We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Tafoni Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tafoni Houses
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very nice, cool and groovy designed, perfectly located, tasteful and clean.Delicious breakfast. Had a great time with my husband and daughter. Very cool rooms, comfortable bed. Large luxurious bathroom with a jacuzzi. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sibel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Tafoni Evleri this year on a vacation to turkey and it was the best hotel we found on our travels. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were fantastic and the meals in the gardens at night were really amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My friend and I recently travelled to different parts in Turkey, and even though all the hotels we stayed were clean, safe and comfortable, Tafoni Evleri was hands down, the best one of them. Our delightful room included bathrobes, slippers, hair dryer, toiletries, and a safe deposit box. The breakfast is very complete, you will taste natural orange juice, fresh fruit and vegetables, your choice of eggs as well as tea and coffee. But the best part was the Turkish hospitality we got to experience. Our hosts were graceful, helpful and very nice. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights at the back end of a 2-week trip to France and Turkey and found Tafoni to be wonderful. The service was the best we had on our trip, it was very scenic, and the room was spacious and comfortably accommodated my wife and I and our two children (8 and 11 years old). My wife also has Celiac Disease and struggled to find gluten-free food in Turkey, but the staff at Tafoni went the extra effort to prepare food that she could eat. We would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nest room with two floors and was very comfortable. King-sized bed on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamC946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This lovely hotel in the delightful town of Ortihisar was great in every way. The rooms all individually decorated & named along with a description about what the room had been preivously used for. Service was very good at all times as was the food. If you want to stay in a cave hotel in Cappadocia I would highly recommend this one - excellent value compared to some others offered in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

What a unique experience this delightful hotel was. Our small tour group all had differently designed rooms according to how the rock/cave was cleverly utilised when built. The rooms were large and luxurious,the food excellent, the service great and the staff very helpful.Lots of little touches( like a welcome drink of home made lemonade after a long trip) made it a most enjoyable stay. It was the best place we stayed in throughout Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel was a wonderful surprise at the end of a long days travel. A luxurious experience at a truly unique hotel. The friendly helpful staff helped to make this a special experience and nothing was too much trouble for them. A special memory from our holiday in Turkey.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bilandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
333 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 71 in Urgup
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel Cappadocia
The House Hotel Cappadocia
#7 of 17 in Ortahisar
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tafoni Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafoni Houses

Address: Eski Mahalle Ortahisar Urgup, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range: £107 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tafoni Houses 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PROPERTY With its unique location in Ortahisar Village, literally meaning Middle Fortress, Tafoni Houses offers the discerning traveler convenience of being minutes away from major sites as well as proposing an ambience of seclusion and tranquility. Having thirteen spacious suites that are hosted in ancient cave dwellings, accommodation at Tafoni Houses expresses finess and elegance accessorized by objets d’art and art deco furniture. With its spacious outdoor terraces and lush landscaping, Tafoni Houses offers the aura of a private club where guests can enjoy socially inviting ambiences, or else, they may prefer to disappear for an intimate getaway. Whether the call is for a relaxing massage treatment in your cave or a sip of cocktail while watching the starlit skies with vintage telescopes, at Tafoni Houses you will “Unveil Il Canto di Cappadocia”. Surroundings As soon as the sun rises, upon hearing the ballads of chanting sparrows and hoopoes, you will feel that at Tafoni Houses you are at a fabled place…immersed in an enchanting ambience of pastoral life located in the midst of cave homes of local villagers. Taking a morning hike through the narrow streets and alleys of Ortahisar Village, as a gesture of traditional hospitality, you will be invited into homes of locals that will greet you with warm smiles offering you a glass of home-made lemonade or a slice of halva. Embraced by Greco-Mediterranean stone-built houses, you will be exposed to a non-commercialized, authentic ambience of daily life of the indigenous people that may walk by you with their mules, or flocks of sheep and cattle. If you prefer to walk across from Tafoni Houses, you will reach the view point that has one of the most stunning panoramas of Cappadocia embellished by picturesque rock formations, and surrounding valleys hosting vineyards and fruit orchards. For hikers, bikers and equestrians…surrounding valleys of Tafoni offers breath taking tracks. We invite you to come and experience an amazing ambience of “Undiscovered Cappadocia”. Amenities In Cappadocia time seems to flow with more eloquence. At Tafoni Houses that you will live joyous moments in style enhanced by hospitality of our passionate staff. After spending days of touring exploring the treasures of Cappadocia, you can return to your room to enjoy relaxing moments by immaculate treatments of our masseur. In the late afternoon you are invited to join us at Hookah Terrace to experience smoking the famed tobacco hookah of Turkish culture with the company of a selection of teas on charcoal fire. After dinner, we would like to see you visit us at Galileo Terrace to watch the starlit sky with vintage telescope; an experience unique to Tafoni Houses. If you are in the mood to listen to the songs of the spurs echoing on the steep slopes of surrounding rock formations, join us for a ride on the famous horses of Cappadocia. At Tafoni Houses we are fine-tuned to “wow” you with experiences and sincere hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tafoni Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tafoni Houses Turkey/Cappadocia - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing