We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Unique Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argos in Cappadocia
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Unique Experience!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay at Argos was simply fantastic! The hotel is great for couples since it's quiet, romantic and serene. The rooms have an organic, earthy feel. iPods have a great selection of music that we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast spreads are grand, and the service in the breakfast lounge is the best I have ever received at any hotel! The hotel isn't in Ürgüp (the more happening part of Cappadocia), but that is easily overlooked by everything Argos has to offer. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Customer service at the hotel is mediocre. While some staff members are very professional and accommodating, a few are clearly a misfit for a hotel the caliber of Argos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feeza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    83
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
137
351
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our room was dingy and cavelike. Even though it was not a cave. A double bed but tight dark quarters. However who cares since the grounds around the property were probably one of the best we saw. The rock formations were spectacular. Worth staying in a dingy room.

Room Tip: Get a bigger slightly more expensive room. Dont get the cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudatlas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is one of the most uniquely wonderful hotel experiences one could ever hope to have. High on the mountain connected to a charming little village is this great top of the line hotel in a cave. Where else could you stay in a place like this? When you get to your room, lovely soothing music is playing. As you look around, you get to take in the beautiful bedroom and bathroom with many special amenities. You start your day with an amazingly delicious breakfast buffet looking out over the picturesque valley. You'll want to pinch yourself to see if you are really staying in such an amazing place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevertoomuchsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked 3304 for four days – one of the Splendid Rooms that has the pool. The room is a fantasy (see the article in Travel and Leisure). I loved the idea of no television; however the husband was a bit grumpy about this. There is an iPod music docking station, Molton Brown products in the bathroom (love!), a large plate of fruits and nuts, a complementary bottle of wine, free espresso, cappuccino, coffee, and a fully stocked mini-fridge. Housekeeping is meticulous but yet environmentally conscious (you control when the towels and sheets are laundered). There is nightly turn down service with cookies left bedside. One of the charming services is an evening fire – built to order whenever you want it. The “fireman” comes with the necessary supplies, gets things going, and then leaves you a basket of wood to periodically refresh.

The hotel overlooks Pigeon Valley – a jaw dropping view in which you appear to be hovering in heaven looking down upon earth. It is situated in a quant village in easy walking distance of the Uschier Castle. Afternoon cocktails are greeted by hot-air balloons drifting by. Bodum (aka translational “almond”) is the hotel dog mascot with a butt up in the air and ready to play. He brings a sense of home and family to the entire hotel. Several rounds of playing ball with a dried gourd and tummy rubs will easily make this a memorable stay that will be hard for any hotel to surpass despite minions of servants and haute cuisine.

A lot of the Turkish cuisine could be considered as being very filling – most of what is served at the hotel is lighter fair that is memorable – a refreshing reprieve including a lovely arugula salad, veal cheeks, and deeply satisfying chicken soup. Breakfast is a fresh, locally sourced, and a plentiful assortment of options. The bar has a nice selection of wines. The one thing I would have liked to have seen is a more inventive and unique cocktail menu – reflective of how special this place is. There is a variety of local abundant produce (rosehips, thyme, Turkish plum, pomegranate, apricots) that could be exploited to develop an exclusive and unique cocktail menu. This is obviously a trivial and minor point and this hotel should be a seriously considered option and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyandDeanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland. Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wonderful architecture, breathtaking views, every detail tastefully and thoughtfully executed..from the IPod that plays calming music as walk into your room, the large, modern bathroom, the Nespresso machine in your private livingroom, the hammock on the terrace, we did not want to leave the rooms..the hotel actually consists of 6 old buildings that have been restored and modernized by excellent architects..be sure to go on the tour of the hotel which is offered at 6 PM..go to the wine cellars, the auditorium ( where we were lucky enough to attend a concert), and enjoy the breakfast on the terrace of the dining room!

Room Tip: Our room, 3205, was lovely, actually a livingroom upstairs and the bedroom and bathroom downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would be staying in a cave disguised as a 5 star hotel. The Argos is built on the side of a hill looking out over the valley and amazing ruins. The rooms are all caves with every amenity. There are antiquities all around and a long underground cave that runs the length of the hotel. It is so beautiful and I did not want to leave - EVER. Several different rooms with couches, fire places, books, views, outdoor areas with cushioned seating, a wonderful restaurant with incredible views - it just goes on. Cappadocia and a must see and the Argos is where you want to stay. I loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel has taken ruins and turned them into cave rooms and free standing suites of luxury. A tour of the hotel takes you to a wine cellar, a meeting area, and several views of an astonishing vista of Pigeon Valley and surrounding areas. A very nice restaurant and welcoming lounge complete the property. Gardens flow down the hillside. A great way to visit this other worldly region.

Room Tip: Website illustrates all the choices. Cave rooms are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
696 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 30 in Uchisar
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argos in Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos in Cappadocia

Property: Argos in Cappadocia
Address: | Kayabaşi Sok. No: 23, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos in Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 51 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argos in Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Uchisar, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing