We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise”

Tandir Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

After a day of touring, we were exhausted and decided that we wanted to stay by the hotel ..... and wanted to eat close to our hotel. We walked over to the Tandir restaurant following signs ..... and found this wonderful, delightful, perfect place.

The gardens, terraces and grounds are beautiful. Our table overlooked the city's "cave castle" and we watched the sunset and the moon rise. It was indeed magical.

The meal was awesome as well. There was a homemade, just out of the kitchen, quality to the meal that we loved. The lamb shank was tender, falling off the bone ..... and the eggplant dish was smokey, warm and delicious.

And their friendly kitty joined us at the table ...... guilty as charged as we shared our meal with him. We loved it.

I would return to this restaurant without doubt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobBrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    25
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“View and food tie for best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This open-sided restaurant afforded fabulous views. We were there on a full moon night and marveled at the minaret in the distance, lit up with two rows of green lights when calling for evening prayers. The rock formations, once dusk set in, took on
the appearance of being snow covered.
Only the food could rival the scenery. I had testikebob, served in a casserole. Succulent morsels of beef with garlic, tomatoes, onions were bathed in a flavorful sauce, whichnInlet my rice absorb. So tasty! Dessert was billed as Cappadocia's famous dessert ~ an overstatement. It was a not too sweet gelled treat covered with chopped nuts. I later learned that it was Turkish Delight!

Rivaling the scenery was the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Tandir Cafe Restaurant has welcoming staff, very good food, excellent view, and a relaxed atmosphere. It's a bit out of the way, but that adds to the charm. Dinner is delightful, watching the sunset change the colours of Ortahisar Castle. A great place - highly recommended for relaxed dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersin, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid view and excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is my best restaurant experience in Turkey to this day and they have been many. Truly amazing view from the dining room (the gorge is lit at night). Table cloth and linen napkin, lovely service by the lady owner.

Fabulous Turkish cuisine with all the trimmings at reasonable prices and a nice selection of wines.
This is really a must if you go to Cappadocia (Ortahisar).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NielsOlsen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great home cooking in a family -run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We ate here most nights during our stay in Ortahisar,and it was delightful.Excellent food,prepared using herbs and vegetables grown just outside the door of the restaurant by a charming family.We were told it was typical Turkish cuisine,and several people told us nostalgically that it reminded them of their mother's cooking.The view is indeed beautiful and the service was perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandir Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
Trabzon, Trabzon Province
 

Been to Tandir Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing