We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the world in Cappadoccia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You can almost reach out and touch Uchisar Castle from your balcony! And the service, food and comfort of your room are equal to this superb location. The banquet rooms and bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are large. It was a joy to come back to the hotel after exploring the area by foot and by car. Check out the hotel's website to see photos that accurately depict this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 154943Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Kale Konak Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thie Konak Kale Hotel is wonderful. The property is beautiful and charming. This hotel leaves nothing to be desired. It even has its own hammam! The location is amazing and the hosts are charming and very helpful. One could not ask for a better experience. The meals served for dinner and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoLeeSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My amazing experience at the Kale Konak Cave Hotel has compelled me to write my first online review. My friend and I had done extensive research online and in guide books for our 4 night stay in Cappadocia. We were renting a car (highly recommended if you want to see Cappadocia on your own and the driving is very easy with little traffic), so we were focused most on having a peaceful haven to come back to after a day of adventures. Uçhisar, a town much smaller than the other tourist posts, fit the bill given its calm atmosphere and proximity to all the sights.

I've traveled a fair bit but no hotel compares to Kale Konak. Words cannot do the place justice. I've tried to break down the review for easy reading.

Service: Impeccable. Abdullah and his staff really make you feel at home and go out of their way to improve your trip. We felt like guests in Abdullah's home as he and his staff helped craft our itinerary every day over breakfast and booked everything that required reservations including dinner, balloon ride, and sema ceremony. The service was better than that of any luxury hotel I've stayed at including the Four Seasons and Shangri-La. We were lucky enough to celebrate Abdullah's birthday over some late-night wine with wonderful company. I'm so glad we stayed for 4 nights as it gave us a chance to see all the sights as well as enjoy the hotel and Abdullah's company.

Room: Since the hotel was fairly empty when we arrived, we were upgraded to a cave deluxe room (Megaron) next to the main courtyard. The room was cleaned and maintained impeccably and despite not having any windows (non-cave rooms have windows with a view similar to the terrace), felt open and welcoming. The bathroom was also beautifully appointed with plenty of shampoo, conditioner and body wash replenished each day. We never used the shower because we loved the hamam so much (see below).

View: Situated at the highest point in the area, you get a fantastic view from their breakfast terrace. If you're able to wake up early around 5:30am you will see a sky full of hot air balloons and the most gorgeous sunrise. I believe many of the rooms in the hotel also share this spectacular view but we opted to stay in the cave room without windows for the experience.

Breakfast: The breakfast spread was always abundant with a variety of bread, cheese, preserves, honey, fruits, salad, olives, and eggs. The food was always accompanied by fresh squeezed orange juice and tea or coffee. We did the unlimited “encore tea” every day as we fell in love with çay during our trip.

Hamam (Turkish bath): The hamam is open 24 hours free to all guests. We used it every day and it was my favorite part of the day. The bath was always clean with plenty of bathrobes, towels, keses (body scrub glove), shampoo, conditioner, water bottles, and shower caps. Being able to use the hamam privately daily allowed us to truly relax.

Other perks:
-Free tea and coffee at all times prepared by the staff
-Friendly cats and dogs roaming throughout the property
-Free parking close by
-Excellent wi-fi available in all rooms and public areas except for the hamam

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thebulletin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in a two-room apartment with a large balcony, and with direct access to a shared rooftop terrace. Very nice apartment with a great view from the balcony.

The city is smaller than Goreme, but still there are several restaurants and a lot of shops. From the hotel and the castle there are great views over the whole region.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megalith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely cave and stone rooms with lots of space, modern bathrooms and terrific hamam on the property. Breakfast on the terrace is included in the rate and it was excellent. Apo, the owner, has put a lot of love into this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I really couldn't praise Kale Konak Cave enough! It is such a unique and amazing hotel - amazing cave room with a cubby hole area with a mattress inside, stunning surroundings, great turkish bath that you can have all to yourselves, lovely Turkish breakfast on the terrace overlooking Goreme, and magical little alleyways to explore inside the hotel, great free wifi in the rooms... and more! It's a great location too!

Abdullah and all the staff were great, my boyfriend proposed to me during our stay there and they went out of their way to make our room special for us when we returned that day. My boyfriend exchanged emails with Abdullah previously and he was more than happy to give advice about where might be a good place to propose etc.

I definitely recommend staying here - you will not regret it! Top Tip: get up around 6am to watch all the hot air balloons over Goreme.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha_Carrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Uchisar. We've always dreamed of staying in a cave hotel and Kale Konak made that dream come true, even exceeded our expectations. It is conveniently located right next to Uchisar castle so getting to the highest point in Cappadoccia was not a problem. We had a lucky day being upgraded to a bigger room which was a pleasant surprise. Our room is everything we imagined a cave room to be: quiet, restful and clean. The staff was helpful and the personalized service was excellent. We enjoyed the serenity and privacy of the hotel...away from frenzy tourist crowd and traffic. We were treated like family by the hotel manager and staff, which is rare and unexpected these days. To top it all of, we were not charged for the extra hours we stayed at the hotel when we needed to check out late to catch the overnight bus to Antalya. Such graciousness and hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansia Hotel
Ansia Hotel
#1 of 30 in Uchisar
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 30 in Uchisar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kale Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Address: Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: £85 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kale Konak Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kale Konak welcomes its guests in a typical Turkish mansion with cave and old stoned rooms dating back to the first centuries that has been totally and tastefully renovated while maintaining its original charm and elegance. Kale Konak is situated just next to the Uchisar Castle from where you can appreciate a breathtaking view of the entire Cappadocia and the Argeus Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kale Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kale Konak Hotel Uchisar
Kale Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia/Uchisar, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing