We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conveniently located older hotel”
Review of Tas Saray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tas Saray Hotel
Ranked #61 of 65 Hotels in Urgup
Ramrod Key Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“conveniently located older hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

One queen bed in large room. Large selection for included breakfast. Older hotel located within walking distance of downtown. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable and kept you informed of the balloon trip in the early morning. Elevator and AC

Room Tip: Rooms were all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramrodfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    51
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
23
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It takes a long part of the day to reach the very rural and anc ient Cappadocia region from the overcrowded coast city of Antalya. I travelled by bus. It was worth every minute of the journey. The charmingly dusty market town of Urgup is a good centre from where to explore from. Our HOTEL TASSARAY had the atmosphere of having seen better days. But I like its charm. The food was plentiful and the young waiters were charming to all the ladies no matter there age of our Dutch party with me its one Anglo-Irish man. But then I felt at home because in the region the Celts hung about for a very long time a few thousand years back. The Hotel stands opposite a late 20th covered market place. I just love markets, especially in remote regions. The fruits of the region were all mouth watering. The hotel brought in fresh food every day. Ask questions of any of the local hotel staff and they will not only tell you of the towns secrets, but offer to take you on a little guided tour. So proud are they.An important religious center during the Byzantine period. In the 11th century, Urgup was an important citadel. In 1900 there were 70 mosques, 5 churches and 11 libraries. There are tombs of Seljuk Sultans and one is believed to belong to Alaaddin Keykubat III. And I thought that Aladdin was the boy who rubbed a lamp and a genie appeared. I should have looked longer in the market for such a lamp. This gives me a reason to return to a hotel that had a faded charm like the recent film I saw but called Hotel Budapest where the senior manager was very kind to all the ladies.

Room Tip: Seek a room at the back ovelooking small houses and abundant gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishtownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The somewhat dated TAȘSARAY HOTEL - claimed to be built in 1990 - ? - seems to be the Queen of Ürgüps many hotels. Obviously having seen better days (I do not quite buy the 1990 thing...) it still maintains its position with a certain grace – may I call it ”province elegance” of a by-gone era. This, however, does not make the hotel less attractive.

This old - no, middleaged! - Lady is doing her best to keep it up; recent renovations make her acceptable to modern demands. Open all year and catering almost entirely to groups the hotel is obviously always fully booked. The location is excellent, only a few minutes by foot away from the modest center of Ûrgüp.

That said, the place is not bad at all. With 189 rooms and 380 beds it offers modern comfort to tourists – groups - from all over the World. Two small lifts serve the upper floors, but if your room is at the wrong end of the corridor, quite a promenade awaits you.

My room, no. 102, was next to the elevator and equipped with an oldfashioned key lock. Very small and somewhat spartan, but adequate, with a firm and good double bed. Everything you would need was at hand, including a safe box (the key for a fee) and a small flat-TV. All very plain and no-frill. Painted in a very bright yellow/lemon color, as was the rest of place, even in the restaurant – it certainly would make you put on your sunglasses first thing in the morning! The small bathroom was OK and well equipped, the shower stall was of the kind you'd find at a cheap handiman's market, with no anti-skid mat or anything to hold on to except the shower fittings. Cleanliness was OK as far as I could see. Located towards the backside, the room was very quiet – contrary to the balconied front rooms, where occupants complained about bellowing dogs and calls from the nearby mosque at 5 o'clock in the morning. So sometimes the second best location has its advantages.

Or? One thing worried me quite a bit: the fire thing. I discovered that my window, towards the backside pool area and covered by a fixed mosquito net, could not be opened. There were iron bar all over on the outside, so this was no way out – in case... The only way to safety was to run the very length of the long corridor, which in my case would no doubt leave me suffocated by smoke long before I could reach the fire exit. One night my vivid imagination was fuelled by a strong smell of something burning. It turned out to stem from a charcoal grill or something at a marketplace across the street, and that was not very funny. I can assure you.

The combined reception/lounge area with its diminutive bar is far to small to accommodate more than a few guests in oversize armchairs. Most guests would, however, most likely retire to their rooms right after dinner, exhausted by today's many impressions in the Göreme valley.

The restaurant – long tables all allocated to the various groups. Both breakfast and dinner were a somewhat hectic and loud experience with all the guests milling around the buffets. The food was quite OK, but of the more indifferent kind, and the choice rather limited. You would not starve, by the way.

Facilities include a lawned outside area with a regular pool, a hammam, a sauna and wellness facilities, a souvenir shop and some function rooms.

It would not hurt if the reluctant reception clerks were more alert and forthcoming. However, an e-mail with questions in connection with this review was answered promptly the next day, so credit for that.

The Taşsaray claims **** Turkish stars, but I would say *** at the most - a regular tourist class experience, no more, no less. I stayed there on Apr. 02, 2014 for three nights.

ohoy, Copenhagen

Room Tip: Ask for a front balcony room (and accept the noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohoyCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were there for 3 nights as part of a tour group. The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is very near to the town center and the a grocery is situated right in front of it. The breakfast and dinner buffets were really good and offered a lot of choices; gave the guests an opportunity to try out various Turkish cuisine. The drinks were priced reasonably compared to the other hotels that we stayed at during the tour. The facilities were quite outdated but clean nevertheless. All in all, it was a good place to stay while in the region.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joahnna1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthWest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

stayed there with an RSD tour and was rather disappointed, yes it was out of season and probably used to keep the hotel open in the winter months, and this was apparent in the poor selection of food which was only warm, and very limited in choice, The boiled eggs were an accident waiting to happen, seriously best to avoid them. The rooms are reasonably comfortable and the the shower and facilities were good. Our room was opposite to the Mosque and the early call to prayer could be quite annoying as it was loud and lengthy. Maybe We expected too much given its 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Best to avoid rooms at the front as they face the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDTravellers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A traditional style hotel in a good town centre position(but early setting up of the weekly market early morning(saturday) could be a bit noisy) An older hotel so smaller rooms and bathrooms,ones at the back especially.but very clean and comfortable.The public areas are nice and of a more intimate and comfortable size;nice bar area and lounge.Dining room (actually two interconnected) well laid out and well staffed with young pleasant waiters.
Meals are usual buffet style of reasonable variety; salads meats etc,more limited range of hot(well warm) dishes.Very good and reasonably priced local wines(one wine maker is just up the road)
I very much enjoyed my stay here,felt it was more hospitable and relaxing of stays on this tour.We were there for three nights and i was quite sorry to leave.Perhaps one may question the four star official rating as the place was not 'glitzy' but felt more like a proper traditional hotel in a local style.I liked it a lot,so 4 stars from me!
I also noticed it was the least expensive place we stayed,so a definate plus if you are making your own arrangements,A single at about £50 a night.

Room Tip: All rooms affected by the early call to prayer,although I slept through it.Early morning noise at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poiriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nothing particularly remarkable about this hotel good or bad.

Our room was clean and comfortable enough, but somewhat smaller than at our other hotels on the RSD tour. We were at the back of the hotel and our room was quiet except for the morning call to prayer which did wake us up. The local Mosque is close by.

Food quite good, but Nescafe from the coffee machine. Not my favourite. Other drinks prices reasonable though.

Location was quite good - a brisk 5 minute walk to the centre of town. The Saturday market is just in front of the hotel and there were lots of local products on sale at good prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urgup
0.0 mi away
Mustafa Hotel
Mustafa Hotel
#53 of 65 in Urgup
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold Yildirim Hotel
Gold Yildirim Hotel
#9 of 11 in Avanos
34 reviews
7.1 mi away
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dilek Kaya Hotel
Dilek Kaya Hotel
#9 of 17 in Ortahisar
176 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kapadokya Lodge Hotel
Kapadokya Lodge Hotel
#14 of 28 in Uchisar
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
Yusuf Yigitoglu Konagi
#34 of 65 in Urgup
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tas Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tas Saray Hotel

Property: Tas Saray Hotel
Address: Duayeri Mah. Ahmet AsIm Yolac Cad. No:20, Urgup, Turkey (Formerly Vera Hotel Tassaray)
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Urgup
#16 Luxury Hotel in Urgup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tas Saray Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Tas Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tas Saray Hotel Turkey/Cappadocia - Urgup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing