We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farouk, a.k.a. the Energizer bunny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Upon arrival after a 12 hr bus from Istanbul the hotel was full but Farouk allowed us to wash up and relax for a bit before heading out for the day. His presence really sets this hotel apart: he is a polyglot, climbs the stairs of the hotel 100+ times a day, and is excited about...everything. The rooms are larger than I expected (being in a cave) and the breakfast is a good start to a day of trekking--the usual fair of tomatoes, olives, cheeses, boiled eggs, some type of pressed meat product, fruits, coffee, juice etc.
The hotel has a family/cozy atmosphere, complete with local children playing out front in the afternoons and wandering in an out of the hotel practically begging to have their pictures taken. It is located less than a five minute walk from the center of town with its many good restaurants (Tera was our favorite) and located on a dead-end-cobbled street. As others have noted, this is not a luxury hotel, but as a base to explore the region it certainly does the trick and the added benefit of great people and spaces for conversation make it highly recommended by this gringo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for your great review, it did make be laugh to think of Mr Faruk as an "energizer bunny"! We always want the best for our guests and are really happy when we know we have contributed to make their stay a memorable one. I will certainly pass on all your praise to Mr Faruk, I am sure he will appreciate it. I for one am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our family hotel and that you appreciated the setting.
I do hope you will come and see us again soon,
Best wishes,
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect it to be. What it is, is a friendly hotel with awesome staff and great food. My room was somewhat spartan (no frills, nowhere comfortable to sit), but, dude, it's carved out of the side of a mountain! What do you expect? There's a great little courtyard/terrace area with seating and Wi-Fi (you may be able to get Wi-Fi in the room, but stone walls are pretty effective at blocking it so enjoy the fresh air instead). I thought the breakfast was good: plenty of variety-- fruit, cheese, meat, borek, etc. Also, I opted to eat at the hotel, and that home-cooked meal was probably the best Turkish meal I had all trip. Overall, this hotel was another thing backpackers Travel did right (they chose the hotel for me).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nano5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We always promise to do our best to provide the best service to our guests and make them feel at home and looked-after. You are quite right, we don't pretend to be a luxury hotel, but a family-run, clean and friendly hotel at good value for money. Though we do have a range of rooms from standard to our special honeymoon suite. Thank you for pointing out the lack of comfortable seating in your room. We read our reviews carefully and use them to improve any aspects of our hotel. I hope you'll soon be back will us to see the improvements we have made! And I am very glad you enjoyed your meals, I will be sure to pass on the compliments.
All the best
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked our tour package through backpackertravel.com and they have booked us with this Dedeli hotel. We ended up in the Saltan honeymood suite! It has a Jacuzi, shower, sofa. It was really nice. We met the owner of the hotel and his wife, a very nice man. The breakfast was very good also. This hotel is located very close to the center of town with a lot of restaurants and grocery stores, walking distance, less than 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runlikeagirl94132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

How kind of you to take the time to write a review here so soon after getting back - thank you! My wife and I enjoyed very much meeting you and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will come and stay with us again, it will be a pleasure to welcome you once more to our hotel.
All our best wishes,
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

As long as you know this is a budget hotel and that's what you want, it's ok. The rooms are clean, no frills no amenities. Breakfast is simple and with some fresh fruit, additional cereal and a tea selection, breakfast could be very nice. It is difficult to sleep in on days you don't have a morning tour scheduled because you will hear other guests fooling with the locks on their doors, talking, walking up and down to/from breakfast. It's not a quiet place. The owner is very nice and Ürgüp, the town, is charming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you found our hotel clean and good value for money. We provide standard rooms at very good rates and also deluxe rooms for those who want more comfort and are not travelling on a tight budget. I am sorry to hear that you were incovenienced by other guests when you were wanting a lie in, that was unfortunate. I hope you will come to stay with us again and maybe try our deluxe rooms.
Best regards
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for 2 days at the Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel in Urgup. It was an unique experience and I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Cappadocia region.
The location of the hotel is charming being in the residential area of Urgup town and one gets a feel of how the locals live when reaching the hotel. The rooms are well furnished and the manager Farukh is ever helpful in ensuring your personal comfort. Be sure to have dinner at least once at the restaurant at the top of the hotel where you will be treated to a delicous meal cooked by his wife. The restaurant located on the top of the hotel also has an amazing view of the surrounding hills and overlooks the city.
The hotel is also a short walk from the city center, where one can sit and enjoy the Baklava with Ice Cream along with Turkish Coffee or Chai.
The hotel is owned by Ibrahim Yilmaz, who also runs a fantastic travel agency based out of Cappadocia. Ibrahim helped me plan our vacation to Turkey and we did not have to worry about anything from the time we landed in Istanbul to the time we reached back at the airport. All local transport, sightseeings, accomodation and local flights were arranged by Ibrahim and his team. He also providing invaluable help when our Kusadasi - Kayseri flight got cancelled at a short notice and rebooked us through alternate airlines.
The Dedeli Konak hotel and Ibrahim's service made our vacation to Cappadocia and the rest of Turkey a truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Talk to Ibrahim !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumitmitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel and that everything was perfect for your stay. I always promise to give my best service and it was a pleasure having you as guests in our hotel. I am glad that our arrangements for your Turkey tour made your vacation a memorable experience and I am sure that you take back happy memories to Pune. I hope you will come to visit us again soon and I will be happy to welcome you.
Best Regards,
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a pleasant man and that was the end of our good experience with this hotel. The travel agent had reserved two rooms for us and when we got there the "pleasant man" told us that they had one room for us. After admiting that they had made a mistake, he tried to convince us to stay in the same room, and insisted on showing it to us. When he opened the room's door a terrible smell of insecticide/pesticide/mold came out of the room. We heard that cave hotels rooms smell "different", however, the smell in this one was unbearable. We asked for another hotel and the "pleasant man" called our tour guide who took us to another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for writing but, as you said, you did not stay here. Your travel agency unfortunately made a mistake and I can understand that you were disappointed that you could not stay in our hotel but that is not a reason for telling stories that are not true. We immediately made arrangements via your travel agency to find another hotel (which by the way we saw from your review you also did not like) and you were happy to drink tea and cakes which we offered you while you were waiting. I don't understand why you write things about our rooms which you never saw and which we never showed you because we had no availability. As you can see from other reviews from people staying at the same dates as you, they were very happy with their rooms and with our hotel. Sometimes we meet unhappy travelers who are never happy with the hotel or the tour or the guide or anything, I hope you found at least one good thing from your trip to Turkey and are happy to be home.
Regards
Best Regards,
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It is very cozy hotel. The pigeon room we were given had very authentic cave looks and interior. Though the rooms are not excellent but the main plus point of the hotel is friendly and homely atmosphere.

Caretaker Mr. Farooq is very helpful. He will try his best to make you feel at home. During cold and snowy evening he and his wife even cooked for the guests. They specially made vegetarian kebabs for two of us. The food was excellent. Breakfast is basic but delicious.

The owner Mr Ibrahim runs Yuki Tours. He has booked my 10 day tour at Turkey. He was very helpful and cheerful person. The arrangement throught the tour was excellent. The hotels and day tours he booked for me were really good. Unlike some tour operators, no hidden cost involved. All tours included max 20 people.

I will definitely recommend the hotel and Booking tour through him.

Room Tip: Whatever it lacks in decoration is filled in by excellent hospitallity by Mr. Farooq.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPD-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedelikonak, Owner at Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate it very much and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to make sure that a visit to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel is a unique experience and that you will take back happy memories with you.
I am happy to know that you enoyed your tour of Turkey, I always promise to provide my best service. Mr Faruk and everybody here at Dedeli Konak send their greetings and hope to welcome you again in Cappadocia.
Best Regards,
İbrahim Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
3.2 mi away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
0.6 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#3 of 71 in Urgup
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#26 of 71 in Urgup
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Magic Cave House
Magic Cave House
#16 of 71 in Urgup
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Abras Cave Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
Cappadocia Estates Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mustafapasa
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel

Address: Karagandere Mah. Barbaros Sk. No:4, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Urgup
#16 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range: £56 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, where your peace, pleasure and comfort is our aim.Why choose Dedeli Konak ?•Centrally located in a quiet side street near Urgup centre •10 beautiful cave rooms and Ottoman suites •All rooms with ensuite bathrooms, minibar and TV Sat •Free WiFi and free internet computer access •Traditional delicious Turkish breakfast included •Stunning views of the valley from our cafe-terrace •Free parking, free pickup from Urgup bus stationAt Dedeli Konak our family and friendly staff will do everything to make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one ! Discover our hotel and do not hesitate to contact us - we speak English, Japanese and French and would be pleased to answer any questions you have about your trip to this amazing region. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing