We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest staff - returned our mobile that we inadvertently left behind.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honest staff - returned our mobile that we inadvertently left behind.”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Dedeli as part of a package arranged by a travel agent in İstanbul and were quite apprehensive about what to expect but it turned out great. Mr Farouk upgraded us to the "honey moon suite" on the top floor and that was a spacious room wıth a lot of light and character. Bathroom was very spacious too, compared to the bathroom of the standard room that we had initially.

Stayıng in a cave hotel certainly beats staying ın a regular hotel (that could be anywhere else in the world) but there are the other little things that count. Mr Farouk provides Dedeli's personalised wake up service - at 4.45 am (!!) for the dawn balloon ride and ordered delicious takeaway soup for us to have in our room after a long day out.

The hotel is a short walk to the town square but high enough up a hill to get a good vıew of the caves from the dinıng area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esprit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    74
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
81
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This hotel is part of a Turkey package tour we had (Canakkale, Kusadasi, Cappadocia) and served as our base in Cappadocian region.
We were picked up from Urgup's bus station early in the morning, arriving in an overnight bus from Pamukkale via Nevsehir, and whisked off to the hotel. The hotel manager was very hands on - and when we told him a group of friends travelling in the same route with same reservation at Dedeli Konak was detoured due to miscommunication to a nearby small town of Goreme instead of Urgup, they just jump in and pick them up from there!
We were supposed to get 2 rooms - one of them the honeymoon suite. However we chose to get a larger room that can hold all 4 of us at the ground level, close to the small reception office.
Breakfast at the top floor restaurant was very good, and lots of choices for jam and cheese. However it require quite an effort to go up 4 sets of stairs to get there!
The manager was very helpful, and he helped us to get an additional baloon tour organized for the next day, use his computer and printer to perform internet check-in for our flight out from Kayseri the next day, and even gracious enough to let us stay at the reception office for a few hours after we check out, waiting for our airport pickup.
There is a good wifi connection at the restaurant and other open-air places, however in the room we were provided a cable to connect to the internet since the thick cave walls prevents the signals to pass through.
The room we're staying in is quite large with 1 double and 2 single beds. Bathroom is a bit small but have strong water pressure and hot water. The beds are very comfortable; we were able to get one of the best sleeps we had in Turkey.
The hotel is located in a quiet side street, but just a few minutes walk you're already at the main square of the town where you can get good food at local restaurants, ATMs, etc.
The hotel is very comfortable, rooms are cozy, and the service was really excellent; we felt we were staying with family or an uncle who cares a lot about you instead of staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAdriansyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

While going to this hotel we were little hesitent as some review talked about clusterphobia while being in room. But being in the room of the hotel ( at top floor of hotel ) was a life time expierence.
You were in a cave room with no ventilator but still getting fresh air bathroom fitted with Zacuzzi ( for you to relax your body after walking whole day ).To top this with hospitality of hotel staff incl owner Mr Ibrahim.The guide arranged by hotel was also very nice.Over all a great experience of a cave hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashoksaxena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Our Turkey trip was handeled by Mr Ibrahim of Yuki Tours,he is the owner of this hotel.It was a wonder ful experience as the entire trip was very well organised.The stay in the cave hotel was a not to be missed experience.Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satyasudNewDelhiIndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the go
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

On a spontaneous trip to Cappadocia, we took a night flight and arrived in Kayseri at 1:30am, our transfer guy phoned the hotel so when we arrived around 3am our room door was wide open. Being as tired as we were, it was very nice to just get into bed without checking in first! And being in Cappadocia, you have to stay in a cave hotel! In the morning Farouk told us about breakfast and the day tours. If you only have 1 day, do tour 1 to get an overview of the area. We had tour 2 which was ok but our tour guide wasn't that great. She didn't tell us a whole lot and wouldn't let us sit out of the carpet factory.

We enjoyed our stay. We stayed 2 nights. Farouk was very hospitable in arranging our shuttle back to the airport (cheaper than a taxi.)
We stayed in the ground floor triple room with 1 double bed, and 2 singles with 2 small couch areas, a small fridge, small desk, small tv & cable. The bathroom was adequate and shower had good water pressure. It was comfortable, warm and clean. Being in a cave, it did tend to get musty so we would leave our door open when we could. The good thing was that we didn't hear any noises or see much daylight.

You have to be outside to use the free wifi, or use the computer on the top floor, where they serve buffet breakfast. Typically you have cucumber, tomatoes, boiled eggs, olives, cheese, bread, cereals and a wide selection of jams, juices. As others have said it is 4 flights of stairs up to the breakfast room. I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

(Farouk, I told you I would write a good review! Thanks again for an enjoyable stay...!)

-3 kizlars (Oct 14,15)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Bare essentials. Bed, refrigerator, and clean bathroom, hot water for showers. Bed not very enticing - cleanliness in question.
The manager, Mr. Faruk, who speaks fluent French and has two grown daughters, compensated for lack of accoutrements of room. He is most accommodating and helpful. Breakfasts are good and come with a fantastic view of surrounding area. Nice people are there.
Would recommend with disclaimers.
Enjoyed 3 days of tours and do not forget to schedule hot air balloon ride prior to breakfast - awesome view of the terrain and alot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancerseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We booked a tour to Cappadocia with an agency in Istambul and they sent us to Dedeli Konak. When we arrived, at 9.30 in the evening, there was no room booked for us. For the missunderstanding, the owner gave us the best room they have in the hotel, the "honey moon room". It was OK, nice bathroom, but once I had a look under the bed, you can not imagine the things I saw: disgusting!!!!
There are plenty of nice hotels in Urgup,so I recommend you to have a look around by internet, before booking. It can be the difference between and unforgetable stay in Cappadocia and a nightmare!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clau_Chile2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urgup hotels
6.0 mi away
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
Blue Valley Cave Hotel
#26 of 65 in Urgup
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dere Suites Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#2 of 65 in Urgup
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Palace
Cappadocia Palace
#10 of 65 in Urgup
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel

Property: Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel
Address: Karagandere Mah. Barbaros Sk. No:4, Urgup, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Urgup
#16 Romantic Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel, where your peace, pleasure and comfort is our aim.Why choose Dedeli Konak ?•Centrally located in a quiet side street near Urgup centre •10 beautiful cave rooms and Ottoman suites •All rooms with ensuite bathrooms, minibar and TV Sat •Free WiFi and free internet computer access •Traditional delicious Turkish breakfast included •Stunning views of the valley from our cafe-terrace •Free parking, free pickup from Urgup bus stationAt Dedeli Konak our family and friendly staff will do everything to make your stay in Cappadocia a memorable one ! Discover our hotel and do not hesitate to contact us - we speak English, Japanese and French and would be pleased to answer any questions you have about your trip to this amazing region. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeli Konak Cave Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing