely splendid trip exploring the wonderful caves and landscapes throughout this region. However, I must admit, even as someone who loves to travel, I readily enjoyed coming back to this hotel for its views, service, delicious appertifs, and wine. One of my favorite hotels in the world. I certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We would like to thank the whole team for the great service. We go to Hezen every year and literally fall in love with the place again and again. Special thanks to NIL, MEHMET, GOKHAN, HASAN, AHMET, YUNUS, FATIH, AYSEGUL, NAZLI and all of the other great team members which makes Hezen a place like home. Hope to see you all next year again. Love Serap & Kemal xoxoxo

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sera Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel exceeded all of our expectations. It is in a small town and faces one of the rock castles on the far hill. The lobby, exterior and rooms are all absolutely gorgeous. We had a family suite with the best shower/hammam we have ever experienced. The staff is very well trained and friendly. We would have been happy never leaving the hotel but there is SO much to see in Kapadokya.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#6 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.4 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing