We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed at the Dedeli Konak for 2 nights while on a package tour of Cappadocia. We dropped off 5 groups before getting to the Dedeli and were very envious of them as they had lovely cave hotels. The street the hotel is just off of is narrow and you can not see the hotel. You have to walk up an alley that has abandoned couches and not very pleasant however once on the property, it is very nice. We had a 3 person suite on the ground floor and it was awesome!!

The owner, Mr. Farouk is very welcoming and such a charming man. He didn't force us to buy any tours. Breakfast is served on the top floor which has great views of the valley.

It is a 10 minute walk into town which has a bunch of great restaurants and some shopping.
I loved our room and Mr. Farouk however would have prefered to stay in Goreme which is a nicer area and has more to do in the evenings after your tour.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank LizaKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

A great place to stay. I shared a room with my adult son for just one night and the room, service and food were all great. Faruk is a great host.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here as our tour operator owns the Hotel. Good Hotel, but there are many many better ones around. Better still stay in Goreme, a 15 min drive away and where all the action is.( Cave, Hot air balloons etc etc) In Dadeli Konak Hotel, the rooms are as good as a cave room can be. . . . just about decent. The Breakfast sparse, and at the end of your Turkey Tour, this will go down as one of the most basic meals served. Forgetable too. The good point is that IF one stays in Urgup, and not (like we said in Goreme) the location is just a few mins walk from a one house town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

As is says in the description it is a small family run hotel.The owner was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Great views from the top terrace and were made feel very much at home. Thanks Faruk :)

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is the best if available :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for two nights in Dedeli Konagi in July 2011. We absolutely loved it! There were mostly international tourists and a friendly atmosphere. The small-looking hotel structure is surprisingly spacious when you enter inside. The rooms have all kinds of facilities that you would look for in a hotel. The best part is the fun of living in a cave! The stone walls and floor keep the room naturally cool even in sweltering heat. The water is running, shower is good, and a restful atmosphere. We loved the rich Turkish breakfast. There are no dinners, but the hotel is right in the heart of town and there are more than plenty of eateries nearby. They are also in good terms with the newly built Turkish Bath in Urgup, and can arrange a trip for you there. You must definitely try the bath while staying at Dedeli. I recommend this cute cave hotel strongly, and I'll stay there again in my next trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpringtimeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This was a fun experience that was booked as part of a tour we took. This is a small authentic cave hotel and although it was small and didn't have all the "bells and whistles," the owner, Faruk, was very accommodating and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and it was an experience to stay in a cave for the evening. Breakfast was nice as well and the terrace had a nice view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceyd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Charming ambiance, reasonable price, proximate to the center of town, very helpful manager (Farouk) who offered tours of Cappadocia at fair rates.

Gripes:
-Room was stuffy and had poor air circulation. AC or a fan would have been helpful.
-There was very little sound privacy. You could hear everything going on outside of your room, and, presumably, vice versa. If it's important to you to have some privacy, especially if you're traveling as a couple, choose your room carefully.
-The tours are fairly priced, but be sure that you know what you're getting. Ours (to the Ihlara Valley) had the potential to be really exciting and outdoorsy; but the tour happened to include a lot of people who were substantially older, almost elderly, and who weren't properly dressed for the day. This slowed things down substantially, and we chose not to do any additional tours through the hotel.
-I could imagine the stairs of the hotel being very problematic for older or handicapped guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCSojouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
0.6 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#11 of 67 in Urgup
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#3 of 67 in Urgup
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#18 of 67 in Urgup
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heaven Cave House
Heaven Cave House
#24 of 67 in Urgup
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
0.4 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#27 of 67 in Urgup
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel

Address: Karagandere Mah. Barbaros Sk. No:4, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#16 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, where your peace, pleasure and comfort is our aim.Why choose Dedeli Konak ?•Centrally located in a quiet side street near Urgup centre •10 beautiful cave rooms and Ottoman suites •All rooms with ensuite bathrooms, minibar and TV Sat •Free WiFi and free internet computer access •Traditional delicious Turkish breakfast included •Stunning views of the valley from our cafe-terrace •Free parking, free pickup from Urgup bus stationAt Dedeli Konak our family and friendly staff will do everything to make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one ! Discover our hotel and do not hesitate to contact us - we speak English, Japanese and French and would be pleased to answer any questions you have about your trip to this amazing region. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing