We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting menu, service and venue could be better”
Review of Elai Restaurant

Elai Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“interesting menu, service and venue could be better”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we came with my parents and kids. menu was interesting mix of european and turkish. venue was not the most impressive - i prefer lila (although it is a bit pricey) or Seten in Goreme. Service was slow and not very attentive, especially for price. Chocolate cake desert with ice cream was fantastic; salads nice and portions generous; lamb chops were good - pasta a little disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    25
    18
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy Gourmet”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Went to this wonderful restaurant twice during our stay at the Argos Hotel in Uchisar, Cappadocia. First, this dining room would stand up against any quality restaurant in the US. The food was uniformly excellent. In particular, the lamb shank and the Spinach and Apple Salad with a warm salad dressing are not to be missed. If you're staying at Argos which is a ten minute walk from the hotel or at another restaurant in the Uchisar area, don't pass this one up.

Helpful?
Thank chicagoguy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were concerned when the bread we were brought was sliced white bread and not the delicious fresh bread we have been served everywhere else. After explaining as carefully as possible that my husband could not tolerate spices, we were served a metzes plate that was too hot to tolerate. We sent it back. Instead, my husband ordered the tomatoe and mozzarella salad. Though the tomatoes in the region were ripe and delicious, his was the pale flavorless type we find in grocery stores at home. My shepherds salad was nicely dressed but with canned olives in an area full of olive trees with ripe olives. The service was fine and the waitress sweet, but with so many other restaurants in town, find somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice environment, great service”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner so much that we went back a second time. After a week of nonstop kebab shacks, it was a treat to go to more of a "fine dining" restaurant serving more interesting dishes, artfully prepared, with more of a continental flair.

Outdoor seating would have been nice, but it didn't seem to be available.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDogAteMyHomework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
825 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“disappointing ... on so many levels”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went to dinner at the Elia based largely on recommendation in Lonely Planet. A mistake. Most Turkish restaurants make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. Not Elai. Although we were the ONLY diners (at nearly 8 p.m.), we were told we could not have a table by the window because it was reserved (and, by the way, when we left almost two hours later, we were still the only diners in the restaurant). Service was diffident; food was mediocre and over-priced (my date's beef kebab was terribly over-cooked; my asparagus appetizer was SO overcooked as to be nearly inedible). Avoid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ortahisar, Cappadocia
 

Been to Elai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing