We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home cooking in a family -run restaurant”

Tandir Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great home cooking in a family -run restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We ate here most nights during our stay in Ortahisar,and it was delightful.Excellent food,prepared using herbs and vegetables grown just outside the door of the restaurant by a charming family.We were told it was typical Turkish cuisine,and several people told us nostalgically that it reminded them of their mother's cooking.The view is indeed beautiful and the service was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Quiet restaurant with great food, reasonable prices and an absolutely amazing view. I love bread (way too much), and this was the best we had in all of Turkey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AEG5730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Great food and great view. Run by very friendly family. Hard to find. Best to take a taxi. We set the satnav for Ortahisar and followed the signs/asked people until we found it. I It was an adventure but we'll worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yelsom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New haven, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A dream restaurant”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

If you visit Cappadocia and you have a chance to visit this restaurant, don't miss it. There are three reasons that make it a great experience. It is impossible to rank them, therefore my order of listing must be considered random. You will enjoy one of the most spectacular views in the area. You will be receiving meal that rivals home cooking. And you will be served as you would always like to be, with pride and modesty. If we stayed longer I would be dining here every night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seneca66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, great food”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A taxi driver just took us there...it was fabulous...great view and great food. Staff were friendly and helpful. Really lovely meal. Staff then phoned the taxi driver to come and pick us up as we reallydidn't know where we were.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandir Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Trabzon, Trabzon Province
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
 
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
 
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
 

Been to Tandir Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing