We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fantastic location and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic location and amazing staff”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I can't say enough about this hotel.
First off, I would like to mention the unbelievable service we got. It started with the owner of the hotel, Murat. He reached out to us via email to see if we wanted an airport pickup, which we did and I sent him all of our flight info. He got back to me a couple of hours later to let me know that my flight had been cancelled which we didn't know about. If Murat had not checked on our flight we would have been stranded at the airport.
When we got to the hotel we met Murat and he promptly asked us if we would like to take a hike through the Red Valley the following morning. We met him and a small group of other tourists the following morning at breakfast. He took us on an amazing early morning hike through the Red Valley, giving us all sorts of insight about the area. When we got back to the hotel after the hike we asked how much the hike cost and he wanted no money for it. He took us on the hike because it was something he personally liked to do. When you are in such a touristy area it is almost unheard of that someone would take you on a tour and charge nothing for it because it is something they love to do.
Now on to the room. We stayed in a room with a large window looking towards Goreme and the view was amazing. I woke up at sunrise to one of the most incredible sights I have ever seen. The view from the window allowed me to see all of the hot air balloons take off in the morning. It was so breathtaking that I woke up my wife and we laid in bed with the windows open so we could look at the view. If you stay at this hotel it is worth the extra money to get one of the rooms with a view. (I posted a picture of the view with the balloons)
Also, the breakfast was great. We had been staying at other hotels with the standard mezze breakfast, but there was something great about the breakfast at Takaev. The view from the terrace definitely helped.
When we checked Murat personally drive us in his car to our destination, what unbelievable service!
My wife and I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Stay in the double room with a panoramic view and wake up to one of the most incredible sights... a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
193
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in Takaev between 1-3 June 2014.
The owner of the hotel was very rude when we arrived at the hotel. As our flight was a very early flight, we wanted to leave our luggage to the hotel and go sightseeing.
The owner was suprised to see us in the morning and told us in a very rude manner that the rooms were not ready. Actually we did not request to check in at that time but he did not care to listen to his customer. Before leaving for the sightseeing, we asked whether we can use the toilet and he was again suprised at this, as if he did not have a common toilet in the hotel.
During our stay he never greeted us either in the morning or when we come back from the lovely sightseeing areas.
I would never recommend this place as they show no sign of Turkish Hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbullu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muratsunber, Yönetici at Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
I will be arriving earlier/later than the stated check-in time. Can I still check-in?

You can request an early/late check-in in several ways:
You can specify your intended check-in time while making the reservation.
You can manage your booking online to request a check-in time outside of the standard hours.
You can contact the property directly, using the contact details found in your booking confirmation.
Please note that the property cannot always accommodate this request; they will be happy to let you have your room early if there is availability, but there may be nobody to welcome you if you arrive late at night at a remote apartment. It's always best to check with the property directly in this case, to avoid any disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We headed up the mountain to the town of Uchisar, delivered by a group shuttle van from the Kayseri Airport arranged by Takaev. The sights along the way were wonderful, and then we found the view out from this hotel is fabulous both day and night. Many levels to sit and enjoy the views. The hotel is quaint with the cave rooms we had heard so much about. The local town is a short 10 min walk uphill, (we're on a mountain side) with cash stations, stores, services, etc. But we enjoyed our free hotel breakfast, included with the room, and the free WiFi, and a nice cool rest in our cave. The hotel staff arranged for Balloons Kapadokya for our next day 4 AM pick up at the hotel. The price was $110.each (a discount from the listed $150. price) and the ride was sensational. When we were brought back to the hotel at 9 AM we had breakfast and sat again to enjoy the view. At night the full moon came up, and guests were sitting in the darkened patio oohing and aahing at the night time view down into the valley below us. We reserved the Takaev room directly by e-mail and arranged payment by credit card, but elected to pay cash when we checked out. We would go to Takaev again.... strange and wonderful. Caution, if you have trouble climbing steps this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: It looked like all the rooms were great and had similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagoflygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My girlfriend and I felt very welcome when we arrived at Takaev. We were taken by the place soon as we stepped inside, from reception/dining room with terrace and panorama and on down into the warm womb like spaces of the cave hotel. Our room was within one of the beautiful arched vaults accessed off of a spacious hall (communal seating area with books etc). The room itself built of the same tufa and basalt stone, naturally warm to the touch and insulated from the elements by the earth built up outside. The room was surprisingly large, well proportioned with high ceiling and large window with vista looking across the extraordinary geology of the surrounding valleys (the hotel is positioned to the edge of town so affords some incredible views).

The convivial atmosphere of the hotel would be hard to match anywhere else. This is owing to its small size and the friendliness of the hotel staff and guests we met. The hotel is owned and run by Murat (who also commissioned its restoration). He and his staff were very attentive and a delight to converse with. Murat took great care to explain the local area and guidance on which valleys to walk, restaurants to go to for dinner and also tours to attend. Being an Architect I asked many questions about the cave dwellings about and how he restored the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel very late in the evening due to a delayed flight but despite this the hotel attendant working late was very understanding.

With such an incredible landscape to explore and friendly hotel we would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Arched 'standard' rooms are very comfortable. Whilst not 'cave' they are of the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffuuzzyyllooggiicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have never expected staying in a cave is something amazing!!
We parked the car by the road on the hill and trying to find where the hotel was until the local ladies told us that the hotel entrance just behind our car. We walked down and discovered the fabulous and stylish boutique 'cave' hotel overlooking the beautiful valley of Cappadocia. We received a warm welcome and great hospitality services from the hotel team throughout our stay - special thanks to the owner, Murat, who was very helpful in making our city tour plan more efficient under time constraint condition. Our family cave apartment was pretty huge and very well equipped. We have private balcony, 2 bedrooms, 2 two huge bathroom and a large living room. Breakfast was variety and superb. All day lovely tea and coffee was offered to guests. We also loved a local restaurant recommended by the hotel - good food, friendly staffs and just 100 meters from the hotel. Myself and friends had a good and interesting staying experience at the Takaev.

Room Tip: Look at the photos and description of the room to fit your demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JimmyLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Clean, warm and stylish, having several nice restaurants and a supermarket around, the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the bus station, while the host still willing to provide a free ride to help with our luggage. Breakfast is served with abundant fruits. Tea and coffee available all the time. Welcome party was quite impressive. Nice stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Xueli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great welcome home from home staff so helpful lovely location would go back tomorrow.
It was my partners birthday so the manager arranged a trip in a balloon it was an amazing also an unexpected party on rooftop with lovely French guests finished off a magical trip

Room Tip: try to get one as near top as possible as there are a lot of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
1.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 27 in Uchisar
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 27 in Uchisar
310 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House

Property: Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
Address: Goreme Caddesi No: 57, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taka Ev Hotel Uchisar
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House Cappadocia/Uchisar, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing